We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
45
52
33
23
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
52
33
23
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice big tvquiet areafull englishvisit liverpool againsingle roombed was comfortablecity centreone night stayyogurtfamily roomcouldn't faultwould stay againkettlefab
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We picked this hotel from the internet and stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting the Liverpool area. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food was good. The bus stop is just down the road so I didn't need my car to get around and saved a fortune in car parks. The buses are regular and go to all the places you'll want to visit , shops, docks, football grounds etc. The staff were all helpful and we would certainly stay there again on our next visit to Liverpool.

Dave from Norfolk

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norfolk082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2009. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast and other meals were good. One night was a Saturday and unfortunately other guests were noisy returning to their rooms but this can happen at the best hotels.
Its a bit out of the city but the bus is not far away and it takes about 20min.
The pub itself is heavily timbered with dark carpet which makes a pleasant change from the need to modernise and spoil the character of old places.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hermitage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We (3 couples from Newcastle) stayed here for The Grand National weekend, so obviously it was very busy. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and fresh, bathrooms modern with all the amenities one would expect to find in an expensive 4 star hotel. Some of the public areas need a lick of paint, but that's the only fault we could find during our stay. There's a lovely outdoor area to sit and have a drink, the full English breakfast was freshly cooked, and the staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel looks like a converted castle and is set in one of the loveliest areas of Liverpool. No idiots or teens in the bar and a very reasonable room rate including breakfast. We're booking to stay again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliffMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here while visiting family over Christmas and we were both very impressed with both the room and the service.

The room was modern and there were plenty of tolietries, coffee, teas and mineral water etc already in the room. We needed an iron and one was promptly brought to our room along with an ironing board.

The breakfast was good and we didn't have to wait more than 5 to 10 minutes for the 'Full English'.

We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful and can't thank them enough for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cjw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel which is situated in a residential area aproximately 5 miles from the city centre. There is a bus stop near by and it costs £1.50 to get into the city. A taxi is £9.
The room was perfectly aqequate and recently refurbished, no complaints there. The problem is as the previous writer stated is at breakfast time. We were asked what time you would like breakfast, we serve from 8am we got down at 8.15 and wanted a quick breakfast and get away as we had a long journey to Devon.
There was one member of staff serving cooking, doing everything and could not cope single handed even though he tried hard. We were the first people in the dining room and it took nearly an hour to get a cooked breakfast. We should just have had toast and cereal and got away.
Good value, comfortable room, short staffed and slow service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bootle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews