We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent service, average food, poor menu and inflated prices.”

La Vina - Liverpool
Ranked #75 of 1,700 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
Description: Vibrant with the flavours of Spain, La Viña is a wine bar and restaurant offering a tasty menu of home-cooked Iberian cuisine. This central Liverpool branch has a cosy and welcoming interior, with window seats and low lighting. Tapas and paella are served to share, with an extensive complementary range of Spanish wines, sherries and cavas.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent service, average food, poor menu and inflated prices.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Went for my flat mates birthday with a group of 6. Very quiet in the restaurant but then it was a Tuesday. Music being played was awful 'lift' music. Food was ok but there are much better tapas places in Liverpool (salt house, neon jamon). My main gripe was the lack of info on the menu. No mention of nuts in dishes to the extent that a seamlessly basic fillet of sea bass came sprinkled with almonds yet there was no indication of this on the menu. Service was good but a recommended 'special' sangria cost £20 for a jug and barely tasted alcoholic. Overall not an awful experience but certainly over priced for main stream almost chain food, won't be back in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaVinaLiverpool, Manager at La Vina - Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hola!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the experience to the standard that we expect.
I have passed on your feedback to the kitchen members and your comments about the lack of information on the menu have also been passed on.

We are currently devising a new menu so any feedback is great for us to gauge our guests needs.

Thank you

Jed Hull
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    254
    98
    47
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty tapas”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just had a most enjoyable early evening meal with my youngest son. Excellent tapas with some invaluable recommendations from our very attentive (though not intrusive) waiter Jed. An extra dish ordered after the others had arrived came very promptly, most impressive. We will definitely return!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaVinaLiverpool, Manager at La Vina - Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hola!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed my reccomendations and that you had a good experience dining with us!

I hope to see you again

Jed Hull
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time but won't be the last!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Have been to a few different Tapas restaurants and this one is the best.
Great selection of Tapas,shared 6 with my fiancée all of which were extremely good.Will definitely recommend and be returning.

Helpful?
Thank sjduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaVinaLiverpool, Manager at La Vina - Liverpool, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hola!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining expereince with us and that it won't be the last time that you visit!

We hope to see you and your fiance very soon!

Yours Jed Hull
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“BD1”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have tried both the set menu and the a la carte, both are relly good value. Lovely authentic and traditional Spanish atmosphere inside, with comfortable seating and a very pleasant bar area also. We had the house red with our meal and it was better quality than most house wines. We have tried several other tapas places in Liverpool, but this is definately our favourite one. Karolina served us and was cheerfully helpful. As a family with 2 grown up kids, we all thoroughly enjoy this restaurant and will definately be coming back again. Can absolutely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmy5552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaVinaLiverpool, Manager at La Vina - Liverpool, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hola,

Thankyou for your review!

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant experience dining with us and in particular that you enjoyed your red wine!

Next time why not try a Rioja? I think you would like it!

Yours Jed Hull
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very tasty tapas”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were looking for a restaurant. We found a restaurant. Delicious tapas. We came in for a late lunch and were slightly alarmed when a fellow diner came up to us as she was leaving and asked in a low voice whether we'd eaten there before ... didn't need to be concerned as she then said it was some of the best tapas she had eaten. It was indeed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaVinaLiverpool, Manager at La Vina - Liverpool, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hola!

Its good to hear that you weren't the only one who enjoyed your evening with us!

Thankyou for your kind comments about our tapas and we hope to see you again

Yours Jed Hull
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vina - Liverpool also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to La Vina - Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing