We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very wonderful hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Penny Lane Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A grabbed mid week stop over last minute. We didn't expect such a high standard of hotel. The room (12) was huge and bright and light with beautiful furniture and a huge comfortable luxurious bed. The bathroom was stunning with a great shower. The cafe bar downstairs is delightful and has a lovely chilled atmosphere. The position of the hotel was ideal for us. Parking just around the corner and some incredibly good restaurants just a few metres away !!
We will definitely go back !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D0nna34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked this because of the excellent reviews and not disappointed, hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are really friendly and knowledgeable they seem to treat the hotel as their own business, made us feel very welcome.
Breakfast cooked to order is great, we also had lunch and again this was good quality and reasonably priced.
Location suited us fine, we parked in the area recommended by the hotel which was free, safe, and a two minute walk away. We used public transport which again Is a two minute walk and a five minute ride to city centre, there is also a taxi rank right outside the hotel. There are are a couple of bars and about 20 restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. So no need to travel outside area at night unless you want to.
Overall 10/10 on all points. We will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jmne16201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked this hotel in advance directly with them. They are open to giving a discount and you'll get a better rate by booking directly. The location is excellent with a taxi rank 30 yards away. No parking on site but that is not a problem as there is ample parking just around the corner near a pub and supermarket. Opposite the hotel are several Beatles 'sites' so you really get a feel of Liverpool in this area.

The best thing about the hotel though is the friendliness of the owner and staff and the super service. A complimentary drink was promised on arrival and we enjoyed chatting with them. The whole hotel is wonderfully clean and newly decorated to a high standard. My sister-in-law asked for extra pillows and a fan and these were provided quickly. The room was cleaned and fresh towels and toiletries given for our 2nd night's stay. The breakfast is tasty and there is plenty of it and lots of choice. Refills of coffee and special requests came easily. I will be booking into this hotel every year when I come to Liverpool to visit my relatives. It is excellent value and very comfortable with GREAT staff. Thank you owner and staff for making it a lovely time for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our rating for this hotel is really 4.5 ( never understand why TA don't allow you to rate hotels like this), the reason for not attaining 5* is the lack of on-site parking. This should not deter anyone from staying here as there is free parking a few 100 meters away.
All the previous reviewers are correct in their comments and I can only endorse the excellent customer service we received at the hotel, it's really nice to meet and talk to people who are proud of their working environment and succeed in being the perfect hosts. The four guy's we met could not do enough for you! Week done to you all!
The bedroom was top class and spotless. The service was even better!
Thanks again. A highly recommended hotel in Liverpool.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Penny Lane Hotel last weekend to visit our daughter and also see the Giant Spectacular!

Nothing was too much trouble for the guys who worked on reception, one of them took us up to our room which was lovely, a little on the small side but had everything we needed, the beds were so so comfortable, the shower brilliant! We slept really well despite having to have the windows open because it was so warm the street noise didn't disturb us too much.

Once we'd been to our room we were offered a drink and a scone which was a lovely touch and when we came in later that evening we were offered a bottle of cold water each ... all on the house! You wouldn't get this with the chain hotels would you?

Breakfast was delicious, everything cooked perfectly ... I recommend the scrambled eggs!

All in all we would highly recommend the Penny Lane Hotel and we will most definitely stay there again ... it's close to our daughter who lives near Sefton Park and a short taxi ride to the city centre attractions - shops, sights & restaurants!

Brilliant x

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid the street house, it's a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthYorkshireNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Due to traffic problems on the M6 we arrived late at the hotel however the night manager was very welcoming, offering a much needed complimentary drink. This hotel is great, clean, comfortable, great breakfast served by two lovely chaps, funny and friendly and full of info. The bedroom was everything you need for a restful nights sleep. We were in Liverpool for the Giants, all we had to do was cross the road and get on a bus and within minutes we were in the city. This hotel sums all that is so wonderful about Liverpool the city, and Liverpool the people . FAB

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leona j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here on sat 5th July 2014 having gone to Liverpool to see the lion king at the theatre. Absolutely brilliant hotel and would happily recommend this to anyone going to Liverpool.

Location - ideally located - not more than 10 mins in a car to the centre. Lots of parking in nearby streets. No problems at all.

Staff - polite and friendly, very helpful and even managed to get a lift into town from one of the guys. Made to feel welcome and would go back simply because of how nice the staff are. A real credit to the hotel.

Room - spotless, nice decor, lovely bathroom and shower. The bed was enormous and ever so comfy.

Breakfast - nice and fresh, cooked to perfection and served in good time by very nice staff.

Would come back here without any hesitation as we loved it.

Excellent effort guys

Thanks

Matty and Emma

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MattyandEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,263 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,917 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trivelles Seaforth
#17 of 74 in Liverpool
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Lane Hotel

Address: 3-5 Smithdown Place, Liverpool L15 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range: £53 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penny Lane Hotel is located in the Mossley Hill area of Liverpool, which is home to some of the most significant Beatles attractions in Liverpool. Free Wi-Fi is available in all areas. The rooms at Penny Lane Hotel provide a flat-screen TV and an en suite bathroom. Continuing with the Beatles theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Penny Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing