We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza”

Sound Food and Drink
Ranked #266 of 1,748 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: A friendly, relaxed independent cafe/bar in the heart of Liverpool's Ropewalks district. We are open from 10am weekdays and 11am at weekends until 1am 7 days a week offering fresh stonebaked pizzas, great coffee, salads, soups, doorstep sandwiches and a very well stocked bar. Located well for access to the historical docks and city centre, and with plenty of accomodation nearby for visitors. We look forward to meeting you should you come and check us out.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pizza”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Really nice atmosphere, great customer service and delicious food. Pizza was amazing and priced well, but quite small tbh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoundFoodAndDrink, Owner at Sound Food and Drink, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to post a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your time here. Apologies if you didn't think your pizza was large enough. All our doughs are freshly rolled to order and you should get a 10-11 inch pizza for your 5 or 6 quid.

(If you meant the venue was quite small, I couldn't disagree there. Compact and bijou is the way we do it)

Hopefully we'll see you again soon anyway.

Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place for music lovers”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Step into a cafe with a timeless quality - imagine you're in a place where mid-century Parisian poets would have whiled away their days drinking coffee and smoking Gauloise (of course, smoking is now outside, but you get the picture).

Sound Food & Drink remains sincerely unpretentious without sacrificing quality. Good food, reasonable prices, and a licenced bar too.

They have a regular roster of quality performers and djs (don't forget the quiz), so this is definitely a destination for music beatniks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoundFoodAndDrink, Owner at Sound Food and Drink, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi, and many thanks for your kind review.

From our name alone we hope people realise that music is a massively important element of what we do. There's always something playing in the bar (which although sometimes features 6 Music, is way more than a transistor radio in a shop tuned to the local commercial channel), and all of us are passionate about the music we love. The nights we've had on this week have been as varied as any, ranging from New Romantics to Disco to Ska to Acoustic to Post Punk to Soul to Hip Hop and beyond. Other weeks feature Bluegrass, Honky Tonk, Indie, Rock'n'Roll and much more.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Many thanks....”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have had a few wonderful time at Sound, I would recommend it to anyone . We have been a few times as a couple and never seen any trouble...... X

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoundFoodAndDrink, Owner at Sound Food and Drink, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to register as a reviewer on TripAdvisor. It helps us as an independent business trying to spread the word about what we do.

"We'll have no trouble here". We're definitely not that kind of place. Obviously it helps that we're mostly seated and have food on at all times, but it's also the atmosphere that people create themselves that spreads to others to have a good time. Long may it continue

We hope to see you again many more times.

Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Splendid”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The best poached egg I've ever had. The place itself is a home from home. It was a lovely comfortable atmosphere and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Liverpool. It's rustic and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoundFoodAndDrink, Owner at Sound Food and Drink, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to post a response. It's a huge help for us in spreading the word about what we do here at Sound Food&Drink (although we hope the name gives a bit of a clue too).

I'm trying to resist making some bad pun on not being able to beat a poached egg, but I'll probably just leave it at that!

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the bar, and hope to see you again sometime in the not so distant future.

Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good in the day, even better in the evening.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A fun place to hang out in, Sound offers simple but tasty food - the pizzas are especially good. Also make sure to try any brownies or cakes they have for sale at the bar area, they're always top notch.

In the evenings they often have bands or DJs on, which is what I've mainly been there for. While the venue is a little small to get the whole room dancing, the atmosphere in there always makes up for it and everybody has a great time.

There's a good selection of drinks and they even have some top spirits on offer. Lately they've been getting in the American 'Lone Star' beer due to its appearance in 'True Detective'. A nice little move there, Sound!

Overall, a very fun place to go in both the daytime and the evening. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJonfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoundFoodAndDrink, Owner at Sound Food and Drink, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

Good to see people getting on to the nod to True Detective as well.

We hope to see you in Sound again soon!

Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sound Food and Drink also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Sound Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing