We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Days Night Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hard Days Night Hotel
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

This is a great looking hotel in a central location near to all the shops, bars and restaurants and not too far away from the Albert dock and the pier head. We had an accessible room at the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor which was very spacious. I knew that the hotel was very close to Matthew Street and was worried about the noise but me and my partner could not hear a thing at night and had a comfortable nights sleep. There are great pictures of the beatles all over the hotel. The service at breakfast was very inefficient. We were shown to the table and had to ask three times for some coffee. There seemed to be a lot of staff around not doing very much. We had to ask for some coffee three times and were halfway through our breakfast before a girl asked us would we like "some more" coffee, we pointed out that we had not had any yet to which she didnt reply. I could hear guests at other tables around us repeatedly having to ask for things. The actual breakfast food was quite nice but we gave up waiting for a second cup of coffee and left! We also thought the girl who checked us into the hotel was unprofessional. It looked to me and my partner that the check in girl must of typed something into her computer so only the young bellboy behind her could see it on the screen. He started laughing and she turned around to him and started laughing too and they then both looked at us. I didnt get what the joke was as we had only said hello and that we wished to check in? I can only assume it was something derogatory about us. I thought this gave a very bad first impression and we walked away to the room feeling quite paranoid. The staff on the desk the next morning were much nicer and helpful and let us check out a bit later.

Apart from the picture of George Harrison above the bed you could be in any 4* hotel in the world. You could just have a drink in one of the bars and get the lift to the top floor of the hotel and walk down the winding staircase and look at the pictures without having to stay there. The actual hotel is great but let down by the service, I would not stay here again I didnt think it was worth the £160 a night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandycanesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    727
    319
    138
    96
See reviews for
440
1,449
70
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Had a great one night stay at this hotel in July 2009. We are a party of 4 ladies who usually struggle to get inerconnecting rooms in hotels, but this hotel were extremely accommodating and our rooms were amazing. We had a 2 sided balcony, large rooms, bathrobes, ironing facilities, tea and coffee, water, haridryer etc. The hotel itself is very atmospheric with Beatles memorabilia everywhere, and we enjoyed lunch in the brasserie which was very reasonable and despite the fact they had a wedding party in the hotel the service was good.
Very convenient for us was the valet parking facility, we were lost en route and having navigated the one way streets found the hotel but parked the wrong way on a one way street!! Liverpuddlian humour came to our rescue and our car was taken to the nearby car park for us and returned to the next day for 20 pounds.....a real bargain.
The new Liverpool One shopping complex is 1 minute away and about 15 mins walk to the Albert Dock and Mersey Ferry.
The only fly in the ointment was the breakfast service staff who apart from Vincent were rather miserable and surly obviously not happy in their work!!! Breakfast itself was good once you were served, but they were busy......even so a smile goes a long way!!
Would stay there again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen ramshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiklaD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The hotel was fantastic!! That sums it up totally, upon arrival we were early but our room was ready and we were shown to an incredibly modern hotel room with great features. Staff are the most friendly and willing of anywhere i have stayed nothing is to much trouble. The theme of the hotel although based around the Beatles was done in a very classy manner and was far from cheesy the beatles were not thrown in your face 24/7 but were shown in their greatest light excellantly by the hotel. I travelled to the hotel as a 21st birthday present and a major beatles fan with my partner who is quite the reverse he enjoyed the stay very much as did i and we would both recommened this hotel to beatles fans and non beatles fans alike. We both will be going back for a weekend in the near future just superb

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiklaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just returned from a weekend at this fab hotel !! Four of us travelled down for a weekend of nosalgia and we had a blast. The hotel was excellent in all respects, the rooms were really good, we had 5th floor rooms with a balcony and they couldn't have been better. We ate in Blakes restaurant and couldn't fault it, from the food to the staff, just great. We were served by a young lad, Adam, who was so friendly and cheery aswell as helpful, really made a big difference. The hotel is in a perfect location for all the sights, just around the corner from the Cavern and a whole host of pubs and bars. Having said that, we hardly heard any noise from the room. We enjoyed ourselves so much and were so impressed by the hotel that we have decided to make it an annual event - can't wait !!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nearly50Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

This hotel is one of the finest hotels that I have visited. From check-in to departure the staff was attentitive, helpful, always smiling, and always professional. The rooms were beautifully adorned, and the baths were modern and large. Without a doubt, the Hard Days Night was the most pleasant lodge during an 8 day visit to the UK. The fact that the hotel is adjacent to the Cavern Club is just iceing on the cake. This is a MUST STOP and a MUST Hotel for anyone visiting England.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
912 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

This hotel is in the heart of the city centre and is on the doorstep for shops restaurants and other attractions.The Hard Days Night is a 'must' for any Beatles Fan or anyone who enjoys comfortable Hotels. We stayed in a Luxury room (Basic) but it had a Kingsize bed which was exceptionally comfy with feather pillows. The rooms only get better!
The room also has a coffee maker, kettle, Iron & Ironing Board, room safe, good hairdryer and access to the Internet. A box of 6 chocolates are provided free along with two small bottles of water.
Being a Saturday night it was a little noisy outside until the early hours, as our room faced onto the main road (North John Street).
The decor is very good and all the public rooms have plenty of photographs of the Fab Four. All of the staff were helpful and the reception staff will look after your belongings after 'checking out', allowing you to collect it later on in the day. The buffet breakfast was
very good but not that hot, we had to ask for extra coffee and some cutlery had not been placed on the table.
For those of you arriving by car, make sure you have a street map or Sat Nav as there are many one way streets near this location. On the opposite the road to the hotel there are two parking bays which are free and allow you to unload your vehicle.
You can be provided with directions to the car park which is at Liverpool One shopping area and is less than a 10 minute walk.
Night Life is next to the hotel in Mathew Street. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby which have more choice of food and are not as expensive. Liverpool has a lot to offer, you can't help but enjoy your stay.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at this Beatles themed hotel and would heartily recommend it. The rooms were imaginatively decorated and I loved the toiletries. You are personally escorted to your room and given instructions on how to operate the room's amenities which was a good thing from my point of view! We also thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and dinner on both days. Situated right next to Mathew Street and on the doorstep of both Liverpool One and the Met Quarter, you really can;t go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-allegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,783 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#33 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Days Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Days Night Hotel

Property: Hard Days Night Hotel
Address: Central Buildings 41 North John Street, Liverpool L2 6RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Days Night Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Days Night Hotel Beatles Boutique Hotel Liverpool. A'Fab Four'star Liverpool hotel. Hard Days Night Hotel is the worlds only Beatles inspired hotel, combining the highest quality facilities in a truly unique environment. Located at the heart of Liverpool's 'Beatles Quarter' offering luxurious accommodation and exclusive event space with a twist. Housed in the magnificent Grade II listed Central Buildings, dating back to 1884, the beautifully restored hotel is steeped in history. All 110 rooms are individually designed around the contours of the original building and elegantly furnished with specially commissioned Beatles-inspired artwork adorning the walls. The hotel's restaurant Blake's, named after the celebrated Sergeant Pepper album cover and artist Sir Peter Blake, serves up a range of classic British dishes along with home cooked favourites. Bar Four offers guests a high-end destination cocktail bar, open to all who enjoy that little extra. Sitting adjacent to the world famous Cavern Club where the Beatles rose to fame, and an array of the city's famous Beatles landmarks, the hotel not only offers the perfect getaway for visitors, but is much loved by art lovers, music lovers, and food lovers alike.A superb Wedding and private party hotel. There are places to remember and then there is the Hard Days Night Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Hard Days Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Days Night Liverpool
Hotel Hard Days Night

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing