We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh, where do I start...”
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We paid for double room with en suite bathtub - breakfast included.
mattress was super old, warped and lumpy, pillows with a stuffing I can only describe as papery (?!), bed sheet had little holes in it. TV was ancient and remote didnt work. We got a shower room instead of bathtub, even though I asked them to move us to a room with one. Shower room was old and gritty. When complained to manager, he blamed the housekeeping. I could say it was cleaned as much as it was possible to clean it but the whole room was old and nasty. As the saying goes you can't polish a turd....
Breakfast was a sad joke. We were told we can have continental only which meant mini dry and cold pastries ( just out of the fridge). Fruit was green or brown...
Oh dear... just really sad.
Complete rip off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for Sir Thomas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at the Sir Thomas Hotel with my friend and my parents from 3rd - 7th October 2013. I really cant make up my mind whether I would recommend this hotel or not. There were good and bad points. Lots of minor faults when all added up it didn't seem as though the hotel is being given the care it deserves or indeed the paying customers.

I'll start with the good points. The location was perfect. It was so central for everything that Liverpool has to offer. Matthew Street just around the corner, Liverpool One, the Docks all within a few minutes walk. For location it would be hard to beat this hotel.

The staff were very friendly and very nice.

The breakfast was great. A full English plus cereals, croissants, juices cost only 4 pounds.

The Sir Thomas is a very fine hotel. Old building with a beautiful stairs and a lovely old feel to it. The bar and restaurant area were very comfortable if a little dated. (well comfortable only on the Wed and Thurs nite of our stay)

I very seldom put negative reviews on to trip advisor as I feel a lot of people can be just too fussy and pick up on every small itty bitty stuff. A lot of these things would never bother me, however, having spent 5 nights here the small, itty bitty things were starting to pile up.

The carpets were threadbare as others had pointed out and there was a huge stain on the chair in the bedroom (this is the first time I complained about something like this). The rooms were serviced every day with new towels and the bed made, however, on one day there was no toilet roll left and we had to phone down to reception for some more, which the receptionist delivered himself. The room was supplied with tea/coffee and biscuits. The biscuits were not replaced and on the first night we had coffee in the room the dirty cups were left there on the tray and not cleaned for 2 days. Guests in the rooms beside us obviously had room service and their dirty empty plates were outside the door from the evening time until well after 11.00am the following morning. This happened on a few occasions. The rooms were noisy, however that didn't bother us as we were out most nights. But my parents who would not be going out on the town found it very uncomfortable as the noise went on all hours.

The stairs leading from the reception area to the bedrooms beside the lift were half blocked by loads of linen that were stacked up at the front of the stairs. In an emergency this could be a big problem.

While the breakfast was lovely, on two mornings my friend and I requested the full English with no sausage and on both morning the breakfast came out with sausages. The restaurant was pretty empty at this stage.

The main problem I had with this hotel was at night time in the bar area. The lovey comfortable ambience that had been there on the Wed and Thurs night was completely shattered as on Fri and Sat night the place transformed into some sort of a club like atmosphere with blaring music and the whole seating area blocked off as there were private functions. This meant that there was nowhere for residents who would like a quit drink to be accommodated. My parents had to go to bed at 10pm on these nights. I found it very bad form that a hotel would allow the bar area to be completely taken over and have no where for the residents who weren't party animals to sit, relax or enjoy the surroundings. The reception area was a no go as it was just a reception desk with a couch opposite. My parents on one of these nights took their drink to there as they could not sit in the bar and they sat on the couch with nothing to look at other than the receptionist. The bar also closed at 10pm on the sunday night. Again, nowhere for residents who might like to stay up later and have a drink to be accommodated. It was a far cry from the Adelphi or other hotels in the city in this respect.

Over all we did enjoy our stay at the Sir Thomas however we felt that the hotel didn't really feel a duty of care to the guest. It was obvious that the party goers who had booked the bar on the weekend nights by far took priority over the paying guests. I just feel that little changes would be all it would take for this hotel to get up to a higher standard. It seems to be just chugging along but without really taking an interest in its customers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night to attend a function and got no sleep we had a room at the front overlooking the intersection, double glazing would be beneficial. The hotel room was old & shabby with threadbare carpets, a shower screen that fell off when we opened it, hair dryer that didn't work & barely any water pressure. Not sure which rooms have been refurbished but we booked 7 rooms & not one of them was refurbished. The buffet breakfast was ok & we had a cooked breakfast which again was ok more like a cafe than a hotel. Would not stay here again & would certainly not recommend it there are plenty if other options.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago as we have on many occassions and i have to say that yet again we had a fantastic time.The staff are excellent cannot fault any of them especially Steve Guest,Paul Knight and all of the bar staff who are brilliant ,they cannot do enough for you.The food is very good.We stayed in a fab room that has just been refurbished to a high standard and we would like to say a big thank you to everyone at the hotel for making us feel so welcome.See you all soon. xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenk186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Not a hotel I would normally choose, but as a festival in Liverpool this week left usual choices booked up, I stayed for one night (1st Oct) in the Sir Thomas Hotel on Victoria Street. I was deeply unimpressed with my night's stay as there were so many relatively minor flaws which added up to a most unsatisfactory stay and I will avoid staying there again if I possibly can eg:

Carpets in corridors ripped in places - a potential health & safety problem

Very strong smell of disinfectant as one enters the hotel

Television in room picked up only Sky News and Radio 4, nothing else. It appeared not to be able to pick up digital signals although I was told Liverpool went digital some 4 years back.

The ill-fitting sash window rattled all night even tho' not windy outside which woke me at times

There was a gap under the door allowing bright light into the room all night which again interfered with sleep

The hotel has 3 floors. I was on the second. There was no double glazing so the drunken groups shouting in then street up till 1am also interfered with sleep. The noise is outside the control of the hotel, but double glazing would make it less of a nuisance

There were 4 pillows on the bed but even piled up were not as thick as one good quality pillow so this too prevented a good night's sleep.

The continental breakfast on offer was low standard & limited choice, while a full English costs an additional £4 ( I did not have as a vegetarian). I had a plate of scrambled egg (due to dietary restrictions there was nothing I could eat from the continental selection, except fruit) which appeared to have been made by someone who has no idea of what this dish should be like so it was dried out yet watery, and most unpleasant.

To be fair, the staff were perfectly pleasant the linens were clean, and the water was hot in the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A brilliant stay in the newly refurbished rooms. Very fresh and comfortable bed too, to relax in after a hard days night! Ate in the restaurant as we were on a DBB rate, and was pleasantly surprised at a lovely meal. Only slight complaint is that music from bar too loud in dining room. Great party bar too, lively, good bar staff, excellent cocktails, all round brilliant atmosphere! Reception staff, Stephen, was very helpful on all counts. We'd highly recommend and return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophs38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The only reason that we like staying here is the location. It is very near to the shopping centre. Not bad if you'd only stay for a few nights. It needs renovation though because it looks very old and staff aren't friendly. They have this look of " Cant' be bothered".

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,422 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 98 in Liverpool
1,074 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £42 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing