We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
apilling
leeds

Fantastic Hotel!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2008
Fantastic hotel. Visually very chique and modern with a vintage classic touch.

Rooms ,very modern, clean excellent quality.
Date of stay: April 2008
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£142
  • Expedia.com
    £142
  • travelup.com
    £102
  • Hotels.com
    £142
0.1 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£109
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £109
  • Skyscanner.com
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £109
0.8 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Exterior
£62
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
£181
  • Expedia.com
    £154
  • Hotels.com
    £150
  • Vio.com
    £163
0.9 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£102
  • Booking.com
    £102
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Priceline
    £102
0.9 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£149
  • Expedia.com
    £149
  • Skyscanner.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
    £149
1.2 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£110
  • Hotels.com
    £110
  • travelup.com
    £108
  • Expedia.com
    £110
0.1 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Pool
Main entrance
£80
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • ZenHotels.com
    £70
  • Hotels.com
    £80
0.3 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
£66
  • Expedia.com
    £62
  • Hotels.com
    £54
  • Priceline
    £59
6.3 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £48
  • ZenHotels.com
    £45
  • Expedia.com
    £48
0.8 miles from Malmaison Liverpool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Liverpool
Reviews (3,899)
Filter reviews
3,899 results
Traveller rating
1,978
1,095
475
228
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,978
1,095
475
228
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view huge bath walk in shower princes dock wet room car park next door lovely hotel mini bar liver building cooked breakfast standard room city centre reception staff a lovely stay comfy bed reception area afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,798 - 3,803 of 3,899 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We had booked a long way in advance with this hotel on their website, payed over £100 for one night and were given a room with no view overlooking the bins and main road. We were told there were no more rooms available.
I believe it tries too hard to be cool and fails, and sometimes this attempt just gets in the way. The rooms look good and modern but are very dark, the bar looks visually impressive but is overpriced and not very comfortable and everything in the room has a price on it, whatever you set your eyes on. The bed was also the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in.
On the plus side it is a good location within walking distance of the centre with a free car park and you get a nice breakfast

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EandHEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Stayed here for one night with a friend as we were over for a match. Hotel is in a good location down by the docks, about 10 mins walk into city centre. Quick check in with very friendly staff. Room was small, and their idea of twin beds seemed to be two singles pushed together – a bit close for us!! – but there was enough space to create a bit of a gap by moving some items. Didn’t eat at all in the hotel or use the gym. Had a couple of drinks at the bar which was nice enough.

All in all perfect for one night – and decent value - but if you were staying for a few days you would almost certainly want to upgrade to a bigger room.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rohickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We stayed at the Malmaison in Liverpool for one night in March. The hotel is on the waterfront a stone's throw from the Pier Head and had booked a river view room. The window is very small and the river view is rather restricted not least because of building work going on right in front of the hotel. The lobby, bar and bistro are all in very chic modern design, with comfy sofas and chairs.
Breakfast was fine, although the service could have been a little slicker, many tables were left uncleared.
The room is also very stylish, especially the bathroom. There is a flat screen TV and comfortable bed with cushions. However, the toilet would not flush properly and when I told the front desk inthe morning they told me that they knew about it already. It would have been nice if they had told us and moved us to another room instead. As we were only there a very short time it did not matter.
Another quibble is that for the price you pay (designer chic comes at a price) I would have expected a bathrobe.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2008

This is a modern, stylish, rather quirky hotel. Very comfortable but I would agree with other reviewers that it is rather dark , especially in the public areas downstairs.

My room was large and comfortable, although all the black and grey decor made it a little depressing and the view from the window was of a multi-storey car park. The bathroom was very good, everything clean and tidy with a nice range of toiletries. Deep bath and fantastic shower!

Breakfast was fairly standard and the buffet did not offer as much variety as most large hotels. Dinner however was excellent with original thoughtfully prepared dishes. The view from the brasserie windows was a bit bleak - lots of concrete!

I found the staff very friendly. Overall I'd rate this a good hotel for a short break; the only real let-down is the location, sandwiched in between a busy main road and characterless developments in the docks area.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gproyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We stayed at this hotel Feb 16th for one night - everything about the hotel was great. The rooms were lovely, the service was friendly and the breakfast was really tasty. We had a good deal £139 including breakfast, beatles tour and anfield tour - however there was no mention of the tours when we got there. This didn't bother us as we got the room cheaper than last time and this time we had breakfast!
I am looking forward to heading back to liverpool and stopping at the Malmaison again.

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank member101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews