We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel...excellent position for Liverpool 1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #50 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel...excellent position for Liverpool 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

As frequent visitors to liverpool we often stay at another hotel which was busy this w/e. We booked castle St 16th April and were not dissapointed. Stayed in a "double wet room", I think it was called this. Very large room, comfy bed, couple of steps down to great seating area with large flat screen tv, sound system etc. Great views over the courts square. No problems with noise in the hotel...very quiet, some street noise but you are in the middle of a city! Well designed room, contemporary with subtle lighting, bit dark in places...near tea/coffee tray, but this was not a major problem. However the tray had a great selection of coffee/tea and lovely biscuits. Bottled water and mints as little extra's...nice touch. Massive full length mirror. Bathroom lovely ...large, and in contrast nice and light...just what you need in the bathroom. Gorgeous Elemis products, lots of fluffy towels, bathrobes. High standard of cleanliness.
Reception staff all very nice, and we saw about 3...all pleasant and helpful especially when we requested another night stay in the same room...very accommodating. Didn't eat breakfast due to being late risers but went in the bar at night for drinks...beautiful bar area, nice cocktails. Would definately stay here again...very reasonably priced room, can't remember exactly but less than £130 for 1 night, which for the room we had, was very good. No problems whatsoever with our stay...I guess it all depends what you are looking for, some people get niggled by very minor, aesthetics, but we cannot fault this lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    230
    103
    36
    34
See reviews for
43
480
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Lovely hotel, amazing cocktails and fantastic location.

Room was lovely - couple of grips;
- light on air conditioning was ridiculously bright and we had to turn off aircon in order to sleep!
- windows could do with being double glazed and although curtains where thick they didn't quite meet in one place and let in loads of light in the morning
- the shower head is brilliant - if you are under 5ft 5!!!!

We got a really good deal - however if we'd been paying the £240 rack rate - I wouldn't be so impressed!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

we were very very impressed with this hotel the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was fab - immaculately clean and the little touches were very much appreciated i.e. little bottles of water and lovely filter coffee. Bed and pillows were lovely, very luxurious. we cant comment on the food as we didnt have anything there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBAnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
62CastleStManager, Rooms Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review 62 Castle st.
It is pleasing to hear the "little things" and the cleanliness of the hotel added to the enjoyment of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We had a "grily" weekend of shopping, eating and drinking and could not have picked a better hotel, 52 was so handy for everything, shopping, sightseeing, bars and restaurants. The room was fabulous - bed was so comfy, the bathroom was lovely and everything was comfortable, stylish, smart and clean. A special mention for the receptionist we met most often, Jess. She could not have been more helpful - I'm sure we nearly drove her mad! She was an absolute treasure. Go there - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
62CastleStManager, Rooms Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Thank you for your generous feedback regarding 62 Castle st. It is always encouraging to learn of your positive and memorable experience. Jess and I look forward to welcoming you back to "62" on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed on Thursday and Friday night this week. We arrived at about 9.30pm on Thursday and were greeted by Ken the evening receptionist. What a great start! Ken is fantastic person to have on the front desk - he is genial, thoughtful, knowledgable about Liverpool and always tries to do the best for the customer. Why can't everyone who works at a hotel be like that? Ken booked us dinner at a top local restaurant, found us some bottled water when the hotel store had run out, and supplied a map which he had annotated with all the good local attractions. Brilliant. As we were going to visit Anfield the next day, he even called up to our room to tell us about a pub near the ground where you could see years of football memorabilia adorning the walls - perfect for an LFC fan! Thanks Ken.

The room, 201, was lovely, very spacious, high ceilings (old bank building) with a very comfortable bed and stylish bathroom. Probably needed a bit more lighting over near the lounge area but this was not a problem for us. One slight downside though was that the room looks out over Castle Street which can seemingly get a bit noisy late at night. Our first night's sleep was therefore a bit fitful.

I mentioned the noise in the morning to the daytime receptionist, Jess. Now, some of you may have read previous reviews on here, as I did, where people mentioned the demeanour of Jess. I can absolutely agree 100% with those reviews. Jess could not have been less bothered with our predicament - she was even defensive, suggesting I should not expect silence from a room in a city centre hotel. I explained that I would not expect deafening noise either, and Jess tried to find us another room, whilst scowling and obviously annoyed that my query had stopped her getting on with her work. Jess eventually found us a room but the stipulation was that we move all our belongings immediately. Unfortunately we had to leave for Anfield that very moment, so did not have time to pack up. So we had to keep our room. I can't help thinking that another hotel, or perhaps another receptionist (Ken, for example) would have offered to move our stuff for us during the day. Bit of a shame. It is so important to have people on the front desk who smile, who take an interest, who ask you how your stay is going....especially if you have raised a query already. Jess is unfortunately, from our experience anyway, not the sort of person who can do this, and this lets the hotel down. Earlier reviews on here have highlighted this too. I suggest the mgmt take a look at this before it's too late. The solution (Ken) is right under their noses anyway.

I would like to say that we would definitely go back to 62 Castle Street. The location is great, the hotel itself (a Mr and Mrs Smith Hotel) is stylish, with a great bar and a good restaurant menu. So, with a couple of tweaks, it could be very good indeed. If you are a light sleeper, opt for a room at the back of the hotel. And finally, make sure you meet Ken. He is a real asset to the hotel, and will always try to help you with any of your requests.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PistolPete2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
62CastleStManager, Room Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is through constructive feedback we are able to continuously improve.
It was also nice to read your kind comments regarding Ken. Ken would like to pass on his thanks along with mine. We look forward to welcoming you back to 62 Castle St in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. Being a frequent business traveller to Liverpool I can say that this is the most disappointing place I have stayed. It has failed to deliver every time. The only plus is its location is close to James St station.
While the hotel strives to be boutique and exclusive, with elegant fixtures and fittings, I have the following gripes:

The hotel is full of stairs - only a few at a time, but a pain with luggage. The reception desk is too large - the receptionist always invites me to sit down opposite but then the distance between the guest and the receptionist is too far apart to be pratical for completing transactions. The food in the restaurant looks good, but cheap ingredients are used (tinned salmon, cheap, low quiality sausages). The shower head is too low if you are more than 5'4" tall and one always gets a wet arm turning it on. The air con and radiators rarely work and if they do are hard to control. The light from the air con can't be switched off and is so bright it can be used to see by at night - not conducive to sleep. The breakfast room seems always to be freezing. The television is awkward for watching from any place in the room, unless you like to watch standing. I've never managed to get the internet to work - even following the receptionists directions to 'just plug it into the wall' didn't work.

The price is ok, but I have stayed in much better in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
62CastleStManager, Room Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We often receive positive
feedback regarding our stairs which are classed as a feature. However it is also possible to access all floors with our lift. We do take all constructive comments seriously
and we are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at 62 Castle Street in February 2010 for a 2 night city break. After reading some of the reviews submitted by other tripadvisor members I've got to admit that I was slightly worried that the hotel may not live up to my original expectations. I was relieved as soon as we arrived as the hotel looked very impressive from the outside and although the reception wasn't your usual prominent high-desk layout, the welcome was very attractive. I suppose being a boutique hotel you should expect things to be more original! After checking in, we took the lift up to our room (Master suite, room 202). I'd specifically asked for a second floor room as previous reviews had specified that the windows were larger, almost floor to ceiling, on this floor. The room was excellent and I shouldn't have let previous reviews worry me at all! Our room had split levels with the bed and table/chairs on one level and a living area on the lower level. The living area included a leather sofa, 2 comfy chairs, leather footstool, flat screen tv and complementary magazines (Vogue and GQ). The table and chairs on the upper level also provided complementary mints and mineral water on arrival. In the corner of the room there was also tea and coffee making facilities including complementary fairtrade tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Another lovely feature of the room was the stone balcony overlooking the street below. The bathroom was well presented and included complementary Elemis toilettries. Overall the hotel was excellent with a very high standard of housekeeping service and extremely comfortable suites.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKRC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
62CastleStManager, Room Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your weekend with us. Your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to 62 Castle St.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#31 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Property: 62 Castle Street
Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing