We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beer”
Review of Baltic Fleet

Baltic Fleet
Ranked #187 of 1,747 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Description: Historic #Liverpool brewpub serving a range of ales, ciders, gins, rums, Camra #LocAle pub of the year 2016
cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great beer”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

didn't eat here. went cuz matt said the beer was good. i tried wapping stout and loved it. i was alone and hesitant to enter but glad i did . friendly staff gave me a sample of stout since he didn't have porter that day. outside area and inside area. walking distance of albert dock and hotel dolby.nice old pub atmosphere with some local crafted beers. nice break from walking about.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerwen-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    142
    37
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“For beer not for food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am coming to realise that unlike in the South, Liverpool pubs often do not major on food. So do, do , do come for the beer, but if you are hungry, go elsewhere first. You have a bowl of "scouse" (meat and veg soup for the uninitiated) or local pies, but as the barman told me, when it's gone it's gone. So this is take-the-edge-off-your-appetite food, a snack at lunchtime, or something to go with a pint of an evening, not a main meal.

But as a pub, this is just great and I have been a few times over the past month. Staff are friendly, the beer is excellent. This is a brew pub and the Wapping Brewery is downstairs. I very much liked the Wapping Stout (5%), and the Golden Ale (3.9%) was a nice light, not too floral summer beer with plenty of flavour. There was live music last Sunday lunchtime in the bar area, but you can go down to the snug at the end of building or into the back room behind the bar if that is not your bag. Clearly a popular place on a Friday night too. An easy walk from the Hilton, or a number of other hotels along that old waterfront drag east of the Albert Dock.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly little boozer”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good quality choice of beers and lagers in a oldie worldie type pub. Friendly staff , enjoyed it once again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Baltic Fleet Hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had some beers here, its a great old pub with great atmosphere, again just within walking distance from my hotel. (I stayed a the ibis Albert Dock). They serve great tap beers here, and some nice pies to go with them. The pictures on the walls here are well worth a look at, Great pub atmosphere, and you can't miss the red & black funnels on the roof to guide you to the hotel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Evening out”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Music brilliant - sea shanty night. Atmosphere was superb. A must if you like to sing! On every month

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baltic Fleet also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Baltic Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing