We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever, you have been warned.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pineapple Hotel
Ranked #60 of 77 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worst ever, you have been warned.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Being a regular traveller to Liverpool and over the years having stayed in various Hotels and B&Bs I can easily say this is the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Where to start? My room was in a a place they call the "Four Seasons" which is in fact a terraced house round the corner from the hotel. No staff in this house which you share with the occupants of 4 or 5 other rooms. No controls whatever.You also share the bathroom which is easily the worst I have seen. Enamel worn away on the bathtub, dirty towels left all over the floor, Floor tiles cracked and uneven. And generally filthy.

The room I had was like an oven, this was due to what appeared to be the central heating boiler which was encased in a padlocked wooden coffret in the corner of the room. The noise was awful every time this thing fired up all night long. The bed was terrible due to the cheap and worn out mattress. I couldn't sleep due to a combination of the bed and the stifling heat.

I had to go to the "Pineapple Hotel" round the corner for my breakfast which I had been told was until 10.30am. I arrived at 10.05am and was told I was too late as no one was available to cook me breakfast. I was offered a "Continental Breakfast" of tea and toast which I declined. I requested a refund for the £5 I had paid for the breakfast and was again told that no one was available who was authorised to give me a refund.

On arrival I was immediately requested to pay cash as no other payment was acceptable. I paid £40 for 1 night. I would say this place would have been daylight robbery at £25.00.

The surrounding area is depressed you have to walk for at least 20 minutes to find somewhere to eat. Many of the streetlights were out and it is generally run down.

Room Tip: A good room would be in any other establishment you could possibly find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
If there was a website for listing nightmare customers, this guy would be a the top of the list with 5 gold stars. On balance there is an element of truth in the review but it is laughable. Please read all reviews and form your own balance opinion. We constantly strive to improve what we do and that is always an ongoing process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    31
    30
    19
    37
See reviews for
16
28
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland co kerry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

group irish girls stayed here for 2 nites ,want to say this is not a hotel its bedrooms over a pub. nosw it was clean some rooms had no toilet shower or sink .walls paper thin. staff were lovely so was breakfast. you are a taxi ride to city .do not walk its half hour and area not great as said by taxi staff.liverpool is nice for food and shopping .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We live in Manchester, we're aged 29 and 30. When we read the hotel was in toxteth we werent sure, even our scouse friends weren't sure. But it was £65 a night when hotels in town were £95+. It was 2 miles from lime street where we were goin- this was £5 in a taxi. The staff were lovely, as we're the visitors to the pub below who were climbing over each other to give us a taxi number!

The room was incredibly clean! We had a double ensure. It had TV, towels, tea/coffee but with no milk :( which is what we needed after a night on the town.

We had to park on the street but this wasn't a bother and there were plenty of spaces.

We'd stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The staff made our stay really enjoyable! They are friendly and welcoming and we had great banter with them! The rooms are basic but clean and all you need. The breakfast was yummy and soaked up my hangover! We will deffo come back! X

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

My friend and I stayed in the Pineapple Hotel on Saturday 30th of June 2012, I got a double with ensuite and he got a single with shared facilities. When we arrived we were quickly shown the fire exits and our rooms, mine 1st floor and my friends on the 2nd.
After dropping our bags we went to the bar downstairs, this was when we found out (as 2 Evertonians) we had booked into a Liverpool FC Hotel/Bar. This could have been a problem, but the staff and clientele were wonderful and made the first part of our evening a great laugh.
I've seen some comments on the cleanliness etc. of the rooms and must disagree, they were more than adequate for our requirements and were clean.
As an added bonus the bar was still open when we got back from Liverpool city centre :)
I would stay again, though not during the season :)
I don't sleep very well at the best of times so I'm not able to give more than an average grade for the Sleep Quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Firstly can I just say it's some years since I stayed here and it does look like the more recent reviews and photos are a heck of alot better than when my husband and I stayed here.

I'm a massive fan of The Beatles so for my 21st birthday my husband booked a night at this hotel so we could do all the touristy Beatles stuff. Firstly the hotel is quite a way out of Liverpool - we caught a bus to the hotel from the bus station. it was about 20 minutes. Anyway, when we arrived the pub below was roudy (I think Liverpool were actually playing this weekend) and very smoking (it was before the smoking ban was in) It took aaages to get out room key as the staff were also serving on the bar. We got showed in to our room and as soon as the girl left us alone I burst into tears. It was disgusting. Dirty, old fashioned, the bedding was dubious to say the least. We also didn't have an ensuite room which we had requested. Never mind we thought, it won't be too bad! Little did we know the shared bathroom was even worse than the bedroom. It had a pair of ladies undies and dirty socks in the corner (this is not a lie) and no loo roll. My husband went down to explain that we'd actually booked an ensuite room to which they replied they are on a first come first serve basis and other guests had beaten us to it (even though this wasn't stated on booking) he also mentioned there was no loo roll (there still wasn't any when we "checked out" the next day) I couldn't sleep in the bed so I "slept" on top of the duvet in my clothes. I didn't even shower the next morning and the undies and socks hadn't been moved. Also the first escape on the same floor as the bedrooms was used as a smoking area for staff so the whole floor reeked of stale cigarette smoke (blagh)

It ruined my whole trip to liverpool, my 21st birthday and I still feel sick when ever I think about it. Before staying here I didn't consider myself a snob but it was just a few rooms on top of a grotty local pub at best could be described as a bedsit. Hopefully the owners who were here back then have given it up as a bad job and new owners are in and have turned it around.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanJar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Some years since you were my dear. What a pointless review. I joined the family business 5 years go and the smoking ban was in existence then. In fact it came into force in July 2006 - 6 years prior to this review. During the early stages as a B&B, we were simply cheap digs for contractors but just in case others are taking this seriously, I will list what I have personally undertaken since my arrival. The whole middle floor now has new rooms ranging from 4 years to 12months old. The tatty old lounge on the ground floor has 2 brand new double en suite rooms (less than 6 months old). The top floor is currently being renovated. This building is150 years old, privately owned and as such does noes have 'multi-conglomerate money' to throw at it. However, what it does have is a hard working local family at the helm, the bar is still used by local friends and their family's and at time does get very busy. We are not perfect but we offer character and warmth. If you want cold, mechanical chain hotels or The Ritz, look elsewhere. This paragraph is not me being hostile but full of passion for what we believe in. Book early!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was an absolute fabulous find. Five of us went to Aintree ladies day and stayed two nights at this hotel. It was cean, comfortable and had great service, even the locals in the bar called us a cab and made sure we were looked after, there can not be a friendlier place on earth than Liverpool!
The rooms were great, cost effective, clean, we shared a bathroom but as the hotel was full of girls for laides day that only added to the fun and madness!

Breakfast fab, cooked and all the usual trimmings to help yourself too.
THis is a great family run hotel above a great friendly pub and we are re booking 7 rooms for 2013.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassie Independent Hostel
#26 of 102 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#13 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Sefton Grange
#70 of 102 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pineapple Hotel

Property: The Pineapple Hotel
Address: 258 Park Road, Liverpool L8 4UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pineapple is a 150 year old, family owned, former coaching inn one mile from the City Centre. It is now a B&B with a popular bar but the name and the locals' bar have both remained. We are just 20 minutes from the John Lennon Airport on the way to the City and only 5 minutes from Lime Street Station and all other popular attractions and nightlife. We are only a short ride from the ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Pineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing