We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Childwall Abbey Hotel
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
893 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Hotel looked sparkling on a sunny afternoon and we were both hungry but it was very disappointing . Food was just ok rather bland and tinned. The service was painfully slow, it took ages for our meals to arrive. The menu looks great and it's not bad value but because of the slow service we will not return for food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    43
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
30
50
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few times as I live local. It has recently been refurbed. Looks as nice inside as it does out. Great parking and outside facilities with beer garden and a smallish childs climbing frame. Not the happiest of staff this is true. But the new menus food is tasty and good value. My son even ate all his. (He is very picky). Overall a very nice place for dinner with the family or drink in the beer garden.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We'd booked a table for a birthday meal. Upon seating us next to an open and draughty fire exit (which they refused to close) they took our orders and waited 1 hour before telling us they didn't have 4 of the meals.
We placed new orders and it took a further 15 minutes to tell us that they still didn't have in one of those meals.
2 hours after ordering we finally got our cold, greasy dishes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelfWibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Despite having a muck up by late rooms, having double booked our room, Brian, the manager found us another place for the night, gave us complimentary dinner, then we returned to stop on the second night. The staff were all friendly, the service excellent and our room, the four poster at the front was gorgeous and very clean. We recommend this hotel as a base to go into Liverpool.

Room Tip: choose a room on the front, it looks out over a quaint church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilystanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Although a little pricey which was due to Grand National weekend the hotel had everything you needed. The room in question was a single but had all the amenities you would expect. Breakfast was good although basic but plenty of tea & toast. Great transport links both into town and to Aintree.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliemick2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very good value. Room was clean and comfortable, although the decor perhaps a little dated. Situated in a lovely part of Liverpool just on the outskirts with good transport links into the center. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W, Manager at Childwall Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We always appreciate feedback on our hotel and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here Saturday 20th October as at a wedding locally. When we arrived we thought the hotel looked beautiful from the outside and the medival church opposite added to the ambience. Our opinion soon changed as we got to the door, graffiti etched into the windows, really run down and rough looking.

Our apprehension was proven when walking up the dirty stairs and along the corridor to room 1 where the radiator is hanging off the walls. At this point we were awaiting Basil Fawlty to appear!!

The room itself seemed clean and modern with a lovely wrought iron bed. Then we saw the ensuite!!! There was plaster coming off the ceiling (fell off whilst in the shower). During the night the Saniflow toilet made odd loud noises when ever it felt fit and early in the morning as everyone in the hotel was showering we had the loud noise of water being drawn off from somewhere.
I would say a room with a view but sadly it was a brick wall and the bins!!

Breakfast was nice and simple, loads of extra toast available just ask!!!

Check out was strange!!! The cleaner tried but upon saying " we had the worse sleep in years" she left and got the manager!!!

Overall the stay was ok, they just need to clean the stairs and corridors and fix the faults!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beanbagbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W, Manager at Childwall Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank You for your comments.
As discussed with you on departure the sani-flo in your room had been replace just the week before and we did not know there was still a problem with it. Glad to say this has now been replaced.
We have checked all the radiators on that corridor and are unable to find one that is hanging off the wall.
The graffitti that you mention is actually etchings of names and dates some dating back as far as 1920.It was tradition after their wedding at the medieval church opposite the Newly weds would come over to The Childwall Abbey to scratch their names on One of the small windows with the Brides diamond ring. The groom would be in trouble if the ring was unable to scratch the glass.
All our staff are able to check guests out of the hotel so when the cleaner noticed you waiting she was able to do this for you and when she realised you were not happy with your stay she promptly got a Manager to deal with it.
We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you say overall your stay was okay.
I will certainly take your comments to our next team meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 99 in Liverpool
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Childwall Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childwall Abbey Hotel

Property: Childwall Abbey Hotel
Address: Childwall Abbey Road | Merseyside, Liverpool L16 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Childwall Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Childwall Abbey Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing