We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our trip - couldn't do enough for us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Throstles Nest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Throstles Nest Hotel
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Made our trip - couldn't do enough for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Took my two sons over from Ireland to see the Liverpool Tottenham game. This hotel was excellent value for money with the added personal touch. The rooms were spotless, the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us and told me all the right places to go to entertain myself and the boys - they helped us in every way they could and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was also excellent. Basically, when I go again, I will be booking in here. My Nephew stayed in a much more expensive and newer hotel and was not pleased at all. Have given this hotel's details to a few friends who would travel to Liverpool from time to time. Go raibh maith agat (thank you) from Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCY100Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    143
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
66
98
40
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Right bang inbetween the football stadium and the city centre. 15/20 min walk to a Anfield and 20 min walk into the city centre, perfect place to stay if you want to catch the game and then go out at night in the city centre. Very friendly staff only too happy to help and advise places to go.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edd_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, Scotland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

Enjoyable and welcoming people some staff not very fluent in English some times embarssng for them.
Service: Helpful and pleasant and tried to answer any needs.
Room :Adequate felt rather cramped with 3 beds
Location : Well located for access to city centre, local area in need of regeneration, no local ameneties worth talking about.
Best & Least Liverpool generally good breakfast , pub could do with makeover

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jd1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

wellll what can I say!!! hotel was funny!!!! ruff area canny take that away from it but hotel was clean, breakfasts amazing!! Staff Brilliant!!! Pub next door was SOOOO cheap and cheerful!! Full of old men and they were sweet!!!! miss them all!!!

think of your local pub iwht football games and old men!!!

Great place to stay for a base on a cheap hen weekend!!!

I loved it!!

Will go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTravellers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

The hotel was simple, but very clean and quiet. The best thing about the place was the staff: very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice as well and all in all, a very good experience. The hotel was close to the city centre and transit points.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler197205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We were in the Throstles Nest in the weekend the game Liverpool-Blackburn was played. The service of the staff was excellent. Kevin gave us some very good tips for
a nice stay at Liverpool. The hotel has got a perfect location to see a game of Liverpool FC. Only a 10\15 minute walk. When we come back to Liverpool, we will go to the Throstles Nest!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litmanenAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh/Dunfermline
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

We stayed at the Throstles for The Grand National weekend and had a brilliant time. When booking the hotel in the first instance, Kevin could not have been more helpful and answered all queries in a timely manner through e-mail and over the phone.

I have been reading some of the reviews before I completed mine and I have to say there is the occasional bad review but unfortunately for the Throstles it cant choose its location.....You are told "do not wander the streets" so why would you?? (Cowan...) Not sure if this is just me but I would rather the staff told you where and where not too go than try to say that you will be ok just to make themselves look better, so fair play to them....

The pub is quality for cheap drink and you get a good laugh with the regulars, rooms are ideal, location wise its perfect for getting to where you need to go but as I stated just dont wander about on your own. If you stick to that then you will be fine. We will def be staying again and I would recommend it.. The 8 of us had a brilliant weekend and much of that was down to having a good base at the Throstles. Staff are great and very helpful......Top Class. Just one other point the garage does know where the hotel is and my car was fine for £3 per night.

Kevin was brilliant throughout - from the initial booking, as stated above, right through to check out - he couldn't do enough for us so Thank you, all the lads had a brilliant time

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandLads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Royal Hotel
#41 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Throstles Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Throstles Nest Hotel

Property: Throstles Nest Hotel
Address: 344 Scotland Road, Liverpool L5 5AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Throstles Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Throstles Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Throstles Nest Liverpool
Hotel Throstles Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing