We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rock on for a deal!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rock on for a deal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A brilliant stay in the newly refurbished rooms. Very fresh and comfortable bed too, to relax in after a hard days night! Ate in the restaurant as we were on a DBB rate, and was pleasantly surprised at a lovely meal. Only slight complaint is that music from bar too loud in dining room. Great party bar too, lively, good bar staff, excellent cocktails, all round brilliant atmosphere! Reception staff, Stephen, was very helpful on all counts. We'd highly recommend and return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophs38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    231
    174
    87
    90
See reviews for
109
358
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The only reason that we like staying here is the location. It is very near to the shopping centre. Not bad if you'd only stay for a few nights. It needs renovation though because it looks very old and staff aren't friendly. They have this look of " Cant' be bothered".

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Was looking for a restaurant that didn't seem to be part of a "chain". Went on a Thursday evening and didn't need to book. The food was lovely, well cooked and well presented. Nothing very fancy but completely unpretentious. Good service and best of all .......... absolutely fantastic value!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin I
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked through Booking.com, disaster, made a complete hash, unable to confirm twin room, eventually Booking.com suggesting contact hotel direct, to late, cancellation charges, left nasty taste!!! The Sir Thomas is ideally placed in central Liverpool, staff let down by surroundings, tired, in need of face lift, Have to compliment the manager Stephen [--] for his prompt and professional attention in all areas, Will we return? you bet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBDublinI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Decided to look for a place to stay overnight after going to a concert at the Echo Arena. After trawling through numerous websites we found this one. Knowing where it was situated the price made it extremely attractive. When we got there the staff were helpful and friendly. The room itself was basic but clean and had all the amenities we needed for our stay. We booked an evening meal as part of the deal and this was really good value for money as was the cooked breakfast the next morning. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back as and when we need to. Will also be recommending it to friends and family as a place to stay for a short break in Liverpool

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely looking hotel from the outside. Inside they've taken away some of the character of the old place by putting the reception behind a tall misted wall of glass that was not easy to spot as the reception area. The bar resembled something you might find lit up in certain parts of Amsterdam. Neon does not suit this old building. The staff were friendly & helpful. The room was tired looking with a thread bare carpet, a chair with a stain on the arm but the worst was the mattress, duvet & pillows. Underneath the crisp white sheets was a horrible heavily stained mattress. There were stains on the pillow & duvet inners also. The bathroom shower curtain was dirty at the bottom & there was a large chip in the bath enamel. Wi-Fi wouldn't work. Excellent city centre location though.

Room Tip: Pull the sheets off the bed before you intend sleeping on one of their mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have returned today from a 3 night stay at The Sir Thomas Hotel. There is no doubt that the hotel would have been very grand once, however, it is showing signs of wear now.

We got a very cheap price on late rooms so weren't expecting very much to be honest, we may be more disappointed had we paid full price for our stay. We stayed in a standard double room on the 2nd floor. The room was fairly basic but had everything we needed for our stay considering we were out most of the day and until late each night.

The room has tea/ coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, small TV (which we could only get channels 1-4 on), small, bright and clean bathroom with plenty of towels, hand wash, Shower gel etc There is also free Wi-Fi which you need to register for and set up a password then you can reconnect at any time - we did find it a bit unsteady and certainly wasn't fast enough to stream TV programmes on which we would have liked to due to the limited TV channels available. It was fine for general surfing if a little slow.

The rate we booked at didn't include breakfast, however, one morning we did have breakfast in the hotel at an extra charge of just £4 for a full English, toast, coffee and a continental selection. The breakfast was tasty and nicely cooked and the breakfast staff were lovely, very friendly and polite :)

We didn't make it into the bar at night or for an evening meal as we planned to do this on our last night but the restaurant was closed for a private function. The girl on reception informed us that there is a sister restaurant in the Met Quarter (directly opposite the hotel) called café England which hotel guests can get 20% off their bill on production of their check in card - we didn't go there in the end as we had another recommendation which we wanted to try.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay, we spent very little time in the hotel but were happy with the stay. All of the staff we met were lovely, really friendly. We didn't have any issues apart from a minor glitch with the room key which was dealt with immediately. The best thing about the hotel was the location - around a 5 minute walk from Lime street station and only around 10 minutes walk to Pier head and Albert Docks, even better - it's only around 5 minutes to Liverpool 1 shopping area and even less to Matthew Street for The Cavern and many other pubs.

We would definitely return to the hotel if visiting Liverpool again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki_and_mark1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Property: Sir Thomas Hotel
Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing