We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, cheap, clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Ranked #46 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic, cheap, clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a standard holiday inn express. The rooms seem slightly smaller than normal and the bar/restaurant is woeful, especially considering there is little else in the area. Breakfast was standard free that you expect. Not as good or convenient as nearby premier inn which has nicer rooms and a lovely restaurant.
Check in was faultless and Liam was probably the best and most friendly receptionist I've ever encountered in my life!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank loggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Loggirl,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.


Thank you for your review.

I will pass on your feedback regarding Liam. I'm sure he will be very happy to hear your positive comment.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    251
    130
    44
    24
See reviews for
141
223
48
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skawina, Poland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a good example of the Holiday Inn Express brand. Good value particularly considering that breakfast, parking and wi-fi are free. My mattress was past its best but still OK to sleep on and the hard and soft pillows are exactly the same, very uncomfortable. Although close to the airport and a main road the hotel is quite enough to sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear SleepyNeil,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are adequate, a bit on the small side. Double bed a little low. Room very clean, shower room etc; all good. Breakfast selection OK but cannot grumble as all in the price, so overall good value.
Only downside is the ridiculous £30 'deposit' on arrival which you are advised will be refunded on departure if nothing spent I.e. At the bar.
We spent nothing on account and were told the £30 would go straight back into our account. This is not true as it can take over 5 working days for the money to be available again in your account. Not good if someone might be short of cash! I would not mind if the money had been refunded and available immediately, but this is not the case and customers should be advised of the delay in them being able to access their own money! Not good Holiday Inn Express!

Room Tip: Refuse to pay deposit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAndMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mike&Marg,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked in with parking for the night before our flight. Check in was prompt and we were settled into the room quickly. We arrived quite late so went to order food but the menu was expensive and very limited so we went along the road to the Toby Cauvery which was close and open until late. Morning drive to car park took less than 5 min.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Carole B,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed the night before an early flight from John Lennon Airport. Friendly efficient staff, good breakfast selection and we were offered a transfer to the airport. Free Wi-fi which is always welcome. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Nick r,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again, back at the hotel, very soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Booked two rooms for an overnight stay with my mum, brother and youngest grandaughter, aged 2,visiting family in Liverpool couldn't fault the hotel staff or the cleanliness of the hotel. Convenient for Liverpool, easy free parking. Breakfast included in price. I'm not a 'full English Breakfast' kind of person so the food on offer suited me fine. Hot breakfast is available plus the usual toast, cereal, coffee tea, juice etc. Relaxing lounge/bar area and a choice of food available on an evening. Fourth time visiting here, it would always be a preference.

Room Tip: We've stayed 2nd, 3rd and 4th floor - no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBAMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear JBAMiddlesbrough,


Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad to see you return time after time back to the hotel. Look forward to seeing you again.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of city break to Liverpool. The hotel itself is quite modern and rooms are very clean, although a bit small for my liking. We also enjoyed the fact that there was a complimentary buffet breakfast.

In terms of location, the hotel is perfect for the airport and is about 15-20 mins drive from Liverpool city centre. For the price and the free parking you get here it is well worth that travelling time into the city. Probably worth noting that we didn't hear any aircraft noise whilst we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Nellym,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay.Hope to see you again soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing