We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
45
53
34
23
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
53
34
23
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice big tv quiet area full english visit liverpool again single room bed was comfortable city centre one night stay yogurt family room couldn't fault would stay again kettle fab
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Situated in a very quiet area. We also stayed in very comfortable room 5 which is advertised as a triple – it has a double and a single bed. The shower room was perfectly adequate with loads of towels, although the plumbing does make strange short-lived noises. We had no tea bags but this was soon rectified by the friendly staff. In the evening we found the car parks were full and the restaurant was very busy. Lunch, dinner and breakfast were lovely and all served very quickly. Excellent value for money at £25 for the room including breakfast. Hope to visit again later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel is an old historic building and if the interior matched the exterior the rooms would be great to stay in (historical context). The hallway is dated and in parts the hall carpet was dirty and thread bare. Our room was number 5, I agree with a previous tripadvisor who stayed in room 5, the room had no view. It overlooked, in part, a stone wall and another building which made the room dark. We were not offended by the mismatched,furniture and, on a positive note, the carpet appeared new and clean. However, the bathroom was of a very poor standard. The exterior of the shower cubicle had black mould growing. There was also a problem with the bathroom ceiling where the plaster or paint was unfinished. The grouting around the shower tiles required cleaning and some of the tiles were missing. All throughout the night and nearly every thirty minutes the plumbing made a loud noise (perhaps a faulty pump?). At 5:00am we were subjected to a loud lorry backing into their car-park which had an automated bleeping etc. Two mugs for a hot drink but one spoon and no saucers to put tea bags on. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.
The hallway and our room, in our view, requires a style identity and, as previously mentioned, the bathroom needs to be sorted. The hotel's unique selling point is the history which sadly its neglected to embrace.

Room Tip: Telephone and book and suggest that you will view the room before you decide to stay! Ensure the bathroom is ok and the plumbing etc is quiet. Ask for a light room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 35First_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the Childwall Abbey for three nights for a revisit to our home town of birth .The pub is in a lovely area with some good views and quiet surrounding roads .Being close to the M62 moterway is a good advantage for anyone who travels by road and the bus service into Liverpool city centre is so good you can just leave the car in the car park for a stress free holiday.Our stay was in room 2 which has a comfortable bed and windows overlooking the bowling green .We did eat at the pub and found our meals very good and low prices for anyone on a budget holiday.The staff our very friendly and helpful and it does make a difference to encounter this on a holiday trip.You may have to wait for some meals for a short time eg. breakfast and busy times but they are lovely .We will visit the Childwall Abbey again in the future to enjoy another weekend.

Room Tip: Room number 2 was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

this was our first visit to the childwall abbey hotel and sadly it looks like the last.
we went for sunday as it is handy to where we live and the weather being unreliable of late
my partner had chicken pasta and didnt enjoy it at all as it was overdone with spices.
i had wiltshire ham eggs chips but the chips were barely warm.
a point i would normally have ignored was i had to return to the bar for soda in my partners wine which had been asked for. but this on top of everything else all added to it.
the abbey is such a lovely old building with so much history it really does deserve to be redecorated with some taste and meals of a quality to match its character, instead it could have been any old plastic food greasy spoon you find on any motorway services

Room Tip: we visited on a really cold day and sat near to the bar. find a room away from the doors the room was already cold with the draught from the door
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

its in a nice setting in a nice village type of place. we found it to be unorganised. room was ok but not brilliant, carpet didn't look as though it had been hoovered and it was just a bit shabby. food was beautiful but you had to wait a long time for it. easy to find and parking with free car park. if your looking for immaculate rooms then this isn't for you, if you want good home cooked food in a quiet area then this is for you

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews