We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
45
52
33
23
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
52
33
23
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice big tvquiet areafull englishvisit liverpool againsingle roombed was comfortablecity centreone night stayyogurtfamily roomcouldn't faultwould stay againkettlefab
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed here to visit friends who were only a short distance away so the location was great for us although if you wanted to visit central Liverpool this may not be ideal. The rooms were not massive but big enough with a good bed and a mixture of period and modern fittings. The bathroom was good with a massive shower and lots of hot water (some hotels think a good shower is a luxury). The pub seemed friendly and the food looked good. The breakfast was a standard full english type that was quite greasy and with not great quality ingrdients but plenty of cereal and toast. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccy_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Having stayed here overnight about four times over the past couple of years, regard this as a quiet and clean pub set in an elevated position in the Liverpool suburbs. Manager and staff are helpful and, although part of a chain, it remains its own identity. Breakfasts are more than adequate. If one was looking to find a criticism then checking in at the end of a busy bar can sometimes be a little time-consuming, but no great problem. Sometimes can be a bit difficult to park opposite main door - particularly on quiz night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borderpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We were given room five on arrival situated at the rear of the hotel the view consisted of one window looking onto a brick wall the other on to a very littered flat roof both were steel barred outside makeing it feel like a prison, god knows how you would get out if there was a fire and the door was blocked!!?

I had to clean the well established dust off all the doors and table top which had the previous occupants tea cup stains etc on it,the inset ceiling lights/bedside lamps made the room dull and hard to read at night.

The water works in the shower room were very noisey while taking a shower it sounded like a pheumatic drill,the extractor fan did not work so you had to open the draughty sash window to clear the air/steam that then let in the smell/noise of the kitchens,also the clanky flush did not remove what it should do.

The good side was that the staff were eager to please, the food was good and varied, but we found that the Wetherspoon Five Ways Hotel on the roundabout near to was more comfortable and better value,some pleasent woodland walks near by, we did have a good break thanks to the many and varied attractions in Liverpool.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrausPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The good bits. Friendly staff, good food in the bar (2 steaks for £9.95 and not rubbish), good location for city or airport. Not expensive. £65 inc breakfast.
The bad bits. It's really well overdue for a refurbishment - completely in the public areas. the room was quite modern but the corridors are very poor. The bars are scruffy and a good clean would be a start.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

On arrival for 2 nights we wondered what we had let ourselves in for! At 6.00 pm on a Wednesday the bar/restaurant was buzzing and it was not clear really where to check in. However the first of many very helpfull staff spotted us with our bags and came to our rescue. The stairs up to the rooms needs serious attention both structurally and decoratively. They do a nice line in damp on the staircase wall! The public arreas need a makeover. By this time we were worried.

However, our room was lovely, clean and modernised. There were some worrying pointers to potential discomfort - earplugs supplied and an airconditioning unit on the wall.....didn't need to worry; neither of these were required. On coming down to the bar for a meal, it was still buzzing but with really lovely people and very helpfully staff. The food is homely but good. Curry night (Wed) was superb - a delicious chicken jalfrese and an excellent pint of beer for £4.95!!! Thursday evening (free bottle of wine night) was equally excellent.

Breakfast was superb. The availbilty of being able to leave the car and get the bus into the centre was a real bonus.

Overall we had a really enjoyable stay with good food, good service and met some lovely, friendly people. Just goes to show....don't judge a book by its cover.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews