We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant service and food”
Review of Et Alia

Et Alia
Ranked #361 of 1,710 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellant service and food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We chose here to celebrate my Granddaughters communion There were 20 of us in the party The staff could have not been more helfull and were lovely to the children My salmon penne was fan Looking forward to visting again Keep up the good work

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 45susiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Red H, Manager at Et Alia, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
HI Susie

It was great to welcome you all to Est Est for your celebrations. We're so pleased you had a wonderful time.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and review, we look forward to welcoming you and your family to Est Est again soon.

Thanks

Est Est
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    98
    61
    37
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Having moved into the area recently we have been looking forward to going for a meal in Est Est so decided to go for my wife's birthday. I was a bit concerned about the mixed reviews and that there is no website with the menu's so I could have a look beforehand, as people had said it was expensive.
We were politely greeted by the manager and taken to our table. The waiter took our order for drinks and explained the specials for the night. The menu was extensive with a choice of pizzas, pastas, risotto's, meats and fish. Despite the large choice we decided to go with the specials, even for the starters. I choose the crab salad, crabmeat mixed with carrot, onion and salad served in a crab shell, when taken out of the shell it was a good sized portion and tasted delightful. My wife chose the crayfish cocktail, a twist on the traditional prawn cocktail, again a good sized portion and not too top heavy with the salad. At £7.95 and £6.95 respectively, a touch on the expensive side, but worth it, there were other starters that were cheaper . For mains again from the specials menu I chose Lemon sole (£14.95), two fillets of lemon sole on a bed of green cabbage and my wife chose the monkfish prosciutto, a succulent and good sized portion of fish topped with prosciutto ham with a creamy sauce. Both meals were cooked perfectly, the only gripe was having to pay extra for the veg (green beans £2.95 & seasonal veg £3.95). To accompany the meal we had a bottle of Tavino Trebbiano white wine @ £13.95 the cheapest on the menu but adequate enough. We decided we still had room for desserts and all our favourites were on there, but decided to share the orange profiteroles(£4.95)and the Italian cheeseboard(£6.25). The cheeseboard was accompanied by a homemade relish, but was too chunky and would have preferred a more smoother traditional chutney.
All in all an excellent meal, yeas a bit on the expensive side with the choices we had and having to pay for sides, but worth it for a special occasion, a restaurant that is comparable to some of the best Italian restaurants in Liverpool. The restaurant is fresh looking with it's blue lighting and has a lively buzz about it with music not too loud and the noise of people chatting and enjoying themselves. We will be back but probably choose one the of pasta or risotto choices which you can get for less than a tenner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllanL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive goldfish bowl!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The lunch experience was average at best regarding food and service...certainly not with the bill! It was also disconcerting to be so highly visible to passers by who looked in and some even waved! There was a good selection of vegetarian food and they also offered to prepare any of the meat dishes without meat! I asked for a fruit tea and was offered mint which when it came was lots of mint leaves with hot water poured on them...it was difficult to drink without my mouth being filled with the leaves! My friend was served her lasagne in a cracked dish which was changed when it was pointed out. Good points were the goats cheese and butternut squash salad and the orange flavoured profiteroles but as another reviewer says this kind of food is available elsewhere in Liverpool at considerably lower prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average in Aigburth”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

At £120 for 4 people I won't be returning with so many other restaurants in the city offering so much better value for money.£21 for a bottle of red wine really is taking the pease and who needs to see the owner(?) charging around,his head ready to explode.No compaints but no compliments ---everything was okay, though the portion of ravioli wouldn't have filled a child.Okay but pricey for what you get.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nojornum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic 30th Birthday Celebration 20/05/2014”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Twelve of us had a great meal, the food was amazing. The table was dressed as requested with balloons, champagne and the best olives we have ever tasted. The staff were fab and the service was great. They got one starter wrong but after everything else which was so fantastic we soon got over it. We all had a great night and we will definitely be going back.
Thank you so much Est Est
Jacqui McKechnie

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Et Alia also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
West Kirby, Wirral
 

Been to Et Alia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing