We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fab place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Penny Lane Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We are locals and called into the hotel for a coffee. What a lovely warm welcome we were given. The place is fabulous and decorated to a very high standard. The prices were very reasonable and the service was excellent. Lovely atmosphere, I will tell all my friends about the Penny Lane Hotel and we will deffo return, maybe for breakfast or lunch next time. We were shown round the bedrooms by the manager and they are beautiful. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone to stay or just pop in for coffee or a bite to eat.

Room Tip: Close to Beatles attractions. The Magical Mystery Tour bus passes the hotel, so look out for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks your your time and writing this lovely review we appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your time in our hotel/coffee shop and look forward to you returning. All at The Penny Lane Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

On our way into the hotel for brunch we met friends who said it had become their regular place to eat. No wonder! The food was great and reasonably priced, staff also great - efficient and very friendly (nothing was too much trouble) and everything was spotlessly clean. We loved the art work, the beatle photos and the fabulous lights. The owner showed us a hotel room - it was spectacular. We are local to the hotel but it would be a great place for visitors to the city to stay. A selection of bars, restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Bus stops for the city centre, John Lennon airport, Speke Hall and the waterfront are just a 2 minute walk away.

Make sure you eat/stay or even both!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your lunch, hopefully next time you can try something different from our menu and I hope you will be equally as please next time. All The Penny Lane Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lovely and friendly and great new venture. Rooms look wonderful and staff are very helpful. We even stayed talking for over an hour after the coffee shop had closed and no one minded. Nice to have such cheery staff, hope it does well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumRLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words and really glad you like out hotel/coffee shop, hope to see you again soon all at The Penny Lane Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Firstly let me say that this hotel is brand spanking new and the owners are also new to this game though you would never know it. They have produced a well balanced experience in a good location with very helpful staff, well done Jack! Nothing was to much trouble, the rooms well appointed and breakfast excellent. Our son also had a room and didn't get back to the hotel till 5.30am so missed breakfast but the staff went out of their way to cook him one. I will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspector_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you so much for this review we really appreciate you taking time out to write this review. So glad you enjoyed your experience at The Penny Lane Hotel and hopefully next time your in Liverpool we will see you again. Sorry for delay of response but we were only just recently able to access this feature. All at The Penny Lane Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My family chose two rooms in this hotel to be close to a family members house. It was quick and easy to get In and out of city centre. Brilliant service the whole time giving out complimentary soft drinks and breakfast was great and served later on than it should have been for us. Went out at night and was no problem for us getting back in late at night staff were always on hand to help and the rooms were very nicely decorated. No problem having additional member, beds were very comfy and would recommend to anyone. Great find

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pt217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your excellent review means a lot to get such a good response to our hotel. Look forward to seeing you again soon. All at The Penny Lane Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Ended up at this hotel due to an booking issue at an another hotel. How lucky we're we... The hotel is very nice and comfortable. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Superb service. And of course, the Beatles theme was nice. An excellent find and we'll definitely be back on our next trip to Liverpool.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jarkko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for your kind words Jarkko K we appreciate your comments and were happy to have you here in our hotel. So glad you enjoyed you experience in Liverpool and in Th Penny Lane Hotel. Hope to see you back here next time you visit our city. Sorry for delay of response we were unable to access this feature on our page until now but thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel last night on a business trip. It was a real find. Very attractive room, more like a four star hotel. The Beatles theme is great, and the photos all over the hotel are interesting. A real experience for anyone on he Beatles tourist trail.
The owners were very friendly, and they were keen to make sure I got everything I needed. They also asked for feedback to help improve their service. My only comment was that it would help to improve vegetarian options for breakfast. They promised to act on it immediately.
The hotel claims free parking. In fact, the night porter told me to find somewhere to park in the adjacent streets.
Overall, somewhere I would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi Chris J, thank you for your comments we really appreciate this. Was great to see you back so soon. thanks all at The Penny Lane hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,262 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,914 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trivelles Seaforth
#16 of 74 in Liverpool
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Lane Hotel

Address: 3-5 Smithdown Place, Liverpool L15 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range: £52 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penny Lane Hotel is located in the Mossley Hill area of Liverpool, which is home to some of the most significant Beatles attractions in Liverpool. Free Wi-Fi is available in all areas. The rooms at Penny Lane Hotel provide a flat-screen TV and an en suite bathroom. Continuing with the Beatles theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Penny Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing