We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth booking a room just to use the wonderful shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Great hotel , great room , great staff, and wonderful 'wet room' shower, trying to find something negative to say but can't find anything which is very unusual for me , the massive bar of Cadburys fruit and nut in the room just about clinched it , if you get the hotel to book a table in the execelent Olive Press restaurant in castle street you get a free drink

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
Thank mick48dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,627 - 2,633 of 2,852 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

this is the 2nd time ive stayed at malmaison, 1st time in a normal twin room and this time in a superior room for partners suprise birthday.
yes the building is getting facia work to it but it doesnt in any way distract from the hotel inside and the noise isnt too bad, we heard noise at around 9.30am but we understand work men cant do work silently..we are realistic.
we checked in around 11.30am and they took our bags for us and we got a car park ticket for next door, £15 for 24 hours which is fine for us. our rooms werent ready but she did check, which was fine, and we went off for the day. when we arrived back at 4pm the room was ready and they had taken our bags and suit coat/carriers up to the room for when we arrived and placed items in wardrobe.
superior rooms are bigger than normal with bigger beds and bigger toiletries. i was abit disappointed to see that bath robes are in all rooms and not just superior, i think they could add a few more different items or luxuries in to make the superior rooms that more 'superior' however we did have a great view of the city and liver birds which was beautifull. our room was lovely and spotless, bed was huge (not 2 twins put together, it was massive). we asked for ice and an ice bucket and it came up to the room in less than 5 mins. front desk were really helpfull but there is one woman with blonde hair working the mornings who looks utterly miserable and has abit of an attitude on her, this was both morning so it wasnt just a one off, she look hacked off to be there.
the hotel is beautifull, dark, and sultry and is very luxurious. its one of my fave hotels as its not just a basic hotel room in a normal hotel, its different and plush.
checking in and out was no problem and quite quick.
definately recommend :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktapp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Got a very good deal for bed and evening meal but I could see why because the hotel was covered in scaffolding! Reception was decidedly offhand and unfriendly, with no reference as to my having booked dinner or enquiry as to when I would like to eat. Staff in the restaurant were casual but attentive and the food was very good - even though it was a Monday it was busy, mainly with non residents which indicates a good reputation. Bedroom was comfortable with a very modern bathroom, including wet room shower and jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was excellent, albeit a bit of a shock when I realised it wasn't included in the room rate. Cleanliness - room was fine but felt that the public areas needed some attention -its all wierdly dark and purple but still dusty!

In terms of location -it is right next door to the Crowne Plaza (which I would prefer to stay in if the price was right). It is about 10 mins max. from the Albert Dock and the new shopping complex. However for the shops - hotels there or in the Albert Dock might be better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice. The first stay was fantastic and couldn't fault. We were given two free cocktails as it was our anniversary! The room was lovely and spacious with great facilities and a very large bath. The second stay was a little disapointing as we thought we booked a nicer room than the last (as it said on the website) but found it was smaller and had no good view. The staff did not seem as friendly either. Our next anniversary we may consider staying somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Perfect location and hotel layout very thoughtful. Let down by poor trained staff in the restuarant that didnt know their product and reception staff that could be more pleasant (always busy and not enough staff in duty at check out times). Rooms excellent - very well soundproofed and layout idea - compact but had everything one needed. Bathrooms superb but prouducts not replaced during our 3 night stay (despit requests at reception).
Unless service improves will go back to the Marriott who seem to deliver a better class service for a similar rated property.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I can wholeheartedly recommend the Malmaison Hotel, Liverpool. My wife and I stayed from 9th-11th July and I could not fault the friendly, helpful staff , whether it be in the reception, restaurant, bar etc. Nothing was too much trouble for them, the bar manager even went outside with me to point out the location of our first evening meal. It was a pleasant surprise that they were all local people, a real credit to Liverpool and as someone who travels and regularly stays in 4-5 star hotels around the world, these were by far and away the best I have ever experienced in the UK and on a par with the most helpful anywhere. The whole experience was very pleasant with a nice modern atmosphere and good food when we used the hotel restaurant. I have recommended that several friends find the time to try this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Andrew_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Like all Malmaison this hotel has great touches.....my wife forgot straightners .....no stress available at reception. Fantastically spacious Mersey view room. Excellent deep circular bath....as always contemporary and classic mixed effortlessly throughout.

Liverpool itself was excellent in the sunshine a few reccomendations San Carlos excellent Italian restaurant, Palm Sugar great bar with outside terrace and Mattou riverside bar a few mins walk away with excellent river views.

A few people had commented on expensive parking....the hotel offer parking next door at £15 night however we parked over the road at the capital car park and 2 nights only cost £15 secure well lit and only a few mins walk.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hard Days Night Hotel
#29 of 99 in Liverpool
3,293 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#14 of 99 in Liverpool
2,559 reviews
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Address: 7 William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £63 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing