We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Beatles land”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Penny Lane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 73 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at The Penny Lane Hotel for a long weekend when the football season ended. We had a truly great time even if the football part ended in disappointment. The spirits were soon raised, though, thanks to the great staff at the hotel, who had some good stories to tell and made sure we had a good time. The service and hospitality were absolutely first-class throughout our stay, and the place itself is very new, fresh and charming. The location makes it perfect for beatlemaniacs to explore Beatles sites.
We'll be happy to see Gary, Liam, Jack, George and the other staff again shortly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcarlsson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for The Penny Lane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at The Penny Lane. The staff here are more than welcoming and were lovely from start to finish. We arrived and were pleasantly surprised to have our room ready even though we were two hours early. (check in 2pm). We were took to our room and our luggage was even carried. .
The hotel is very clean and rooms have fabulous décor. Everything seemed brand new.
Yes the hotel is a little out of the centre but they are right on the bus route and there are plenty of buses that go straight to the centre-takes about 15mins. We got a taxi back and it was £9. Not bad at all and it was a Sunday evening.
We had breakfast included and the café area is lovely too. Lots of beatles memorabilia and has a brilliant atmosphere. There was plenty of choice for breakfast. We had 'full english' and it was really nice.
Big thanks to Jack and George for their friendliness. They couldn't do enough for us! Cant wait to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We had room 5. Double room. all rooms look great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Penny Lane Hotel is actually the best Beatles theme hotel in Liverpool! Went in December 2013, with a group of scouser friends who also were delighted surprised abt this in the Penny Lane area. Excellent!

Room Tip: Think any room is worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvi1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent 1 night at The Penny Lane Hotel for a quick mid week break. Having never been to Liverpool before we were impressed by both the hotel and the city. We received a warm and friendly welcome and Chris even walked up the road to reserve us a table at Spire restaurant (we enjoyed an excellent meal). He also suggested a pre dinner drink at The Penny Lane wine bar perfect location. Hotel is slightly out of town but as others have said easy to commute by bus or taxi. Hotel is modern and a great deal of thought has been given to the finishing touches. The owner and his team are efficient and friendly customer service 100%. Got the balance just right. Well done we really appreciated your kind hospitality. Would definitely recommend your hotel. Jack served a 1st class breakfast also!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elliot302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spontaneously decided to head to Liverpool as my husband is a huge Beatles fan. We had not booked anything. We were just going to stop at a B & B but I just couldn't resist going all the way and staying at a Beatles themed hotel. We checked out the Hard Days Night Hotel which is right in the thick of Liverpool but it just wasn't our style. I was delighted to find the Penny Lane Hotel which is a gorgeous boutique hotel out of town. Really lovely and friendly staff. It felt brand new, like we were the first to use the room - it opened back in November last year. A really great find including breakfast and not far to visit Strawberry Fields and John and Paul 's houses. Also close to a number of restaurants. Couldn't fault the whole experience. Thanks everyone at the Penny Lane Hotel ... You were all fab!

Room Tip: It's a busy intersection but we were given a room at the back so found it surprisingly very quie...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just spent a great weekend away with friends up in Liverpool at The Penny Lane Hotel. Don't be put off by its location, yes it is a way out of town but there is a taxi rank just across the road, and you can get into and out of town for less than a tenner each way. The hotel is brill! and if you look at it that accommodation like this in town would cost you way more than the amount you pay in taxi fares.
The owner and his staff are just fantastic, from when you arrive to when you leave they are there to make your stay relaxing and fun.
The hotel is only six months or so old so its condition is first class, as are the breakfasts.
The Penny Lane Wine Bar is also well worth a visit, its just over the road. We didn't get the chance to try them but there are plenty of quality restaurant's in the area.

Room Tip: I've marked the location down but if you can make it back over the road from the wine bar withou...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from two nights at The Penny Lane. From our arrival, where make receptionist kindly came out and drove us around to the car park so we did not get lost, to the free coffee on arrival in the coffee shop, to the immaculately clean, modern room - we couldn't fault this absolute Gem of a small hotel. Pure white bed linen and towels - lovely.

The Penny Lane has only been open for six months, and I wish the owner and his staff every success. Breakfast was perfect - I had the 'healthy' option with cereals, beautifully prepared fresh fruit and natural yoghurt and croissant/Bonne Maman preserves. My three friends wolfed the full English - no complaints there then!

On previous trips to Liverpool we have always stayed in the town centre but the service and amenities at this hotel are far superior. The downside? Yes it is situated some 2/3 miles outside the city centre which was a concern but I can honestly say that this did not bother us - indeed, it was rather nice to leave the madness of the city centre at the end of the night! A taxi cost £8 but there are good local restaurants and The Penny Lane wine bar - well worth a visit or two.

We hope to return, thank you to all the lovely, attentive staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SUEPOPPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,146 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,452 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Hard Days Night Hotel
#26 of 98 in Liverpool
3,078 reviews
Trivelles Seaforth
#17 of 73 in Liverpool
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Lane Hotel

Address: 3-5 Smithdown Place, Liverpool L15 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range: £51 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penny Lane Hotel is located in the Mossley Hill area of Liverpool, which is home to some of the most significant Beatles attractions in Liverpool. Free Wi-Fi is available in all areas. The rooms at Penny Lane Hotel provide a flat-screen TV and an en suite bathroom. Continuing with the Beatles theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Penny Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing