We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
Ranked #231 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Piccolino brings a true taste of Italy to the heart of Liverpool. Less than five minutes' walk from Moorfields rail station and easily accessible from the Docks, this Italian restaurant offers a wonderful combination of both modern and classic Italian dishes prepared in an open kitchen in full view of diners. Fresh pasta is made daily from scratch in the pasta kitchen and is a charming spectacle for guests to watch. The menu is rustic, simple and delicious, and created using the finest, freshest ingredients.
Mwanza
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I hadn't visited Piccolino's for a couple of years (even though I had always dined well here) and returned a few nights ago with friends. We were made very welcome, the staff went through the specials for us and our group ordered very different dishes. We were all very happy - excellent food (I can particularly recommend the costine from the starters menu) and good service.
We'll be back (soon).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    229
    101
    58
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
665 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

In the center of Liverpool, there are a lot of restaurants, but Piccolino is one of the best. I had lunch there and choose the two-course menu. The food is carefully prepared and very tasty. I would recommend fish, since the restaurant has a good supplier from Cornwall. The chocolate truffles were truly delicious and very fresh. Attentive service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fitzbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited this restaurant at the end of a lovely weekend in Liverpool with family. It was a 'drop in' visit but we couldn't have been happier with the reception we got.
We were greeted beautifully and shown to our table, it was early evening so not overly busy but it soon started to fill up with both parties and individual diners.
We only wanted a light meal as we were travelling home. The food was delicious, the service exemplary and the ambience lovely. We would like to return with more time for a leisurely meal.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gf-kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked this restaurant very late in the day after being let down by the nearby 'la vina' whose kitchens closed at 10:00 despite us booking a table online for 10:30.
The table for five at piccolinos was booked for 10:15 and we were made welcome and shown to our table. Food and drink was duly ordered from our attentive, perhaps at times over attentive waiter.
The antipasti and mains were excellent, i would recommend you visit if in liverpool and we will certainly be returning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank berwyn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lively”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Although it was early evening ( 6.30 ) the atmosphere was great, very attentive and friendly staff, the food came to the table in good time and good quality,would definately come again,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lionelandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing