We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short City Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
24 Catharine Street Hotel
Ranked #61 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Small but very well presented 'Boutique' accommodation. Clean, modern and well presented facilities ideally located for the City Centre and Albert Docks. Stayed whilst visiting my son who is at Uni in the City.

Below the hotel is the Blackburne Pub and Eatery which has superb food and a good range of wines and beers. Dinner was excellent and breakfast the following morning which is included in the room rate was also excellent.

Well done to Joe and his team who could not do enough to make your stay a memorable one. We will certainly stay here again when visiting the city.

Jim
Birmingham.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

So here's the story. We visited the Blackburne Arms several years ago and wrote a horrified review, mentioning all sorts of problems including severe lack of cleanliness.

Three months ago, we received a very pleasant email from the (new) manager, inviting us to visit again and re-review, as the pub/hotel had been taken over, refurbished and new standards imposed. Wanting to reward initiative, we agreed to do so next time we were in the area. This happened last weekend.

We only popped in en route to stay in a different town, but were impressed. Tom, the new manager, greeted us warmly, showed us round the empty bedrooms (redecorated, scrupulously clean) and talked enthusiastically not only about the rewards of giving good service but also about the building, the history of the building; he is clearly proud to be bringing the Blackburne Arms into excellence.

We can't comment as quests as this time we didn't stay. But for initiative, enthusiasm and apparent ability to deliver the goods, we're now awarding four stars. Watch this space for a full re-review when we stay there, which we plan to do in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We did not stay this time, just looked round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

a great pub with food to match and the location was brill ,cant wait to return and a big thank you to all the staff as well who made us so wellcome ,the location was fantastic and the rooms spotless clean as was the pub,we will be back

Room Tip: all great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudaiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPW87, General Manager at 24 Catharine Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hi there.

Thanks for taking the time - really appreciate your kind words and we'll see you soon.
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I would just like to post my appreciation for the wonderful warm welcome we received yesterday at the Blackburne Arms Hotel. Even though it was Boxing Day everything went smoothly, the room was beautifully warm, perfectly clean and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. Short walk from the Philharmonic, easy to get a taxi to Liverpool One. Would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPW87, General Manager at 24 Catharine Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thanks for the review - it was a pleasure having you stay, see you the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlberTu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: aconsejo comer aqui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrosqu333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#59 of 98 in Liverpool
551 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#50 of 98 in Liverpool
276 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central
Travelodge Liverpool Central
#51 of 98 in Liverpool
441 reviews
hope street hotel
#14 of 98 in Liverpool
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 24 Catharine Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 24 Catharine Street Hotel

Address: 24 Catharine Street, Liverpool L8 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £47 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 24 Catharine Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Georgian Quarter of the City Centre this Boutique Hotel comprises of 7 rooms all with en-suite facilities. This is a No-Smoking outlet serving quality Gastro food in the bar with a selection of fine wines and cask ale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 24 Catharine Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackburne Arms Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing