We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£218
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Expedia.com
£180
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£180
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,038)
Filter reviews
7,038 results
Traveller rating
5,157
798
371
274
438
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,157
798
371
274
438
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath bastion restaurant shankly memorabilia liverpool fan rooftop bar hen party amazing hotel bottle of prosecco luxury room afternoon tea signature living girls weekend birthday treat fantastic stay staff were lovely member of staff stayed for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,106 - 1,111 of 7,038 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2021

I had reservations about staying here in the middle of the heatwave thinking it would be too stuffy and uncomfortable but had no need to worry.
When we arrived we pulled up and my partner jumped out to ask where to park. When she came back she said the receptionist was really rude and made her feel like she was the biggest inconvenience to her day. My heart sank and was worried we were in for one of those stays!
When we made it in to check in, we had a different receptionist and she couldn't have been nicer! She checked our room (the grey suite) was ready to go and sent us on our way.
The room was nice and airy, spotlessly clean and most importantly.....cold when it was 38 degrees outside! We had a bottle of bubbly waiting which we enjoyed in the hot tub!
The rooftop bar was amazing. Great views, good service and good value!
Dinner was really nice, my partner is allergic to gluten and the server went out of her way to make sure she had something suitable to eat. Everything was really tasty!
Breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've ever had, the quality was amazing, I could live off of the Shankly breakfast.
The beds were really comfy and we both had an amazing night's sleep!
We would definitely stay here again. I'm back in Liverpool for a conference in November and contemplating cancelling my existing booking elsewhere to come and stay here again!
After a rocky start, they more than made up for it!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank pulsarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Me and my partner stayed for 2 nights, 27th till 29th July and I have to say that from the staff to room quality and also food quality was absolutely fantastic.

I especially enjoyed the breakfast and what was available, was all perfect 👌

We will definitely be returning to this beautiful hotel.

Many thanks to all the staff. Your all super.

M.Tyson

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sttys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

Stayed at Shankly with friends visiting from Norway , couldn’t believe how reasonable it was to stay . The room slept 4 persons it had a big whirlpool bath . The staff where friendly and very helpful , I would highly recommend . The breakfast was was lovely for buffet style all freshly cooked and a big selection x

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank M5410HMmatthewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2021

Firstly, upon our arrival we were told that our main room may not be ready, this was concerning as we got there at 8pm or there abouts.
Secondly, despite a phone call on Thursday being told that we'd be shown to our rooms by a member of staff, we were left to fend for ourselves. I was told it was too late when we arrived, and everyone who could have helped us had gone home. We had already explained that we'd be a little late to arrive as traveling from Milton Keynes, so was confusedby this.

We had been offered a table up on the roof bar with £200 behind the bar as compensation for the fact that our cocktail masterclass for 10 couldn't be accommodated - we were only informed about this on Thursday leaving me no time to organise an alternative activity. Unfortunately by the time we arrived upstairs we only had an hour or so to relax. By the time we received our drinks we had only time for one round. The jug of pornstar Martin we ordered was only half full and we were told more would be brought to us soon. It never arrived. We were told that the bar was closing so I asked for another round of two jugs. These never arrived.

We soon discovered that of the two showers in the Laurent Perrier Rose room, only one worked. The second ran incredibly hot, and the extractorfan did not functon at all, meaning that the bathroom was quickly turned into a steam room with a constant puddle in the middle of the room. Considering that this was originally a room designed for 10, I am very grateful that we had an additional room. There was also a rubber glove over the smoke detector in this room!

On Saturday evening we had our meal at No 9. We arrived promptly at 8, but didn't receive our drinks for at least 40 minutes. Our pre ordered dinner took a very long time to be served, and while I appreciate that the restaurant was busy, waiting an hour for our starters and then another 45 minutes for our main meal seemed excessive. In our pre order requests, we'd asked that one sticky toffee pudding came without the brandy or prunes. After another delay while the serving staff tried to work out which of the 4 puddings was missing the extra ingredients we were told that none had had brandy or prunes! Someone had eaten the brides pudding thinking they were being helpful only to be told it was safe for her to eat! Having finally finished our food we were presented with a bill for approximately £35. This was for items that never arrived such as sides of chips or were already included in our meal choices - £15 steak. Your colleague was kind enough to waiver this bill when I explained my frustrations. We finally left at approximately 11.30.

We then took the 15 minute walk to Alma De Cuba. Upon arrival we were told that not only was there no booking from the hotel for guests that evening, that there was no availability for us to enter the club. We were also told that entry to the club is free of charge. I am confused how a free amenity can be added to a package as an extra.

Having experienced the hotel and the clientele, I can fully understand why you request and additional £50 per person for breakages. Upon checkout I was told the money would instantly be refunded back to my account, but as I write this email I am still waiting.

On a positive, we had to call down to reception on Friday night as we couldn't turn off our TV. The lovely chap on reception came up to pull the plug out of the wall as we didn't feel confident to do this. He was very charming and helpful.

We also truly enjoyed chatting to Richard in the restaurant both mornings at breakfast, he is a real credit to the team.
I emailed the hotel upon returning home and despite giving them two weeks to reply, I received nothing other than a polite email from my booking contact saying she'd passed on my concerns. 😟 This could have been an amazing weekend, but we were let down in so many ways. Thank goodness for good friends who could laugh off all the problems.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Kenwright, Owner at The Shankly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Hi gemmadE8903JX,

Thank you for providing some feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Shankly, I can only offer my apologies with reards to the issues you faced.

If you would be so kind, can you forward me the email you sent and I can come back to you directly.

My email is michael.mcgurk@signatureliving.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021

OMG ORANGE ROOM

ROOM UP TO 6 GUESTS

Would like to thank Eric from the minute we showed up at the shankly even though firstly was given the wrong room he was gone and obviously I reported it to reception lady was loverly forgot to get her name she passed me over to a manager Mike which made sure we got the room that was requested and made sure rest of our stay was as expected of the hotel , the following day another lady who gave us the questionnaire to fill out couldn’t of been any more nice and could tell she was rushed of her feet !
Breakfast was good choice for everyone from fruit to full
English, Nutella etc and yet again staff couldn’t of been more helpful.

Thank you all defentily be back again !
From liverpool

Room tip: A room with a jacuzzi bath all You need for a couple night
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 383nevaehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews