We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prefer the Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Prefer the Premier Inn”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed her for 3 nights in early July.It is close to the airport which suited us very well as we had flown up from Cornwall to see relatives. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the room was fine, quite clean etc, as you would expect. However, the breakfast on offer was really poor, not a patch on the Premier Inn breakfasts. As for all the notices around the hotel stating "Free Breakfast"?? Well personally I would rather pay and know I was going to get a good breakfast, as at the Premier Inns. The car park wasn't a problem for us but we could see how busy it was with many cars permanently parked on the grassy areas at the front of the hotel. Good staff, nice and clean, but don't expect good food at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Patricia A

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your stay with us.We do appreciate all feedback.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    255
    131
    48
    25
See reviews for
144
228
50
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel itslef is lovely - the reception staff upon check in were fantastic and helpful. I was impressed that they furnished us with takeaway menus because food service had finished - not something you see often. The hotel itself is a modern build, as you come to expect from Holiday Inn. The location is good, very close to the airport, but I must say that I did not hear a single plane during our short stay.

Breakfast was okay - there was nothing wrong but it was standard fayre, well organised. I especially appreciated the colour-coding for busy times - working in a hotel myself, I think this is a fantastic idea.

The only problem we encountered was that there was a group of men standing outside our window (we were on the third floor) smoking and talking ALL night. I believe it stopped around 3.00am. We had to catch a flight at 7.00am, so being kept awake wasn't very helpful. I did not mention it because there wasn't a great deal the staff could have done, but maybe either having a smoking curfew or moving the smoking area away from the edge of the hotel building would help. I am a smoker myself, so the smell did not bother me, but I imagine that others would suffer.

Overall a decent place to stay - it served it's purpose well, and the reception staff are a credit to the business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear PSG34,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for the inconvenience coursed during your stay and I hope this doesn't dissuade you from returning soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well impressed with efficiency and how clean quiet and comfortable hotel was. Only niggle was that the car park was very busy so once parked we didn't dare move the vehicle and names and addresses were left in cars on display. Would stay again however, thanks to friendly staff,can only remember antony's name.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrspink,


Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review. I will pass on your comments to Antony,whom will be very pleased. I am sorry for the confusion regarding car parking chits which should have been made more clear in relation to what inforamtion we do and don't need.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in June 2014. I was in Liverpool with a friend who had booked a hotel so I thought that it was a budget hotel when I realised we was staying at the Holiday Inn. On arrival the receptionists were very welcoming and the reception area and bar were very clean and modern. The room was also very clean. Not the most indulgent of rooms. Just white and plain but did the job and the bed was really comfy. There was also free parking, free WiFi and free breakfast in the morning but we overslept and missed it so don't know what that is like.
Also you are so close to the airport but not once did I hear any plane noise. Only bad thing for me was it is quite far out of the city centre but I would definitely stay here if I was catching a flight the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Martin R,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay.Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay for one night as we had an early morning flight. At the time of booking we were advised that for an additional charge the hotel did a package that included leaving the car! Brilliant. We drive down from scotland and arrived late evening to find no spaces anywhere and cars parked on the grass outside the hotel and cars abandoned in the car park. When we went to enquire we were told we would have to leave our car abandoned also as they were very busy!!! Not exactly what i had in mind. I must say at this point the hotel staff were extremely helpful and apologetic, they did their absolute best with what they had. We eventually got a quieter part of the road to abandon our car on for the duration of our holiday.
The hotel itself is nice and clean, rooms are comfortable and staff friendly. We had breakfast which was a cold breakfast between 4 and 6 am and that was just perfect for us. Taxi to and from the airport was approx £5 each way and i would say the hotel prob a 20-25 min walk away from the airport.
Overall its a decent place to stay if you are catching a flight, if we do fly from liverpool again i would definately stay here but would book airport secure parking for the car.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Lynne S,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.I do apologise for the inconvenience coursed during your stay relating to the car park issues.
I do hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us again.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family live local to the Holiday Inn and recently staged a family function.
Our "out of towners" chose to stay here as we were overflowing.
Without exception our visitors praised the services of the hotel which was spotless.
I myself visited the hotel on numerous occasions to arrange transport and saw the service first hand.
Can I extend a personal thanks to the staff who looked after our entourage and in particular to the manager 'Martin' who went above and beyond the call of duty!!
Nothing was to much trouble and the service provided did not go unnoticed by my family.
Great value and Martin, you are an asset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Gary T,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent family gathering. Looking forward to the next one.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had an early flight from John Lennon airport and booked online for an overnight stay and 8 days parking included, which is one of their standard packages. The Holiday Inn Express was easy to find; we arrived early evening at about 5.00 and parked the car opposite Reception. The staff were extremely helpful and the double room was basic but comfortable with efficient air-conditioning and a well supplied bathroom and shower. You pay a £30 deposit which is refunded to your card as soon as you leave. There is a very basic restaurant (which we only used for breakfast) and a bar on the ground floor, but we elected to eat nearby. Let's just say say that if we stay here again (and we definitely will), then we'll bring our own or go into Liverpool to eat. Extra tea, coffee, milk etc. for rthe room was provided cheerfully. The hotel is near a busy road which even with a window open didn't disturb us at all. Continental or cooked breakfast was free. They will book you a taxi to the airport for the morning, which arrived spot-on on time and the fare was only £2.50. We took the number and used them to return to the hotel when we got back. All you need then is the exit code from Reception to get out of the car park. Very simple, very uncomplicated, great service and very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended - well done.

Room Tip: Away from the road would be quieter I suppose, but we werent bothered by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Max J,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express - Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your 5 star review and feedback regarding your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing