We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£73
Priceline
£79
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
£72
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,862)
Filter reviews
3,862 results
Traveller rating
1,948
1,093
473
227
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,948
1,093
473
227
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view huge bath walk in shower princes dock wet room car park next door lovely hotel mini bar liver building cooked breakfast standard room city centre reception staff a lovely stay comfy bed reception area afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 3,862 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Check in was 40 minutes late. When finally in room room was like it was in the middle of a construction site with constant drilling works in adjacent rooms. Bar area was shut due to a wedding with no notification to us. Lobby area used as a bar area but staff were really slow on service.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashleywellings2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meggan Shearsmith, General Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for your review.I understand that you had a short wait to check in to your room due to the number of guests all arriving at the same time. As discussed with the Reception team and the Manager on Duty, unfortunately the noise heard wasn't within the hotel itself and the team offered to move your rooms to ensure you could be comfortable which was declined. I am sorry the bar was temporarily in the Lobby due to a wedding taking place, the area was available a short time later for all our guests to enjoy.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed overnight on the “date night package” This was £149 for RDBB and a bottle of fizz.

The staff are friendly, the food was nice and overall we had a lovely stay.

However, parts of the hotel are in dire need of a refurb. The room had furniture which had seen better days. I was more concerned that general cleaning around the main bar and outside seating wasn’t great. Despite plenty of staff on,glasses and bottles just seemed to pile up. Not good at any time,but especially now given the health situation.

A lick of paint, new furniture in places and more attention to cleaning would help this place out a lot. Was it worth the deal? I suppose so, but would I pay full room rate,absolutely not!

Wouldn’t rush back here to be honest as there are better places to stay.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank spongebob2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meggan Shearsmith, General Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback, glad to hear overall you enjoyed your time with us.
I am sorry you were concerned with cleanliness, please be assured our team are doing their best to keep on top of this and understand how important this is in the current times.
Apologies you felt the hotel is in need of a refurbish, unfortunately due to COVID19 planned works and refurbishments have all been postponed and the maintenance team are doing their best to ensure the hotel looks as best as it can.
Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2021

Visited Malmaison Liverpool for a night and was very happy with everything! The room was immaculate and spacious, the staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially the lovely receptionist! Will 100% be visiting again!!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank fayejones99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meggan Shearsmith, General Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Lovely review, thank you. Cant wait to welcome you back on your next visit!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed here to meet friends for a birthday, we arrived at 4 pm and was told our room wasn’t not ready, we left our luggage and wondered to the shops to pick up a few bit but by 5 pm our room still was not ready! We were advised 3pm is not a guarantee and they don’t actually guarantee a time! Given that we had a reservation for dinner we were ready to take a refund and book somewhere else however, thanks to heather and Jordan it was resolved and we had a lovely stay! Thanks both for your help.
The hotel is lovely and the room was immaculate with a view to the water and the cruise ships we have stayed here before and would definitely come back.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SamC911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meggan Shearsmith, General Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback, i am sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready for check in or on return later in the day. Please be assured this isn't our usual standard and this has been addressed with our HSK team. Great to hear the team were able to resolve this for you and you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
We will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

We arrived at the Malmaison hotel in Princes dock, Liverpool for a nights rest before our Cruise. On arrival we found that there was nowhere to park and unload the bags even though its a relatively new build in the docks.. There were two laybys nearby with notices threatening £100 fine for parking there. The friendly but understaffed reception told us to park there anyway and as soon as we were unloaded I moved the car into the multi story car park

In the hotel, there were no porters to help with our (extensive) Cruise baggage and reception told me they did not have a trolley, so we struggled to our rooms with it all. The young lady on reception offered to help but as she was on her own we declined her kind offer.

We were then greeted by a very hot room - the A/C had failed in our Club Deluxe room and they could not fix it so they downgraded us to a room with A/C on a lower floor. We had requested adjoining rooms or two close together but we were told there were no adjoining rooms in our room category. But clearly the door in the room indicated otherwise.

In the new room which turned out to be a downgrade without the view of the Mersey and docks we had paid for, the safe was broken and the towel rail did not work, so at 17.05 I called and asked to speak to the duty manager - only to be told they had gone home for the day and the maintenance team had also gone home so nothing could be done. I reported the faults three times but they were still apparent when we left. As we were then in a club room we were offered robes but sadly as I pointed out to the Duty Manager the following day, the robes had seen better days and were not fit for purpose. (See Photo)

Also the bathroom did not have the basics such as a toilet brush. Worth noting that not everyone will enjoy a rain shower in a wet room adjacent to the toilet.

As a matter of interest, reception later told us that all the towel rails were switched off for the summer, but this was puzzling as the towel rail worked in the other room.

The rooms were dingy with poor lighting and I was unable to read using the very low light given off by the bed side light.

On a brighter note the bed was very comfortable, just a pity that a good nights sleep was spoilt by being served burnt toast for breakfast. (See photo)

I am sure there are good hotels in Liverpool but in my opinion, the Malmaison seems to be in need of some attentive management and some diligent maintenance. Pity as the staff members (no name badges) we met were all charming and as helpful as they could be - just a pity they needed to apologise for so many things that could have been right had the poor level of quality control not let them down.

Room tip: Don't unpack until you have checked the air-conditioning because the windows do not open
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meggan Shearsmith, General Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The team are doing their best to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay under the current challenges of the pandemic, however, some of the smaller touches they were able to do previously are now not possible. I appreciate your stay wasn't perfect and your feedback has been taken on board and will be addressed. I do hope that we will welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews