We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and no air traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and no air traffic noise”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in June 2014. I was in Liverpool with a friend who had booked a hotel so I thought that it was a budget hotel when I realised we was staying at the Holiday Inn. On arrival the receptionists were very welcoming and the reception area and bar were very clean and modern. The room was also very clean. Not the most indulgent of rooms. Just white and plain but did the job and the bed was really comfy. There was also free parking, free WiFi and free breakfast in the morning but we overslept and missed it so don't know what that is like.
Also you are so close to the airport but not once did I hear any plane noise. Only bad thing for me was it is quite far out of the city centre but I would definitely stay here if I was catching a flight the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Martin R,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay.Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    262
    141
    49
    25
See reviews for
152
235
50
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay for one night as we had an early morning flight. At the time of booking we were advised that for an additional charge the hotel did a package that included leaving the car! Brilliant. We drive down from scotland and arrived late evening to find no spaces anywhere and cars parked on the grass outside the hotel and cars abandoned in the car park. When we went to enquire we were told we would have to leave our car abandoned also as they were very busy!!! Not exactly what i had in mind. I must say at this point the hotel staff were extremely helpful and apologetic, they did their absolute best with what they had. We eventually got a quieter part of the road to abandon our car on for the duration of our holiday.
The hotel itself is nice and clean, rooms are comfortable and staff friendly. We had breakfast which was a cold breakfast between 4 and 6 am and that was just perfect for us. Taxi to and from the airport was approx £5 each way and i would say the hotel prob a 20-25 min walk away from the airport.
Overall its a decent place to stay if you are catching a flight, if we do fly from liverpool again i would definately stay here but would book airport secure parking for the car.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Lynne S,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.I do apologise for the inconvenience coursed during your stay relating to the car park issues.
I do hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us again.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family live local to the Holiday Inn and recently staged a family function.
Our "out of towners" chose to stay here as we were overflowing.
Without exception our visitors praised the services of the hotel which was spotless.
I myself visited the hotel on numerous occasions to arrange transport and saw the service first hand.
Can I extend a personal thanks to the staff who looked after our entourage and in particular to the manager 'Martin' who went above and beyond the call of duty!!
Nothing was to much trouble and the service provided did not go unnoticed by my family.
Great value and Martin, you are an asset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Gary T,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent family gathering. Looking forward to the next one.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had an early flight from John Lennon airport and booked online for an overnight stay and 8 days parking included, which is one of their standard packages. The Holiday Inn Express was easy to find; we arrived early evening at about 5.00 and parked the car opposite Reception. The staff were extremely helpful and the double room was basic but comfortable with efficient air-conditioning and a well supplied bathroom and shower. You pay a £30 deposit which is refunded to your card as soon as you leave. There is a very basic restaurant (which we only used for breakfast) and a bar on the ground floor, but we elected to eat nearby. Let's just say say that if we stay here again (and we definitely will), then we'll bring our own or go into Liverpool to eat. Extra tea, coffee, milk etc. for rthe room was provided cheerfully. The hotel is near a busy road which even with a window open didn't disturb us at all. Continental or cooked breakfast was free. They will book you a taxi to the airport for the morning, which arrived spot-on on time and the fare was only £2.50. We took the number and used them to return to the hotel when we got back. All you need then is the exit code from Reception to get out of the car park. Very simple, very uncomplicated, great service and very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended - well done.

Room Tip: Away from the road would be quieter I suppose, but we werent bothered by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Max J,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your 5 star review and feedback regarding your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as we were due to fly out from Liverpool airport at 6.30am. We booked to stay 1 night and have 7 days of parking. Cost us £57 which we felt was a good price. We arrived the afternoon before our flight and parked around the back of the hotel. We gave the lady on reception our reservation details where we filled the usual forms in and had to pay the £30 holding fee to be returned if we didn't incur any charges. The lady said our room hadn't been paid for but gave us our room card and said she would sort it as she could see from my paperwork it had been paid for. We stayed on the 4th floor with a sofa bed for our too young kids 3 and 5, which was suitable for them. The rooms are small but adequate for a short stay like we needed. We had use of the free wifi. We had to put a piece of paper they provide into our car window which we had to return to reception on departing after our holiday in order to receive the code to get out the car park. The breakfast was just continental as we had to be up very early and they don't do hot food until after 6am. It was sufficient to fill us up and set us up for our flight. All in all the hotel delivered and met our expectations. We would have no problem in staying again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtaylor21184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Dtaylor21184,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at the hotel.


Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

first time to use this Holiday Inn Express . good location, .spotlessl.,quiet . Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn food which is adequate . great value for money. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: all rooms much the same, of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ian Y,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon


Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for the night prior to an early morning flight; rate included 8 days parking, and hotel is only a £2.50 taxi ride to the airport. Easy and speedy access from M62.
Very clean, excellent room and good TV. No noise, surprisingly, as so close to airport. Free wifi. Rooms provided with only a couple of teas/coffees/milks, but willingly supplement these at reception.
Friendly check in; they take a security £30 from your credit/debit card (understandable as so many people must simply leave and fly off), but instantly refund anything not charged to your room.
Nice bar area downstairs and snacks seemed decent price - we didn't eat in so can't comment.
We parked and left car almost adjacent the front doors of hotel, by good luck. We took keys so no concern about misuse of car.
Great way to start a holiday - no stress getting to airport if your are travelling any sort of distance. Only £60 for the two of us through APH , inc breakfast and parking. Can't be bad!
Breakfast was a simple buffet, with plenty of selection; the cooked items were somewhat basic, but yoghurts, toast, muffins, fresh fruit, cereals, range of juice, teas and coffee - can't really complain at the price.
Marked service as 'average' simply 'cos we didn't need any - the couple of staff interactions at check in/out and bar were excellent, however, with very genial check in/bartender on the night of 6th June!
Toby Carvery round the corner, and a Morrisons supermarket near by if you have forgotten anything for the flight or holiday - or snacks for the plane!
Would stay here again whenever using the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Jon007,

Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you again when you are flying again from Liverpool Airport.

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.


Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Liverpool Stonedale Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
10.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing