We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea - terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Days Night Hotel
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea - terrible”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We have just left after afternoon tea in the lounge bar to celebrate my mother-in-laws 76th birthday. I was extremely disappointed by the staff and quality and felt compelled to write a review straight away.

We ordered 1 vegetarian and 3 normal afternoon teas. The first 'vegetarian' tea to arrive in fact contained salmon and ham, so we promptly sent it back. The first normal tea (which should contain 1 tuna, 1 cheese, 1 egg, 1 salmon and 1 ham per person) to arrive for 2 people, had 3 ham sandwiches and 1 salmon sandwich plus others. Given this was for 2 people I would expect 1 sandwich of every type for each person, not 1 salmon finger sandwich for 2 to share!

When we mentioned this, Jade, our server, said she could take it back and change them if we wanted, as if this would be a hassle. Despite sending it back twice my tea still ended up with 2 tuna and no egg sandwich.

The vegetarian tea had 3 egg and 2 cheese... clearly not much variety!

All of the sandwiches we had had clearly been left and not freshly made with bread being slightly 'crisp'. The portions were also very random, with some finger sandwiches being extremely skinny and some being normal, presentation was not a forte.

We ordered English breakfast tea which was so strong I couldn't even drink it despite adding half a cup of milk and a lot of sugar to try and disguise the bitterness!

As we were finishing our teas I spoke to one of the waitresses to see if there was anything they could do for my mum's birthday (normally for a birthday I would expect a little plate of chocolates or a little cup cake with a candle etc) but was told that the kitchen was very busy so she'd see what she could do. She never came back to us, so we paid and left.

The only upside to the whole event was a gentleman waiter that was around at the very end of our tea and seemed kind and attentive (the service I would expect in a venue such as the Hard Days Night hotel).

Such a disappointment, we felt like we were an inconvenience from the moment we arrived and received a below par afternoon tea for 4 people on all fronts. Will definitely not return, ever.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tracarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    771
    338
    144
    101
See reviews for
465
1,523
74
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is very stylish, i was very impressed with the decor. I felt so comfortable relaxing in the lounge with my first ever Singapore Sling, which was wonderful. It got busy but not uncomfortable. It is an impressive building and i can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Hard Days Night hotel, although a great concept, needs a bit of work.
I've given an average rating as I thought a very good rating was pushing it a bit. I would have settled on a Good rating, but that's not available to select.
When we arrived, the place was bustling with guests and tourists alike as it is a beautiful venue to go and see, the music sheets on the ceiling above reception are just one of the lovely features.
Both lifts were out of order - not ideal for disabled or elderly, and while sitting in the bar area I witnessed a few elderly people struggling on the stairs with luggage and walking sticks.
When we got to our room - very nicely decorated and each slightly different to others (paintings above bed etc) there was a large damp spot on the ceiling above the bed. As we only stayed one night I couldn't be bothered with the hassle of trying to get the room changed, however I do have photo's detailing this. If there are leaks, that have clearly been there for a while, surely you'd make this a priority to get fixed before designating the room to a customer. Windows could have done with a good clean too. Bathroom was ok, a few issues with broken/displaced tiles - slightly annoying and unhygienic but only a minor gripe.
Buffet breakfast the following morning was good, easy to navigate round the fellow diners whose tables are in front of the cereal area, but staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The bar area inside reception, again lovely surroundings, but a bit overpriced and staff are questionable. A few nice helpful ones, and others who give off a demeanour of superiority and not wanting to be there. High tea was nicely executed though, kudos to the chefs who provide this, its presented beautifully.
Overall, a good stay - as mentioned at the start - but things would need to improve a bit before I could be persuaded to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the same side of the hotel as the Cavern Club - bottle bins being empt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

What an amazing hotel - rooms beautiful and very central. We were in Deluxe room and it faced the main street - wee bit noisy on the Saturday - but not the hotels fault when there are so many Party animals in Liverpool for the weekend. 2 mins walk from the Cavern Club which allowed you to go without coats even in early March.

Room Tip: Choice a room to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level Contributor
432 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

From the name, I had expected the hotel to be a bit tacky like some reincarnation of the Cavern with bedrooms. However the hotel is stylish and tasteful whilst retaining a retro feel. Loved all the memorabilia and Beatles inspired art. Would love to be able to afford to stay in the Lennon Suite complete with Baby Grand piano (even though I'm a McCartney fan!) and balcony. However there are some good packages on offer for around £90 a night. Well worth a visit if only for a drink or meal. Well located right in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Beautiful hotel in excellent location. Room 'mood' lighting nice, not brilliant for applying make-up though, even difficult in bathroom. Service slow in hotel bar (waiter service). Not much choice on Evening Menu for Blakes' Restaurant but breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts as you can hear them when they are moving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bell310154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at the hotel. Great interior if you are an avid Beatles fan.

Room was large with good facilities although the only thing that lets it down is the noise form outside. Try and get a room high up - we were on level two and the noise was constant until 5am.

Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Overall its a good hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicMan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,954 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
2,345 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
945 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Days Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Days Night Hotel

Property: Hard Days Night Hotel
Address: Central Buildings 41 North John Street, Liverpool L2 6RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Days Night Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Days Night Hotel Beatles Boutique Hotel Liverpool. A'Fab Four'star Liverpool hotel. Hard Days Night Hotel is the worlds only Beatles inspired hotel, combining the highest quality facilities in a truly unique environment. Located at the heart of Liverpool's 'Beatles Quarter' offering luxurious accommodation and exclusive event space with a twist. Housed in the magnificent Grade II listed Central Buildings, dating back to 1884, the beautifully restored hotel is steeped in history. All 110 rooms are individually designed around the contours of the original building and elegantly furnished with specially commissioned Beatles-inspired artwork adorning the walls. The hotel's restaurant Blake's, named after the celebrated Sergeant Pepper album cover and artist Sir Peter Blake, serves up a range of classic British dishes along with home cooked favourites. Bar Four offers guests a high-end destination cocktail bar, open to all who enjoy that little extra. Sitting adjacent to the world famous Cavern Club where the Beatles rose to fame, and an array of the city's famous Beatles landmarks, the hotel not only offers the perfect getaway for visitors, but is much loved by art lovers, music lovers, and food lovers alike.A superb Wedding and private party hotel. There are places to remember and then there is the Hard Days Night Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Days Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Days Night Liverpool
Hotel Hard Days Night

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing