We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at 30 James Street for one night on 25/8. Our room was the A Night to Remember Quarters and it was absolutely lovely. Our two children stayed with us and there was plenty of room for all of us with two double beds and two large sofa beds. The decor is light and airy, the finish luxurious. The children were seriously impressed by the fact that they could play cut the rope and candy crush saga via the large smart TV too. The bathroom is beautiful with a large jacuzzi spa bath with a waterfall shower over. There was also a lovely dining area and a fully equipped kitchen which really impressed me as there was even a dishwasher! We all slept very well in very comfy beds (my son slept on the sofa bed and it was hard to wake him in the morning). We all had two pillows each, but for those needing more we found some more in the wardrobe, Although the hotel is directly on the main road we weren't bothered by traffic noise and that's coming from a family that live in a quiet country location! 30 James Street is in an excellent location for all the sights of Liverpool, being only 5 minutes walk from Liverpool 1 shops and the Albert Dock. We ate out as we had already arranged a table at a favourite restaurant of ours, but if you don't want to go far you can always eat in the Carpathia restaurant located on the 7th floor which has stunning balcony views over the city. In the morning we had breakfast in the Carpathia, which continues the Titanic theme and is well organised and decorated. Pictures around the restaurant kept the kids interested with information on significant people linked to the White Star Co or the cruise liner itself. Breakfast was really lovely with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit including melon, strawberries and oranges, a selection of fresh fruit juice, tea and coffee as well as scrambled egg, sausage, bacon, beans, fresh tomatoes and toast. A selection of preserves are available too and I was again impressed by the fact that there was marmite which I love on my toast in a morning. I don't often see that in hotels we've stayed in. (Sometimes it's the little things that are the best)! It definitely set us all up for the day. The staff we spoke to during our stay were really helpful and polite and nothing seemed too much trouble. My only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer but it just means that we will have to come back, and I really hope it'll be sooner rather than later. I would definitely recommend it to family and friends, it really is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Book the A Night to Remember Quarters - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LRawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Lrawley

Thank you for your 5 star review of 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic.

Your kind words regarding our facilities and staff are very much appreciated and on behalf of myself and all the team we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Egan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,942 - 3,948 of 4,239 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading some of the rave reviews on here I'm really not sure if we stayed in the same hotel or not! We booked a suite (for 6) and a standard room for one night for my parent’s anniversary. We had been looking forward to staying here after seeing that it had recently been refurbished.

I'll start with the Pros:
- Great location, right next to James Street Station, Liverpool One and the Docks
- Friendly and welcoming staff and a smooth check-in
- Great theming of the floors/ suites (named after people associated with the Titanic and has information about them in the room as well as well as various locations throughout the hotel)
- Good food at breakfast in the Carpathia bar and it was complimentary, which we were not expecting, though we were led to believe this wasn’t permanent.
- Comfy beds (& loads of towels and spare bedding)
- Powerful shower and nice big whirlpool bath
- Quick response to issues in the room
- The lobby is beautiful and has some of the original features
- Amazing views from the rooftop Carpathia bar

Cons
- Door to the room was ajar when we arrived and after we closed it behind us we couldn't get out again, bit scary especially with a 2 month old baby in the room
- Sink in bathroom was broken and wouldn't drain at all
- Bathroom door was very, very difficult to open, almost got locked in on a few occasions
- Shower got water all over the place and there was no bath mat to put down
- Both our bathroom and our parent’s bathroom smelled strongly of mould
- Parents room had a mouldy ceiling where water had come through
- No iron in room (but there was an ironing board) and when we had to ring 3 times to get one, it finally arrived over an hour later
- Overall the fixtures and fittings look nice but are obviously cheap and not to a high standard (e.g. wardrobe doors are lovely but very heavy and don't close properly, "ornaments" in room were broken, metal table was stained) - even the man who came to fix the door/ sink said he couldn't believe it had only been open 3 months as it was "falling apart". If things are falling apart after 3 months I don't know what they are going to be like after a few years!
- The black carpets everywhere show every bit of white fluff and dirt meaning that the carpet, especially in the corridors, didn’t look very attractive
- Cleanliness of the room was not very good; a ton of dust on lamps, couches, in corners and the towels didn't look very clean
- Huge water pipe in the corner of our room which made loads of weird noises every time someone on the floor flushed the toilet/ ran water
- No "extras" at all in the room (e.g. toiletries, water or even a cloth or washing up liquid or dishwasher tablets in the kitchen - bit pointless having a dishwasher if you can’t use it without bringing everything). You do get some tea/ coffee but not enough for one each!
- There is no local information (e.g. taxi numbers, places to see etc) or hotel information (e.g. reception number, fire escape route) in the room so for someone from out of town this may be an issue
- Work is still being done on the outside of the building (which we were not told about) being woken at 7am by builders outside your window is a bit scary
- Breakfast was nice but very disorganised - everything was running out as soon as it was refilled, hot drinks were cold, toast took ages which meant waiting in a queue, people were picking up food with their hands (I know not hotels fault but more tongs etc need to be available)
- When we went for a drink in the Carpathia bar we were taken to a table where the roof was dripping on us, the table was filthy and it took ages to get served (we had to ask someone to come over after waiting 25 minutes). When someone did come over, he was very timid and not very helpful at all, loads of the drink options were sold out as they had had a function 3 days before (!?). This meant all of the "common" bottles of beer were unavailable and when we finally did find something to order the drinks took another 15 minutes to arrive. We ended up leaving after one drink and going to Tesco and taking it back to the room!
- In the bar things don't look finished, the moulding on the ceilings has been spray painted gold but it’s all over the wallpaper and there is huge white sections where they ran out!
- The entrance to the bar area smelled horrible, like garbage

Overall it was very disappointing. I know some of these things may seem petty and this hotel has only been open a few months and there are still some teething problems but it is the little things that make the experience more memorable and special and when there are a lot of little problems they escalate and can really put a downer on a stay. There just seems to be no attention to detail. I really hope that some of these things can be rectified as we would love to stay again if they are addressed and, hopefully, we could have a better experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank hobnobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi

I'm really sorry to learn of this feedback, please can I ask that you contact me directly on 07500 749 963 or alternatively on email paulegan@rmstitanichotel.co.uk as there are a few issues I would like to discuss a little further

As a General Manager of the hotel I want to ensure you leave here satisfied and so I look forward to speaking to you soon

Kind Regards

Paul Egan
General Manager
30 James Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel on Saturday for my brother and sister in laws wedding. The hotel is absolutely lovely and the staff are really helpful which made the day even better. The rooms are so beautiful and grand, we stayed on the 5th floor which had a unique bed with a beautiful view. Breakfast was really nice in the rooftop bar, also with plenty of choice. Definately would recommend staying at this hotel and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ah0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Ah0905

Thank you for your 5 star review of 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic.

Your kind words regarding our facilities and staff are very much appreciated and on behalf of myself and all the team we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Egan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We came home today from an over night stay in the hotel, and we had an amazing experience our room was beautiful they have spent alot of money on this fabulous hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. We stayed on the second floor in room 22 and it was outstanding and we will definitely return with our family thus year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Georgina M

Thank you for your 5 star review of 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic.

Your kind words regarding our facilities are very much appreciated and on behalf of myself and all the team we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Egan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights,the hotel is in an ideal location,the rooms are very well equipped,spacious and very different to anywhere we have stopped before. The breakfast is very nice along with all the hotel staff who are very friendly and helpfull. Would recommend this hotel to anybody. Our only gripe was that there was no mirror in the bathroom but other than that an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Olga270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Olga270

Thank you for your 5 star review of 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic.

Your kind words regarding our facilities are very much appreciated and on behalf of myself and all the team we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Egan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in the Norman shaw room. Beautiful room and ideal location. I would highly recommend. Rooms decorated and furnished to a very high standard.bathroom has a very large jacuzzi bath, it was fab relaxing after a long day. i will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Labellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Labellover

Thank you for your 5 star review of 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic.

Your kind words regarding our facilities are very much appreciated and on behalf of myself and all the team we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Egan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Gorgeous decor and spacious room, fab location directly opposite the dock, Liverpool one is within 5-10 min walking distance. Staff where nothing but polite and went out of there way to be helpful. Nothing was too much for them. Reviews regarding noise seems odd, as we stopped over the bank hol weekend where you'd expect noise, but we have no complaints! Easily the best hotel in Liverpool and at the price you pay we'd deffo return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faefaex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul E, General Manager at 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Faefaex

Thank you for your 5 star review of 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic.

Your kind words regarding our facilities and staff are very much appreciated and on behalf of myself and all the team we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Egan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#3 of 100 in Liverpool
3,246 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 100 in Liverpool
3,578 reviews
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#1 of 100 in Liverpool
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,354 reviews
Hard Days Night Hotel
#29 of 100 in Liverpool
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic

Address: 30 James Street, Liverpool L2 7PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £79 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II* listed building, 30 James Street Hotel – Home of the Titanic is truly one of a kind. One of the closest hotels to Liverpool landmarks, the enchanting, nautical-themed hotel is also built on historic foundations. And we’re proud to have preserved its splendour with a contemporary, stylish finish. Radiating with incomparable charm and character, 30 James Street was formerly known as Albion House. The building once stood as the headquarters of White Star Line, the iconic shipping company and most famously owners of RMS Titanic. With impressively spacious rooms and suites, the luxurious hotel is a favourite for couples in search of a romantic stay, or for larger groups of family and friends. Offering elegant group accommodation, all décor and furnishings are designed to ignite a first-class feel to the room, so you can expect plush, comfortable beds and close attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 30 James Street, Home of the Titanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing