We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Liverpool
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$166
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,935)
Filter reviews
2,935 results
Traveller rating
1,398
888
390
174
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,398
888
390
174
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewhuge bathwalk in showerprinces dockwet roommini barcar park next doorlovely hotelliver buildingstandard roomcooked breakfastcity centremulti storeyreception staffcouldn't faultcomfy bedfollowing morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,991 - 1,996 of 2,935 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Huge spacious apartments, with a lovely living space, Modern in decoration, blacks and white chrome and glass. Bathroom beautiful with a lovely power shower all mod cons. Huge comfy bed. With a balcony with stunning views of the docks. Perfect for a short stay and close to the city center. Staff were lovely and welcoming.

Room Tip: Apartments are perfect
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharmin_Haque86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Sharmin_Haque86, Thank you for such lovely feedback. Unfortunately, we cannot take a credit for it as the apartments above the hotel belong to L3 Living. All the comments will be passed on to them. We hope we will get an opportunity to welcome you to Malmaison Liverpool in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for ten days over the Christmas period, it was 10/10, from the reception staff, bar staff, breakfast staff, cleaners, maintenance and manager, can not fault the professional, charming and helpful way in which were treated, in a word FAULTLESS. The rooms are large and climate controlled to suit your needs, large flat screen HD TV, with amazing bed and linens, outstanding bathrooms, even the hair dryer is of a high standard. We stay in Liverpool about 3/4 times a year and have tried other hotels but this is by far the very best. We have never had such good breakfasts anywhere and served by extremely charming waiting staff. Can not wait for our next visit, well done everyone at the Mal and thank you for a wonderful Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieCriticLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Mr & Mrs Cole, we are extremely thrilled we have made your Christmas so memorable & special. The whole team works incredibly hard, so thank you for recognizing their professionalism and charm. We enjoyed looking after you and the family. Your faultless feedback throughout your stay made us extremely proud at what we do and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon, if not – next Christmas. We hope you are enjoying the Spanish weather right now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Everything about the mal in liverpool was spot on when we stayed the one night recently.
Lovely decor throughout and classy service to match.
One downside..... The open plan wet room? Let's be honest this is hotel speak for 'disabled bog'.
I paid A little extra to have a river view and also got a plastic seat in the shower and a load of extra handles everywhere. Could have lived without it.
Note to self... If arriving late in the dark and leaving early morning.... Don't bother with a river view ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Chris, Thank you for you taking your time to write a review of our hotel, we hope you enjoyed the hotel and our "classy" service to match. We are sorry for assigning an accessiable wet room when you arrived, we do have a couple of these rooms throughout the hotel varying from standard to river view. When you do visit the hotel again please let us know and we will allocate a different room on arrival. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Visited recently and had a lovely stay with superb mini-bar and snacks available, meal and staff where very helpful considering it was so busy. would definitely return even though there was a slightly long wait for dinner and colleagues beef on the bone was a small portion and full of fat (sent back and discounted). Parking is £10 per night available opposite, you can't miss it, although road in is a little confusing at night time. views for breakfast is dock side with plenty of fresh fruit or cooked breakfast for those that feel like it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Lynsey, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are extremely sorry for a long wait in the brasserie and we are so delighted to hear you will come back again. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Typical Mal decor - dark - and style. I don't mind it but others in my party thought it was a bit gloomy.

Plus points - check in was very quick, the service in the bar was fine and at breakfast was OK if a bit slow. the room was spotless, large and had a wonderful rain shower (the best bit of the room). The bed was hard, too hard for me, and the room was warm. I didn't sleep well but I would not attribute that to the hotel but to me, it was quiet. Breakfast (see below as well) was really good and generous.

Development points - Please put some ordinary instant coffee sachets in the room. The hideous over complex coffee bag provided was not what I wanted early in the morning and produced the worst cup of coffee I have had in years. The kettle had to be forced down to work and the one easy access socket would not accept the bed side light plug - which you needed because of the prevailing gloom. Breakfast - the waffle machine was broken. Tea came in a coffee can and coffee took ages to arrive.

Location - on the Merseyside, Princes Dock. A little out of the city centre (only 10 mins stroll mind you) shops and food options, nice views one way but not if your room looks away from the river.

In summary, I would stay again as it was good value but there are other better equivalent choices in the city and whilst I like the chain I wouldn't say it was the best choice. That said you can also pick a couple of other 4* hotels in Liverpool and come off much worse.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texel1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews