We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but could be so much better!”
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 3 July 2014

In chronological order: check-in - we were told where the room was but no further information about breakfast/services, booked a luxury double so was surprised we had tiny bathroom with small shower with fixed head - no shower caps provided so shorter people can't opt out of washing hair! Very disappointed to return to hotel at 10.45pm and bar closed - fortunately pub over road still serving and v friendly and cheap! Finally - breakfast was OK although ordering poached eggs instead of full English seemed to mean we got served long after others who came in after us! Main issue was the temperature in breakfast room - sweltering! They appear to be aware of this but don't do anything about it - wouldn't want to be there in the height of summer! It is a city centre hotel so traffic noise is ever present as are the screeching seagulls!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights , rooms a bit dated and basic but location was great ,right in the middle of things . Breakfast was lovely and very good value at 4 pounds . Staff were friendly and heplful , young man on reception (Tim) was so helpful ,we needed aboarding pass printed off at the end of our stay and nothing was to much trouble for him . Would return to stay in this hotel any time .

Room Tip: Request a room with black out blinds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraMunnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel staff were very friendly, rooms comfortable and clean, continental breakfast was lovely, but would only cost an extra £4, to have a full English, very good value, only down side, after a wonderful evening at the echo areana, we came back to the hotel just after 11, to have a final drink and a relax before going to your room, only to be told bar closed, even to residents, never had that in a hotel before, and to try Tesco up the road and take it back to your room, would have been nice to finish off the evening with glass of wine, dont think keeping the bar open till possibly 12, should be a problem in a hotel, few other guests also commented on this, would be nice after a show to relax before going up,

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66wY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the week in April. We had a first floor room and the traffic noise prevented me getting hardly any sleep.

The rooms are very dated, but the downstairs area is nice. Breakfast was okay, nothing special.

They also charged me an extra £60 retainer in case of damage... I've never had that at a hotel before but I found it odd.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tass1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirThomas, Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear about the issues you had on your recent stay with us. If you would have contacted the Reception team I am sure we could have moved your room to a quieter part of the Hotel.
As regards to the retainer you have mentioned in your review this is merely a security imprint on a credit or debit card which expires after you vacate the Hotel. This is Hotel policy and is standard practice in all Hotels across the country.
I am also pleased to inform you that all of our bedrooms have now been newly refurbished. Should you ever decide to visit Liverpool again in the near future please contact our Reservations team on 0151-236-1366 and I am sure we can offer you a preferential rate in one of our new bedrooms to make up for the issues you encountered on your last stay.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The person working at the reception was very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was confortable but the street was noisy all night. The breakfast was also very nice with a buffet for the continental breakfast and the possibility to order an English breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank F2198SNrobertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I hit the jackpot staying at the Sir Thomas. The offered a great deal online so I booked a room a month before arriving (requesting a quiet, refurbished room). When I arrived they upgraded me to a Jr. Suite on the top floor (3rd floor, Room 308). This room was very spacious with a king bed, 2 high back chairs, desk, and large TV. The bathroom was also large and had a tub. Staying at the Sir Thomas really made my first visit to Liverpool special. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. When I mentioned I wanted to take the Magical Mystery Beatles Tour the kind young lady at the desk offered to book the tour for me right then and there and gave me directions where to go. The full breakfast was outstanding and the dining room's ambiance is very elegant and classy. I had some nice chats about the Beatles with the gracious, friendly dining room hostess. When I asked her for some mint tea bags to make tea in the evening, she kindly gave me some. The hotel is within an easy walk to the Lime Street Train Station (approx. 10-15 minutes) and less than a 5-minute walk to the famous Beatles venue the Cavern Club on Mathew Street --- the perfect location for a Beatles fan like me. It was an easy 10 minute or so walk to catch the Mersey Ferry too. Also within easy walking distance is the Liverpool One shops. At night I did hear music coming from a club on the small side street but because I was on the top floor it didn't bother me. I was so lucky to have found this great hotel and would definitely stay there again. I work hard for my money and Sir Thomas made me feel like a queen.

Room Tip: Request a quiet, refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Where do I start with this place, I was staying here on the 23/05/14 as alternative from the Marriott where I traveled to for a wedding reception, I booked a suite for £120 thinking I was getting a smart room for £120 I paid? to my disgust it was very dated shabby looking and smelt of dampness, It only had a double bed not a king or queen to what suites are ment to have, But thought lets not make a fuss and leave as we were at reception at the Marriott all day so were ready to go out.
A know if my partner had of seen this it would of been a different story!
Then when we got into hotel late AM very intoxicated with drink, As we walked into are room I started walking on the floor and my socks became wet!!!!! Looked up to my horror the ceilings were soaked major leak from the outside down pour, I thought this is all a need marched down to reception and was told no problem we will get you another room, Only turned around and said all we have is a twin you will have to go in there haha what a joke of a hotel I paid £120 for a twin basic room and no compensation I wrote a complaint to this hotel to what I got no reply!!!!
If I give any advice to anybody at all Please Please stay away from here HORENDOUS!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calexander133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,437 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 98 in Liverpool
1,622 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £45 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing