We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GeordieGirl76
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England

Hen Night

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2008
We stayed here as part of a hen night group. Had a lovely stay the room was gorgeous and the bathroom fabulous. Quite a walk into the city but only about a 10 mins walk along to the Albert Dock. Definately would recommend the hotel we had a great time and Liverpool is a good place for a party weekend!
Date of stay: July 2007
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£142
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£110
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
£153
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.9 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£110
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Pool
£61
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
6.3 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £147
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £144
  • Algotels
1.2 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Pullman
    £102
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Main entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £70
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £45
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Liverpool
Reviews (3,899)
Filter reviews
3,899 results
Traveller rating
1,978
1,095
475
228
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,978
1,095
475
228
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view huge bath walk in shower princes dock wet room car park next door lovely hotel mini bar liver building cooked breakfast standard room city centre reception staff a lovely stay comfy bed reception area afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,816 - 3,821 of 3,899 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2008

I will never stay here again. The hotel fuses the very worst aspects of 'minimalism' with tacky taste and false expectations of what travellers require:

You can't open the window in your room. I asked reception about this, apparently the council have stipulated that all buildings on the dockside development aren't allowed windows that open because of the
wind. I'm staying on the 2 floor. Recently I was in New York staying at Le Parker Meridien and could open my window on the 32nd floor. (Incidentally, before I came to Liverpool I had rung Malmaison central reservations who confirmed that all windows did open - this was not the case)

It is really dark. The corridors, the rooms, the bar. So much so that even on a beautiful day you feel trapped. My company put me up here for a week. Each day I really resented coming back to the hotel, rather than somewhere to unwind and refresh it is murky and depressing, air tight and anything but chic. It struggles so hard to be cool, but is embarrassingly tacky instead.

The much touted 'minimalist' approach also applies to the size of the bedroom windows, where the view for me was of a car park. I changed for a river view and was faced with the sodium lights of another office block, the river somewhere beyond...

It's located at the stark fringes of Liverpool in a faceless dockside
development, not the centre. There is absolutely no charm or interest about it whatsoever.

The Malmaison website advertises 'blisteringly fast wireless' This was never the case for the week I stayed. Pretty slow was my general experience.

Again, much touted DVD's for loan at the reception produced a folder of about 10 very average films. This didn't change for the week I stayed. One of the receptionists suggested they'd all been taken by guests, thanks for replacing them then.

The tv set was cheap and of poor quality (so what if it's flatscreen?) and the choice of channels very disappointing. Why don't UK hotels do Freeview as standard? That's the least we should expect nowadays.

The room is littered - literally - with cheap little signs telling what to do, what not to do e.g 'Stay off the Rails', for the hot towel rail, 'Feel Great Feel Free' inviting you to take the bathroom products which presumably you've paid for anyway. It is as if the management are unconfident about the minimalist concept and need to tart it all up a bit.

However, the bathroom showers are fabulous, staffing was faultless; charming, efficient and generous. As was the breakfast which is up there with the best I've had in any hotel round the world - fresh, delicious, well cooked and plentiful.

This could be somewhere ok to stay, but only if it literally 'lightens up' ie has a complete interior design overhall, and replaces the windows with ones that open.

But until that happens I will certainly not be staying here again.
Infact I would do anything to avoid it.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuvee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2008

The Malmaison in Liverpool is the latest for the boutique chain and the only purpose-built hotel. It is a bit out of the way, although right on the Mersey, and doesn't have much in the way of development - apart from flats and offices - around it, so taxis are needed to get into town. That said, it costs less than a fiver to reach most of Liverpool's fantastic venues, so don't let it put you off.

The rooms are very nicely done out in white, plum and black and the bed was quite possibly the most comfortable I've slept in in a hotel. The bathroom was also very chic, with slate tiles around the monsoon shower and the loo and white tiles in the area with the bath and basin. The bath looks good, in that it's deep and wide, but it's almost impossible to lie down in, which means it's not particularly comfortable, which is a shame.

One criticism - which is not unique to the Malmaison in Liverpool - is the lighting. Dark colours for the furnishings and small lamps dotted about may make for a sultry look, but makes it almost impossible to do your make-up properly. Also, the lack of plug points near mirrors makes it fairly tricky to dry your hair too. Hotel designers please take note - women stay in hotels!!!

The brasserie is well worth a visit, with a great menu and substantial wine list.

All in all, definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: January 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Stayed on a friday evening just before Christmas. Reception very atmospheric in the evening with loads of candles and welcoming real flame fire. Very helpful reception staff.

Rooms modern and very well appointed. Comfortable king sized bed. Lots of nice touches and in addition to usual satellite TV there is a DVD and CD player.

Large bathroom with rain shower. Very impressive. Good quality toiletries which they encourage you to take away. Had a set meal in the hotel as part of a party which was fine. Must be one of the best hotels in the city and they seem to have regular offers that makes it remarkable value if you get one.

Date of stay: December 2007
1  Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2008

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay at the Malmaison. The rooms were large and comfortable, modern in design, with all the aspects you would expect in a 4* City Centre Hotel. Bathrooms are also spacious and well appointed. We had to opt for room service as the Brasserie was fully booked but the waiter who attended to us was polite and prompt and the food very good indeed. Breakfast is an extra cost but there is a good selection for both Continental and English. My only slight complaint was that on our visit the service in the restaurant was very slow, and it was hardly full, when we ate there. All in all, it is easy to recommend this hotel and there is also the benefit of secure parking next door at a cost of £15 per day.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rogern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2007

For the City of Culture 2008 - a bit dissapointing. After travelling the through South Wales, Gloucester and Chester, It took 1hr 30mins to work our way into the city from the M6. Confusing roads, stolen signs, absent signs at major points. However when you worked your way to the waterside hotels the well trained concierge was excellent. Rooms average size but great bathrooms and classy decor. Dinner at the restaurant was great, good well prepared food - Fantastic Wine list and waiters!! And great Cheeseboard.

Above average hotel in a city that is trying hard. The place to stay for a deserved rest

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RafikiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews