We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wedding ”
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Had our wedding at the sir thomas just yesterday (23rd may) and I cant praise this place enough from the planning 6 months ago right up untill the day as been a great experiance and really made things easier for me and my wife to really try and relax or concentrate on other things that needed doing elsewhere. The staff played a big part in the day they were brilliant with a very proffesional approuch to the whole day and could not do enough for us and our guests. The other person if like to mention is tony the manager who is great and treats you like a good friend as well as being in charge of proceedings. Right from day one we knew this was the place from the warm welcome we felt from the meetings we had from tony leading up to our wedding and I really liked the way anything we needed it was done straight away so our ideas along with there ideas made a very special day and anyone looking for a venue for their wedding should check this place out for sure. I really do recommend as I was very very impressed. A big thankyou
Steven ball Had our wedding at the sir thomas just yesterday (23rd may) and I cant praise this place enough from the planning 6 months ago right up untill the day as been a great experiance and really made things easier for me and my wife to really try and relax or concentrate on other things that needed doing elsewhere. The staff played a big part in the day they were brilliant with a very proffesional approuch to the whole day and could not do enough for us and our guests. The other person if like to mention is tony the manager who is great and treats you like a good friend as well as being in charge of proceedings. Right from day one we knew this was the place from the warm welcome we felt from the meetings we had from tony leading up to our wedding and I really liked the way anything we needed it was done straight away so our ideas along with there ideas made a very special day and anyone looking for a venue for their wedding should check this place out for sure. I really do recommend as I was very very impressed. A big thankyou
Steven ball .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank stevenball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Where do i begin , our day was
Amazing !! The food , staff decor and of course the manager Tony who made sure every bit of our day was as special as we wanted !! He took care of everything!!!We didnt want our day to end ! Thank you and your staff for a wonderful day for us to remember! We will be back with our friends an family for some sunday lunch soon xx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karensmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have just stayed at the Sir Thomas for a weekend break with friends, we had a lovely 2 nights, the hotel was central to the shops, theatre and nightlife. the staff were very polite and helpful especially when finding train tickets 2 of the group forgot to pack hours after we had booked out of the hotel. I would recommend the hotel and certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We thank you for your kind comments and feedback for the Hotel and Staff. Should you decide to book again in the near future please contact us direct on 0151-236-1366 and we would be more than happy to offer you a preferential rate on your next stay with us.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

A great location in the heart of Liverpool. The staff were exceptionally nice, polite and professional, but then that's Liverpudlians for you!
The hotel was really grubby we were in rm 108 and it just wasn't the standard you would expect for the price. Very noisy felt we were sleeping on the road outside. Hopefully after the refurbishment it will improve.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RoseM728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. Unfortunately room 108 will be one of the last rooms to be completed with the refurbishment. Please contact us direct on 0151-236-1366 should you ever decide to visit Liverpool again. We will make sure you are booked into a newly refurbished bedroom at a discounted rate in order to make up for the issues you had whilst you last stayed.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here on 9th may. Everything was fantastic the venue was great and the staff did a great job of setting up the wedding breakfast and It looked amazing. The food was exceptional. A special mention to tony who ran the day for us and also Annie one of the waitresses and was so helpful and accommodating nothing was to much hassell. I would recommend the sir Thomas, it's a great wedding venue and I will be visiting again soon for dinner

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartceltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your Wedding Day here at the Sir Thomas Hotel, again many Congratulations and we hope to see you sometime soon in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visit Liverpool quite regularly and usually stay in Novotel, the Liner or Premier Inn. This time though, we stayed in the Sir Thomas for 2 nights on the Mayday back holiday weekend as we were late in deciding to visit our son and niece, both at uni in Liverpool, and it seemed like the best of the accommodation left on offer.

The Reception staff were all very pleasant and nice. The room was basic and clean, but the dressing table drawers were broken so we couldn't use them (reported).

Bathroom was small and not as clean as I would've liked. But in fairness, I reported this and hopefully this area will be attended to better for future guests.

We were in room 105, which both looks into the main road and is very noisy (it's a listed building and so they can't change to double glazing which is a pity) so bring your earplugs! And this room is also right over the music station below in the bar.

Breakfast was excellent - perfect poached eggs! The only thing was that they have those horrible little sauce sachets - the brown sauce tastes like sour milk! Take HP with you or avoid!

All in all however, I would recommend this hotel. It makes a nice change from the chains, and the service was excellent. Hopefully the little issues will be fine by the next time we visit, which will be soon.

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early or are a light sleeper, they have bar entertainment every weekend so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We thank you for your kind comments and apologise for some of the small problems you had whilst you stayed. Our rooms are currently undergoing refurbishments and unfortunately room 105 will be one of the last rooms to be refurbished. When you visit Liverpool again please contact us direct on 0151-236-1366 and we will be happy to book you into one of our newly refurbished rooms with a generous discount. Thank you and we hope to see you sometime again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel was nice and staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was good and had enough room for what we needed although didn't really spend much time in it! Bar was good at night with a DJ on. Good location in the heart of Liverpool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for our Hotel. We thank you for your kind comments and feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future, should you decide to return to Liverpool again we will offer you a great deal to welcome you back to the Sir Thomas Hotel.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,437 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 98 in Liverpool
1,623 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £45 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing