We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resembled a funeral parlour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The reception was dark & subdued although the staff were very helpful & pleasant, The corridors are dark purple with low lighting everywhere. the rooms are either black & purple or black & grey. The lighting is dismal & the toilet is a black tiled corridor with a shower at the other end. The whole ordeal frightened the living daylights out of me & I found the whole hotel creepy & macabre. The food is very expensive (£16 for a burger) & service was very slow even though the restaurant wasn't busy. I couldn't wait to book out the next morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JApp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear JApp2014, thank you for your review following your recent stay with Malmaison Liverpool. We are disappointed to read about your thoughts on our interior design and décor of the hotel – your feedback will be passed on. We are aware that our dark theme and deem lighting are not to everybody's taste and we are extremely sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 2,871 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel has great location for shopping or cultural visits.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bathroom has wet room which is great. Room is well equipped and furnished.
Food good if a little pricey.
Breakfast is self service and with plenty of choice.
Car park is just next door to the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank welton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Walton, Thank you for your great 5 star feedback. We are delighted you were happy with the hotel and car park location, which as you say is just next door and we are glad you were impressed with a high stanadrd of our rooms and bathrooms too. We will hopefully be welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our team use Malmaison hotels wherever possible because of the high standard of the accommodation, the value for money and the excellent staff that go out of their way to accommodate us - we would like to say a special thank you to Sharon at the Liverpool Malmaison who really went over and above for us during our last stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Christina, Thank you for your excellent feedback about our hotel and a very high recommendation. We are so pleased to hear that you and your whole team have chosen Malmaison Liverpool. We strive to deliver a high standard of service, cleanliness, the best value for money and we are so delighted that all of these aspects have been recognized. Our staff, particularly Sharon is thrilled at the comments. Look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great all round. A great room that was modern, clean and very comfortable. Sky sports in your room is an amazing way to get ready for me:-)
Great bar with a great atmosphere Superb staff! will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Steve, Thank you for the excellent 5 star review. We are thrilled that you have had a very nice stay at Malmaison Liverpool. We are glad you loved the room, the atmosphere and our great team you have encountered during your visit. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here recently on a trip from America. The room was great, comfortable bed and excellent facilities in the room, just what we needed after a long flight and train journey!! The meal we ate was delicious with very creative presentation with the chicken lollypops! We will certainly be back to the Malmaison Liverpool when we return to the United Kingdom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliT602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear AliT602014, Thank you for a lovely post. We are thrilled that you found our room comfortable with excellent facilities. The chicken lollypops were a really good choice – we think they are delicious too!! We hope your trip back to the UK and Malmaison Liverpool will happen sooner than later, so keep an eye on our upcoming packages. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Comfortable, large rooms. Bathroom suite very modern and spacious. Everything was clean
Reception areas of the hotel very overwhelming but this is the hotel decor style.
The hotel entrance is located at the seafront side rather than the street side, which makes it difficult to access by foot, as you have to walk all the way around and find a small entrance (night time it is locked)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear evmf, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that the cleanliness of the hotel has been recognized. Unfortunately, the entrance at the back is not managed by the hotel, and we cannot change the time of when it gets locked up at night. We hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back at Malmaison Liverpool in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a nice 2 night weekend break with my lovely wife at the Mal Liverpool. First night was a dinner deal and very good value, 2nd night was expensive for room only but overall happy with value for money for the weekend. We enjoyed a tasty meal in the Mal Resturuant on the first night. Room had everything we needed. Position of the hotel on the waterfront is great, close to albert dock, museums, Liverpool 1 shopping centre etc. Staff are lovely, particularly the reception staff, who were very friendly and professional & dealt with a little issue we had swiftly and to our entire satisfaction. We look forward to a return visit, baby sitter permitting lol !

Room Tip: look out for the special offers, dinner, bottle of wine and a double room for £99, excellent value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190736Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear 190736Mark, Thank you for such a positive feedback. We are thrilled that you and your wife had a very enjoyable weekend away at our hotel, and got the chance to indulge in some of the delicious food in the Brasserie. The whole team, particularly the reception staff is so thrilled at your comments and it was such a pleasure for them to deal with any issues you had. We hope you can come and visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hard Days Night Hotel
#29 of 100 in Liverpool
3,342 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#14 of 100 in Liverpool
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#18 of 100 in Liverpool
1,262 reviews
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Address: 7 William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £67 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing