We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
24 Catharine Street Hotel
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice little BB in Liverpool with very friendly service, always willing to go the extra mile to service you better.

Small rooms but very nice and clean, not in the center but a nice walking distance with a pub where local people come to have a meal or a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A warm friendly welcome, a great location, lovely room and a comfy bed. Evening meal in the Blackburne Eatery downstairs was delicious and a bargain deal included a bottle of wine with our meal Our host Tom made sure everything was to our satisfaction and the service was faultless.
We had a great time visiting several old style pubs in the vicinity and returned to the Blackburne to round the night off with some live music.
Breakfast in the Eatery was part of our package and that was brilliant - the specialist Blackburne sausages are divine, the full english was exquisite!
We will return and wholeheartedly recommend the rooms and the Pub& Eatery.

Room Tip: We were at the front but still had a peaceful nights sleep so not sure whether position of room woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SowySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

First, the history... we visited a year or so ago and were sorely disappointed. But, invited back by new management, we decided to risk a return visit. and this time we were extremely impressed.

All the problems of our first visit had been solved - and how. The rooms are now beautifully decorated and sparkling clean, breakfast delicious and served with a smile. The welcome when we arrived was wonderfully friendly, and it's clear that Tom and his staff are not only determined to turn the place around, but have already succeeded in spades.

And there was more. Tom asked us for feedback, which we gave - mostly 10/10 - but we mentioned a few additional points where he could add extra value (such as a welcome sheet with local numbers on.) Not only were our suggestions welcomed, but many were put in place within twenty four hours, and the welcome sheet - which needed writing, typesetting and printing - is now in place.

We are absolutely impressed and will be back! Thank you Tom!

s
x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my wife stopped at this hotel on the 5th April Grand National Day the service was excellent and the room and food was excellent value for money planning another trip to Grand National next year and would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here recently with our family and it was one bad thing after another, from cold showers, using the same towels for a few days, rooms not cleaned while we were there amongst other things never again would we stay here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I am often in Liverpool either on business or for pleasure and friends in the area recommended we come for dinner here. In London we are not short of great places to eat and stay but I was not disappointed at all by our experience of the Blackthorne!

After receiving a warm welcome we had a lovely meal. The range of food on the menu was varied and what we had was very tasty but well priced! We actually ended up staying in the hotel for a couple of nights....again the rooms were clean, comfortable, well priced and had everything we needed included!

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Blackthorne to others and I am looking forward to my next visit whether in the city on business or for pleasure! Well done to the team.

Mr Singh

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSinghJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London E7
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my second visit to 24 Catherine Street Hotel - best to draw a veil over my first as I rated it one of the worst hotel experiences of my life! HOWEVER, I am delighted to say that this was a million miles from my horrific 2008 stay; small but tastefully decorated rooms, new carpets, comfortable beds, relaxed attitude to breakfast times and checking out deadlines, hot shower and really attentive staff made my stay something special. I was in Liverpool, my home town, with a friend for the opening night of the newly re-built Everyman Theatre. It was a special occasion for us as we have been going to this theatre since the 1960's, attending first nights and last nights or almost all its incarnations (except its very first one as Hope Hall) and we wanted everything to be perfect. I am so pleased that the hotel did not disappoint in the least, and Tom and his staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. I shall definitely be re-visiting, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a reasonably priced hotel right in the heart of the Georgian Quarter, with good food (the breakfast was excellent by the way) just down below in the Blackburne Pub. Given that, there was very little noise outside overnight and I had an excellent night's sleep in the super-comfortable bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#50 of 97 in Liverpool
270 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#59 of 97 in Liverpool
1,106 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Podworks Hotel
#58 of 97 in Liverpool
350 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 24 Catharine Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 24 Catharine Street Hotel

Property: 24 Catharine Street Hotel
Address: 24 Catharine Street, Liverpool L8 7NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 24 Catharine Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Georgian Quarter of the City Centre this Boutique Hotel comprises of 7 rooms all with en-suite facilities. This is a No-Smoking outlet serving quality Gastro food in the bar with a selection of fine wines and cask ale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your 24 Catharine Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackburne Arms Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing