We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel in an unattractive neighbourhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Throstles Nest Hotel
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tired hotel in an unattractive neighbourhood.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked on-line. Stayed Friday and Saturday night in a twin room with ensuite. Room and facilities were fine. Downstairs bar grubby. mostly male locals drinking beer from cans.
20 minutes walk from both Anfield and City Centre. No cafes, restaurants or decent bars nearby. Breakfast was included and better than I was expecting. Staff were few but helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo45, Owner at Throstles Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast.
Regarding the area, I think you were a bit unfair the way you descibed it and I will tell you why-
There is to be £150 million regeneration project starting in the next couple of months and there are huge 15 foot high posters informing people of this. We have mentioned this ourselves and also some of our guests have in their reviews.
Regardless of this, on every Saturday from 7am to 4.30pm just 60 yards from our hotel is Liverpools Biggest street market with 200 stalls and people come from all over the Northwest to enjoy it.
You can walk to the City centre in 12/15 minutes or catch a bus outside and alight at the SECOND stop in the CIty Centre . We can also arrange a taxi to centre for £3.30.
Here you will find hundreds ( yes hundreds) of bars and restaurants.
The bar is a typical local and does not pretend to be anything other than that and to call it GRUBBY is also a bit unfair as it has just been painted and reupholstered.
What people drink is their business and so long as they are nice and kind that's what really matters.
It may interest you to know that this pub raises and donates more money for Zoes Place (baby hospice) than any other pub on Merseyside.Diplomas and letters of thanks from the hospice are posted on the pub notice board for all to see.
We have 10 staff for 15 rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    149
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
71
100
43
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Kevin and his staff made us feel so welcome. They were happy to help with anything from recommendations for shopping, sport, tourist attractions, nightlife and even went over an above our expectations when they helped us out with our washing. Highly recommended!!!! Thank you again to the amazing staff at the Throstles Nest Hotel. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CandiceAndShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

stayed at the throstles nest with group of girls/women on hen party, when we first pulled up outside we were sceptical ,not the best area, but once inside the hotel has everything, and more ,than most hotels, Kevin and his staff are brilliant and very helpful, the hotel is spotless and the rooms are very comfortable with everything you need, breakfast is very good with a good varied choice, and the staff brilliant, as Kevin told us £3 to £4 in taxi five mins and youre either on the docks or in the centre. would def stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

What a great stay thank you to the lady that recommened the Throstles Nest to me, very welcoming comfortable rooms great breakfast an only a stones throw away from town. When ever am in town thats the place for me can't thank Karen,Kev and staff enough brilliant team.

Room Tip: Ring the Throstles Nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

In a great location if you are going to see a liverpool game but its a bit of a walk to the city centre! The rooms are a bit dated but are clean! The breakfast is great every morning and the staff couldn't be any more friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hihihhihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have stayed at Throstles Nest Hotel, several times when going to see a football match. Kevin always gives us a great welcome, catching up on news. The rooms are immaculate, and the breakfast is excellent, once again the staff are first class. We find the hotel very convenient, as half way between the ground and the city centre. Kevin is always there to help with any information you may need, a real smashing bloke. On our last visit we met Kevins wife, needless to say another very friendly welcome. To sum up, friendly, excellent and immaculate.
Paul & Judy Jackson

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauljudySkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived went straight in the pub cheap beer 10 Budweiser £20 ,Kevin explained to us where to go ( Matthew street ) , rooms clean breakfast in morning great with decent quality items , will book again , thanks Kevin a true gentleman

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanataluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
354 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#24 of 97 in Liverpool
482 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
582 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,379 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Throstles Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Throstles Nest Hotel

Property: Throstles Nest Hotel
Address: 344 Scotland Road, Liverpool L5 5AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Throstles Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Throstles Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Throstles Nest Liverpool
Hotel Throstles Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing