We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of May's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
May's House
Certificate of Excellence
Egremont, united kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheap and basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for this years Grand National. Our apartment was ready very early- well before check in. There wasn't really anyone to greet us which was a little odd, we were just given keys, the code and shown the door to the apartment. The apartment itself was large and had minimal furnishings, it was clean enough but nothing spectacular. We parked on the street outside which didn't seem entirely safe but was free (it's not the best neighbourhood). The staff were rarely about which was fine for me as I used to live in Liverpool so managed fine with getting about but this could of been a problem for a newby to the city. It was very cheap for 4 of us to have the apartment for the night though and there was no hassle or noise. All in all basic and what we needed. About 5 mins in a taxi to the city centre. Much longer if you walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    38
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
25
41
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Super complete equipes apartments, new thinks, very very good! It is a bit far from Liverpools center but it's totally worth it. I highly recomment this place! The person who received gave us all the attentio we needed, explained everything. The apartment was clean, very welliluminated and with a great view of Liverpool's river! Easy to arrive and parking on site... I loved it and hope to go back one day!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for only one night but was very impressed by the size and amenities. Bed wasn't the most comfortable but wasn't the worse either. The bathroom was large and had shampoo, conditioner, and body wash provided for you. There was even a clothes line right out of the sliding glass doors for you to hang your wash (washer in the room) after you were finished which I thought was nice. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeri Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a Hen do and it was just perfect. Rooms were all modern and clean with great space throughout. The apartments were only a 10 minute walk into the city centre, handy if no one has a car. The owners/people who work there err really accommodating and gave us a free late check out as we had an evening flight back home. Would highly recommend, especially if you are travelling with a group. Will definitely be back if staying in liverpool again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a weekend away here and cannot fault it. Makes a change from staying in a hotel and a lot more comfortable. Easy to walk into town but taxis are so cheap why bother. Chinese\chip shop next door and food really nice.

Only i bad thing to say didnt like being woke up at half six this morning by some other residents arguing in the street. If possible ask for a room at the back.

Apart from this would definately stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just got back from a short break in Liverpool, stayed at Mays House. The staff were very helpful and attentive, nothing was to much trouble and they were very eager to make sure everything was alright for you. We stayed in a one bed apartment which was very spacious and very clean. There was everything you need including microwave, kettle, washing machine etc. Would recommend these apartments as location was good, only a very short distance from main attractions.

Thanks to all at Mays House, for making our staff enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandorabox482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Went to liverpool with a couple of friends at the weekend. We stayed at mays house. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have done more for us. Its just a short taxi journey from the centre of town and Matthew street where all the bars and clubs are. Its pretty reasonable and you have all your essentials.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#24 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,439 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May's House

Property: May's House
Address: 102 Mill Street, Liverpool L8 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May's House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a serviced apartment provider, based just 5 minutes from the centre of Liverpool. Our apartments offer so much more space, flexibility and functionality than any hotel. Our concierge service has been adapted to ensure that you make the most of what our amazing city has to offer. Mays House endeavors to ensure your experience is that of a 'Home-From-Home' feeling. May's House also offers free wi-fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your May's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing