We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“city centre hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“city centre hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

although we come from Liverpool me and my friend decided to have a spa day out and we booked this hotel to make it a big deal and stay out all night and crash back at a hotel save going home.my friend booked this as it did have a good reputation but when we got to our room we were very disappointed.firstly we got a double room and we had asked for a twin room as we not in the habit of sleeping together on night out as we are two women.so we got moved to the correct room.we were still disappointed as the room was very basic and dated.we thought this hotel was supposed to be quite posh but obviously it was in its day.the price was farely reasonable for a Saturday night but we just wanted it to be nicer.the bar was ok and there is food available if you want it but we ate out.think it needs updating to get its reputation back as its in a good location as it looks good from the outside.staff were very friendly and helpful.suppose if you weren't that bothered about décor and you just needed a clean room and bed it might suit you.

Room Tip: back rooms would probably be quieter and you may like to view before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations of the Sir Thomas Hotel. I am please to inform you that now all of our rooms have now been lavishly refurbished. If you ever decide to stay at the Hotel again please contact us direct. We will make sure you are accommodated in one of our newly refurbished rooms and are given a preferential rate to make up for the issues you had whilst you last stayed with us.
Should you ever decide to take us up on the offer please contact the Hotel direct on 0151-236-1366 and ask to speak to the Management team.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    231
    175
    87
    90
See reviews for
110
359
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very noisy, but great location. Unfortunately the front desk staff on arrival let it down, was asked to pay £50 just in cases we trashed the room we was two middle aged women. Also breakfast wasn't very good food and staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. If you had reported any issues to the Reception or Management team we would have quite happily moved your room to a quieter part of the building.
As regards to the £50.00 Reception ask guests for on check in you have failed to mention that this is a security imprint on a credit card which expires after you leave. As your review suggests we keep this money which is certainly not the case. All guests are asked for a security imprint on a credit or debit card which is a standard Hotel policy at all Hotels. You also mention an issue with the breakfast and staff if you could contact the Hotel Manager on 0151-236-1366 I will be more than happy to discuss this with you further to see what the problem has been. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is a shambles. There is no Freeview TV, the BBC seemed stuck on London, and the ITV on Birmingham. The water for the shower/bath came out greeny/brown. No toiletries in the bathroom and it was not cleaned on the first day.

As a disabled couple we had taken great pains to check the access and facilities by phone and email and were assured we could be accommodated. This was scarcely true. The bathroom had a few grab rails and no other facility; the shower fitting was fixed too high and not movable; there were no lever taps on the sink. We could not shower for 3 days! The bedroom was small and cramped with outdated and inaccessible storage space.
The lift was tiny, and there was no access to the bar or restaurant (we were not told this in advance). We even had to go outside of reception to access the lift from another entrance. I am surprised Booking.com rated this as accessible. Sir Thomas should take off this detail and not pretend to have access for disabled people. I am relieved there was no fire alert!

Room Tip: For disabled travellers - you really have to check and check. We did this and it still went wrong. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a tribute night whih included a three course meal, soup steak and Eton mess were delicious and for 25 I can't complain. Staff were very friendly one thing I would mention is the stairs are quite far away and the drinks can be on the pricey side.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room we had was fine for overnight stay but for any longer no.
The room was tidy but no bin provided for rubbish you had to use the bathroom bin. no ventilation so I would think in summer it would be like an oven.
The tv reception was very poor and when you could watch it is was not tuned in to local news it was giving the local news for Birmingham.
The plus point was the breakfast great value for money and was cooked fine

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarniaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations of our Hotel. I have read your comments and understand in isolation why these issues have affected your stay with us. If the issues you had whilst you stayed would have been reported to the Reception or Management team we could have dealt with them in a more timely manner.
I have spoken to the Housekeeping team who had the bin replaced as soon as they were notified as this was an unfortunate oversight. As regards to the air conditioning, as the Sir Thomas is a listed building there are some constraints that prevent us from installing an effective system at present. We have since re-tuned the TV in the room which has now effectively fixed the issue you had whilst you stayed.
Please contact the Hotel direct on 0151-236-1366 should you ever decide to visit Liverpool again and we will offer you a preferential rate and a stay in one of our Superior rooms to make up for the issues you encountered on your last stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melling Liverpool
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Took my 15 year old daughter here on Saturday for Afternoon Tea, I did call beforehand to book and told them it was her birthday. On arrival we were shown to a lovely table, they call it a booth but it was just a high backed sofa against the wall, but it was a lovely table and they really made her feel welcome. The crockery was the most delicate china and the whole experience was exquisite. We did wait around 45 minutes for the food, but once we were seated the waiter took our drinks order and brought the tea and champagne straight away and said we could have as many refills as we liked so the wait did not bother us as the surroundings were so nice. When the food did arrive I must admit I was slightly concerned there was not enough, it looks quite small, two-tiered cake stands with four triangles of sandwiches and three tiny cakes, but then they brought one of these for each of us and there was plenty. The food was very obviously fresh hence the wait and the cakes were delicious. I would definitely recommend this and for the price it is equally as nice, perhaps even more so, than other places in Liverpool who charge double.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LedoMellingLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location was very central and the NCP car park discount was amazing. The hotel rooms had recently been refurbished. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. The full English breakfast was freshly cooked and the at the table service superb. It couldn't have been any better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank OF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Property: Sir Thomas Hotel
Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing