We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Days Night Hotel
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Essex UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My girlfriend booked the hotel as a birthday treat. The nearer we got to the visit the more I became worried when I started to read the mixed reviews the hotel was receiving. The hotel is located in the heart of Liverpool and next to the Cavern Club. Although there isnt a car park at the hotel (like alot of city hotels) there is a car park close by ,which as a guest of the hotel you receive a discounted rate. The hotel is set in a grand grade II listed building and is very stylish.
On arrival at the hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Deluxe room, on the third floor. Although the lift was out of action, we didnt find it too much of a problem. There are staff there if you did need a hand with bags/cases. The large stairways are filled with huge Beatles photos. The decor in the hotel is very tastefully done and not cheesy or too cliché.
The deluxe rooms are large, with a huge bed and seating area. Each room has a different piece of Beatles artwork and the décor again is stylish and tastefully done. Being very light sleepers, we asked for a room at the back of the hotel. We had read the front of the hotel can be noisy, which is to be expected in a hotel in this location. There were a few very minor things we noticed in the hotel and room. Firstly the TV only has freeview (but not all freeview channels). Saying that, Liverpool is a city to go out and explore. There is a cupboard in the room with tea making, iron, safe etc. Unfortunately theres no light in there, and with the dark décor makes its hard to see into. On one of the days our dirty towels had been taken but only one set returned, also our tea and coffee hadnt been replaced. However a simple call down to reception and this was seen to straight away. As previously mentioned, the lift was out of action (at the time of our stay) which could have been a bit of a problem with older guests. Being only 5 foot, my girlfriend found it hard to reach the towel rail in the bathroom as it was high up on the wall. However, the room was very clean, modern and very comfortable.
We had read about some reviews of the staff being rude and unhelpful. We found the staff in the hotel, Blakes and the bars to be very helpful and friendly. Even though they had stopped serving sandwiches when we had arrived, the bar staff were more than happy to make us something to eat.
Would we stay there again? Yes we would. I would recommend the hotel even if you arent a Beatles fan.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the 3rd floor and at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goofy_Foot_Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    769
    337
    144
    101
See reviews for
464
1,520
74
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was the third time we've stayed here but easily the most forgetful. If you are a stranger to the city and want to be in the centre of Beatleville, then this is certainly the place to be. It oozes Beatlemania and is at the end of Matthew Street just yards from 'Cavern'-type nostalgia and lots of live and recorded music venues with some excellent pubs and eateries. So all good on that score - if that's what you want.

On this stay though, to compensate for the lifts not working, they let us know that the fire alarms really were working. They let us know this 9 (nine!) times between 11.57 pm on Saturday night and 1.45am Sunday morning. Nine times we were regaled with the screaming blare of the maddening fire alarm leading to lots of confusion and people wandering about the landings. The switchboard was too busy fielding calls to answer all of the concerned guests' questions so lots of people were really unsure as to whether they should evacuate the building or not. It was a technical hitch rather than a genuine emergency but I think more could have been done to reassure the clientele. I was also surprised to discover no-one was asking for any compensation when they checked out. I did and they offered me a 20% discount but wouldn't budge on my suggestion to 'forget the bar bills'!

You have to request specific rooms as getting a good one is a matter of chance and you may equally end up with a bad one. If you like a room you've stayed in, ask for that by specific number when making future bookings or you may get the cubby hole.

Our bathroom was excellent with a good bath and shower and the toiletries they leave you are very satisfactory.

The staff could do with lessons in friendliness which, considering this is reputed to be the friendliest, most outgoing city in Britain is surprising. There's a Scully-looking misery-guts hanging around behind reception I've yet to see engage with a single guest on any level or do a single thing which could come under the category of 'work-related'.

The night's live artists tend to be very good though and this night was no exception. We came back from the Echo Arena on a very wild, windy and wet night to be greeted by an excellent singer/guitarist but unfortunately, I never got his name. Sorry pal but you were excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolk_Enchants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
I am sorry we let you down on this occasion. There was an issue with the fire alarms on that night but I am sure you will agree it is far better to be safe than sorry and that is a princible we will continue to work to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have just got back from an overnight stay at the Hard Days Night hotel.

I took my father as birthday treat, as he is a huge Beatles fan. We booked High Tea and a twin, deluxe room.

When we arrived we were told that the lift was broken and that we were on the third floor, which became a bit of a nightmare walking up and down the stairs! Our room was nicely decorated, but the only thing that made us feel like we were in the beatles hotel was the one piece of artwork over the beds. We found we were given a double bed, yet when we asked they were quite happy to make it into two singles.

Parts of the room were very disappointing and I have paid less for a much better room. There were a couple of little niggles which became quite frustrating.

1) The sink in the bathroom did not retain water as the plug hole was slightly broke.
2) The kettle and tea/coffee facilities were placed in a cupboard/ wardrobe which was incredibly dark. So we took it out of the cupboard and put it on the desk, but this unfortunately meant that the cable from the kettle did not reach a power socket! So we had to boil the kettle in the cupboard, and move our clothes out of the way so the steam didn't affect them and then pour the teas in a different place in the room!
3) The light system in the room was very unreliable and lights occasionally turned on by themselves.

So moving on from the room, we went for afternoon tea, which was nice but the sandwiches were quite simple. Cheese/ Egg/ Tuna - no garnish! Good service though and a lovely glass of champagne to go with it!

The rest of the hotel did not live up to my expectations in terms of 'Beatles' theme - just lots of pictures!!

The most disappointing part of the visit which spoilt the weekend for us was the fact that the fire alarm continuously came one throughout the night, up till about 2am. There was a lack of communication and many of the guests, including ourselves were sat up, wondering what what happening and whether we should be evacuating. When I spoke to a member of staff, they found it quite funny and said it had been happening all day and now he had to go and check every floor to see if there was a fire or if the glass had been broken on an alarm - he even grumbled that he would be tired walking up and down the stairs because the lift was broken, but no apology for the inconvenience was given. Sadly there was also no apology from reception when we checked out the following day and they brushed it off when we mentioned that it spoilt our visit.

Overall, I was very disappointed and feel I could have used the money I spent on our room on a better experience somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizQ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
I am sorry we let you down on this occasion. Unfortunatly on the weekend in question we had an issue with the lifts and the fire alarms thankfully both of which have been sorted out. I know it is very frustrating when the alarms keep going off and it would seem obvious there is no fire but we have to be SAFE rather than SORRY. I am glad you enjoyed afternoon tea and thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is a great choice! I must confess that at first I was a little worried, thinking it was a trap for Beatles fans. The building is old but completely renovated. The room is great, modern. The bathroom is spacious. The only problem is the pressure of the shower. Nothing that made ​​it difficult. It is almost next to the Cavern Club and restaurants. And within walking distance of the Beatles Story...Certainly a great option.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the back. No view, but no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a Devine afternoon tea today which was truly the best we have ever had. Can't fault the service or the superb food. We will definitely return. Would thoroughly recommend, setting is fantastic with Beatles Memorabilia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is a lot of fun.

Our stay was not without incident - fuses blown in our first room, lifts not working, the remaining smells of a big fire at the hotel earlier this year and a very expensive bar ....... but it added to "The Adventure".

The rooms were very comfortable (but WiFi was patchy) ... but the overall atmosphere was good.

The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and dealt with our initial "complaints" with good grace and in some cases great humour ...

The location is possibly the best for any Beatles fan .. The Cavern/Mathew St is only 50m away .. absolutely ideal.

Breakfast was good ... buffet style, but very satisfying - sets you up for the day!

My 5* rating should be qualified - right now with the consequences of the fire mishap etc the hotel deserves a 3.5* rating ... when the damage has been fixed a definite 4* .. but the staff made up for that so they get my five stars *****

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJohnJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble in writing your very positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was amazing! The service was wonderful, whether it was eating dinner, having the complementary breakfast, or a drink in the lounge. The staff were so friendly and gave wonderful tips on sights to see. We had only planned to stay for one night but decided we needed more time to see Liverpool, so we spent two nights here. The room was quite spacious and very comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were also high end quality and very clean. We chose to do the Hard Day's Night Hotel Taxi Tour and had the most amazing guide...Paul! I'm so glad we chose to do the taxi tour as opposed to the bus tours. It was a more intimate setting, made time for extra questions and conversation, and was just the two of us in the taxi! I will absolutely ONLY stay here when I go to Liverpool. Perfect location... can walk to the dock, shopping mall, Cavern Club, restaurants, etc. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Liverpool and thank you for taking the time to review it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 97 in Liverpool
3,948 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 97 in Liverpool
2,344 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
3,046 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Heywood House Hotel
#17 of 97 in Liverpool
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Days Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Days Night Hotel

Property: Hard Days Night Hotel
Address: Central Buildings 41 North John Street, Liverpool L2 6RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Days Night Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Days Night Hotel Beatles Boutique Hotel Liverpool. A'Fab Four'star Liverpool hotel. Hard Days Night Hotel is the worlds only Beatles inspired hotel, combining the highest quality facilities in a truly unique environment. Located at the heart of Liverpool's 'Beatles Quarter' offering luxurious accommodation and exclusive event space with a twist. Housed in the magnificent Grade II listed Central Buildings, dating back to 1884, the beautifully restored hotel is steeped in history. All 110 rooms are individually designed around the contours of the original building and elegantly furnished with specially commissioned Beatles-inspired artwork adorning the walls. The hotel's restaurant Blake's, named after the celebrated Sergeant Pepper album cover and artist Sir Peter Blake, serves up a range of classic British dishes along with home cooked favourites. Bar Four offers guests a high-end destination cocktail bar, open to all who enjoy that little extra. Sitting adjacent to the world famous Cavern Club where the Beatles rose to fame, and an array of the city's famous Beatles landmarks, the hotel not only offers the perfect getaway for visitors, but is much loved by art lovers, music lovers, and food lovers alike.A superb Wedding and private party hotel. There are places to remember and then there is the Hard Days Night Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Days Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Days Night Liverpool
Hotel Hard Days Night

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing