We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOISE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Childwall Abbey Hotel
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NOISE”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I, recently spent a Saturday night at the Childwall Abbey hotel and wished we had not.We never got to sleep until around 2 A.M. because of the noise.Now we realize that most hotels/pubs have functions on a Saturday night and can usually put up with it, but honestly and I promise I am not exaggerating. It was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. There was obviously a function downstairs and the noise was ear splitting.I could actually feel the vibration right through the walls, floor and yes, the bed.
There was also mould under the desk, which could only be seen while laying in bed. The staff were very warm, helpful and friendly. The service was great and the food was tasty.It was an experience I don't wish to repeat.

Room Tip: When booking a room, ask if there is a function on.If there is, stay away or be ready for a sleeple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 595richards595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    44
    26
    18
    15
See reviews for
31
50
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We picked the '' Old Abbey Hotel come pub'' because it was slightly cheaper than stopping in the city of Liverpool.. and what a lovely looking place it is .. Easy to find & in a quiet suberb of Liverpool.. our room No 2 was fairly large, en-suite, flat screen t.v.,tea making facilties..and very peaceful... being a chain pub the food menu was typical '' Chain pub grub''.. Service was slow
But not particularly busy!.. prices not bad ..but reasonable.
Breakfast was full English & Plentiful ... staff are very friendly & helpful although at times seem to be understaffed or just disappear ?
A great little hotel ... friendly... would stay here again.. Thanks..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I checked in last minute, although initially worried about the remote location of the hotel in case I didn’t like the ambience of the place I was pleasantly surprised. I checked in early afternoon and was dealt with rather smartly. The room was very clean and functional for a one night stay. I was reluctant to venture to the bar to watch football on TV, although I relented and took up position near the screen. I was dreading what was going to happen next (not just what German were going to do to us on the field) as I was advised that in the next room they were having an ‘Open Mic’ night. This I took to be some form of karaoke which I dreaded the thought of X-Factor wanabees whaling away till all hours keeping me awake in my bed. After watching the football (if it could be described as such) liquid consolation was needed. So I ventured into the adjoining room to have the said drink. The ‘Open Mic’ was a mixture of professional, semi professional and the aforementioned X-Factor Wanabees. It was very enjoyable, although some participants should not give up their day jobs, they were an entertaining crowd. Generally a young crowd, although there were a splattering of ‘more mature’ clientele, one lady of which shared my view on Joe Harts inability to converse with his back four!! Fully intending an early night I bedded down just after midnight. It was a good night, and despite the crowd the bar staff coped very well. Eventually waking long after I had requested my breakfast at, I was served a traditional English breakfast which was certainly needed energy wise, not waist line wise. I found the staff pleasant. The evening meal took too long to serve but once received was ok, but I would not consider the place as an eatery. It has functional food which was all I needed at the time. Considering the price, I found it very good. I had previously stayed at a Travel Lodge at the same price but no breakfast and kept up all night by guests coming and going. I will certainly use the Childwall Abbey Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JTA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Take a step into old England. Nice friendly pub with accomodation attached. House in an old Abbey in a quiet peaceful location it is stepped in atmosphere. Accomodation is clean and comfy and breakfast is traditional full English style served in bar. Evening meals, pub grup style, are good and not expensive. Staff friendly and very helpful - local knowledge in plenty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2frank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Have stayed now in the Abbey quite a few times as my daughter is in nearby university. Have always found the hotel to be excellent value both accommodation and food. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. This visit it was nice to see the hotel had been spruced up a bit both inside and out. An excellent hotel,food and staff. Keep up the good work Brian

Room Tip: Have only been in a couple of rooms but seven is the best (now the honeymoon suite) and well worth s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room was much bigger than anticipated and spotlessly clean. Was very surprised as didn't expect the rooms to be this nice. Little toiletries in the bathroom which is always a nice touch. Felt the staff let the place down, especially in the morning. Not at all friendly which is a shame. Felt like we were an inconvenience and it took ages for us to be able to hand the keys back and settle the bill. Would possibly stay here again, hopefully the staff will be chirpier next time

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have used the family room twice for the four of us. The staff put a z bed in for our youngest and we find the room spacious and comfortable. Good cooked breakfasts and good location for us it is near our friends. It is a pub hotel with a few rooms and as such a good standard.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Childwall Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childwall Abbey Hotel

Property: Childwall Abbey Hotel
Address: Childwall Abbey Road | Merseyside, Liverpool L16 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Childwall Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Childwall Abbey Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing