We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulshan Indian Restaurant

Gulshan Indian Restaurant
Ranked #155 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$49
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We went here on a Thursday evening, as we were staying at the Airport so we got a Taxi, i chose this as the reviews were good !!! the place was very quiet for a Thursday at 8 pm, i had a chicken balti dish without going on too much i found the food quite bland so all in i was very dissaponted with the place. And we found it very expensive compared with other places in Liverpool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bogmalobobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    49
    36
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Living on previous reputation!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This restaurant used to be one of the best in liverpool! It's is distinctly average now! Very disappointed! Also if u like chips with your meal, you've got no chance, the management have decided I don't want chips with my rice & curry dish!?!? "They don't do chips" try Asiana in west derby! Million times better!

Helpful?
Thank Tommymac288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Indian Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My well travelled nephew was over from South Australia and requested we went out for an Indian Meal.

We decided to call at the Gulshan Restaurant as we did not want to travell into Liverpool City Centre.

Whilst I have eaten in the restaurant many times before and always found the food and service to be excellent, my nephew was really impressed at both the level of service and standard of food, high accolade indeed for someone who has travelled to India many times.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 'Taste Sensation' not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Fantastic night, well looked after, great food and cocktails! After long day, tired, thirsty and hungry - I was dragged out to a Birthday meal...yawn...here we go again I thought, another curry and a few beers. But little did I know it was the Gulshan, a real gem of a restaurant in South Liverpool. What a pleasant surprise! Friendly staff greeted you,shown upstairs to a proper bar with a selection of beer, wines and even cocktail (luckily it was two for one - more could you ask for!), chilled and relaxed for thirty minutes or so while other guessed arrived, the meal was yummy yum yum, so much so a week later took advantage of their delivery service and had a take out delivered! Lamb Chops and a Thali! Great evening, thanks to staff and hope to see you again soon....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Food and Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Myself and my wife visited the Gulshan as we had been told that the food and the service was excellent. It did not disappoint. The staff were very polite and had a great sense of humour. It makes a change to be served by staff who actually look like they enjoy their job. We were told that all the food was made fresh. I would especially recommend the Nahari as a starter. It had fantastic flavour and was perfectly spiced for our tastes. The main course was fantastic. I had the Gulshan Special, which was beautifully cooked and there was plenty of it. My wife had the chicken tikka which she said was one of best she had ever tasted. Since our first visit we have been back many times and have never had a bad meal. I would very much recommend the Gulshan to any of my friends and have done so already.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulshan Indian Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Gulshan Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing