We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Penny Lane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 70 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great hotel, especially for Beatles fans - fantastic Beatles décor and right next to 'the shelter in the middle of the round-a-bout'. Very modern, comfortable, the staff are very friendly and the included breakfast a good Full English. Plenty of buses into the city that take only around 15-20 mins. No Wi-Fi in rooms but it's free in reception.

If you're a Beatles fan do not stay anywhere else, if not you'll still be pleased you stayed anyway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creagh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your review it's much appreciated, all at The Penny Lane Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    60
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
129
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at the Penny Lane Hotel last weekend. One word sums it up - AMAZING!! Gary, Liam, Jack and the staff are the friendliest we have ever encountered and could not do enough for you. Good location, close to restaurants, pubs etc. Hotel rooms are beautiful. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Have passed on details of the hotel to my local travel agents so they can recommend to others. Have already booked to return later in the year. Keep up the good work lads! Looking forward to seeing you all again soon - from the Cumbria branch of the Hull Crowd!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR-CUMBRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for leaving us this review, we will see you again soon, all At The Penny Lane Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Felice del Benaco, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Visited this place whilst staying in Liverpool with family. We went in for tea and scones in the afternoon but have to leave a review to recommend staying here.
It has been furnished / designed to a really high standard. The staff were very warm and welcoming.
Location wise it is about 20 minutes out of the town centre, but has easy access to everywhere by bus or taxi. Bus fare is £2 each way - you can get a number of buses in/out of the city centre (80, 80A, 86, 86A being a few options, they run from around 6am-11.30pm) and also to the airport (the 86A or 80A!) the bus stop is 1 minute away. A taxi from the airport would cost about £10, and the same to the city centre. There are quite a few little bars/ pubs and restaurants nearby also. From how friendly the staff seem I am sure they would recommend places to go and how to get about!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_and_Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for all your review, this is really helpful for people who are looking to book, all at The Penny Lane Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Penny Lane Hotel is fantastic. Stayed at the hotel on Saturday 15 February in room one. Staff were really friendly. The room and hotel were very high spec and service at breakfast was superb. I don t normally review but felt this hotel was well worth the effort. My daughter is a student in Liverpool and my next trip will be with all the family to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room one was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit with your family, all at The Penny Lane Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were made to feel very welcome here and had a great room with terrific four poster bed. The rooms in general seem to be spacious and comfortable - excellent breakfast too!
We hadn't realised when we booked that the location was a couple of miles outside the city centre, but that turned out not to be a problem. There are very good bars and restaurants very near by (though the area in general isn't noisy or rowdy), and there's a taxi rank right across the road from the hotel for trips into the city centre.

Room Tip: Visitors with limited mobility should check which floor their room is on - we were on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

On looking for a hotel in Liverpool we decided to stay just outside of the town centre.....how glad are we that we did. We couldn't have wished for a nicer hotel for cleanliness friendliness helpfulness and for making us feel so special. We only stayed for one night as we had booked to see a show but we wish we had stayed for longer. We would like to thank all the staff for being so attentive especially Gary and Liam the co-owners. Also not forgetting Jack who couldn't do enough for us. You were all great thanks a million. We will be back and that's a promise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlebo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you soon, all at The Penny Lane Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just arrived home after staying at the penny lane hotel in Liverpool, this hotel is a little gem, we will definitely return, the staff so friendly, rooms absolutely lovely. parking, restaurants, cafe, pubs all within easy reach. we would like to say thanks to gary, liam and all staff for making our stay extra special. from the Hull crowd.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyLaneHotel, Manager at The Penny Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you soon, all at The Penny Lane Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Hard Days Night Hotel
#24 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Lane Hotel

Property: The Penny Lane Hotel
Address: 3-5 Smithdown Place, Liverpool L15 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penny Lane Hotel is located in the Mossley Hill area of Liverpool, which is home to some of the most significant Beatles attractions in Liverpool. Free Wi-Fi is available in all areas. The rooms at Penny Lane Hotel provide a flat-screen TV and an en suite bathroom. Continuing with the Beatles theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Penny Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing