We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fox & Anchor
Nearby Hotels
US$330
US$250
Bloomsbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$388
US$335
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$233
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$154
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$305
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$278
US$229
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Days Hotel London- Waterloo(London)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
91
58
14
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
58
14
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmithfield marketcopper bathlondon publamb shank piefarringdon tubelight aletraditional style pubsmithfield areaspent three nights herelarge comfy bedlovely bathroombuilding workmini barnespresso machinewater pressureair conditioningchecking in
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

An absolute gem of a hotel, tucked away and waiting to be discovered. We were blown away by the service, suite, and entire experience had at Fox & Anchor. Separate from the inviting pub next door, our suite was simply impeccable - a gorgeous stand alone bath, luxurious king size bed and even our own little courtyard + table set, upon which we enjoyed breakfast after an excellent night's sleep. The room itself was clean, inviting and homely - a perfect getaway and one that we are very much looking forward to visiting again. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benhansenhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had an enjoyable meal with good food, pleasant service. We were looked after without feeling pestered, and enjoyed all the food. The only criticism would be that at 13:00 they had already run out of one of the desserts from the menu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NSL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Contemplating a romantic surprise for my loved one and looking for a luxurious room with a free standing bath which has a lot of character, staying in the suite room in Fox and Anchor was a success for me.

You can walk from Covent Garden and 20 min later 'accidentally' end up in this pub which does look nothing like a hotel. This has guaranteed the surprised face of my husband when I handed him the key after we finished our beers.

Most out of the six rooms have a free standing coper bath. I picked the largest room facing the quiet back side of the building - The Market Suite to stay in. It has spacious open plan layout connecting three rooms. There is also a private terrace to this room. A huge bathroom with a grand roll-top free standing coper bath, walk-in rain shower and his and hers coper sinks lined up with Miller Harris toiletries. The room has TWO 42" plasma TVs, TWO Bose sound systems (even with two great Van Morrison CDs ready in the player), Wifi, very comfy king size bed with Egyptian cotton lining, heavy velvet curtains... Simply amazing.

Food is excellent too. We had Eggs Royal for breakfast and enjoyed the right kick of their freshly grounded coffee.

Thumbs up. This place is of a very unique character mixing pub and luxury in one. The owner is a legend.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra £40 pounds to get The Market Suite. It is a very quiet room facing the back side, avoiding the noise from the club at the front. It's a pub, so don't be too snobby and share a joke with the owner.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed on Saturday night and let me say it was average. There is no personal touch, we were greeted rather abruptly by bar staff, handed a key and that was the only contact we had with a member of staff. We were utterly shocked to realise that breakfast wasn't included in the price. I have no idea where they got their prices from as we were expecting something special and got a bog standard room with.... a nice metal sink. A metal sink hardly justifies the price, there was nothing else special about the room. The noise from the bar next door at night was terrible, there should be complimentary ear plugs, it's a good job we were exhausted. We didn't stay for breakfast as couldn't bring ourselves to give them another penny. One plus point is the pub itself, which is very nice. Oh, also tube station just around the corner, though this is true all over London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Fox and Anchor is one of London's best kept secrets. The rooms are great,well furnished and with all the amenities you can ask for. The kicker is the bathroom which is massive for London standards! The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The closest tube station is about a 5 minute walk away, so you are well connected as well. Ask them for personal tips of places to see and things to do in London. The prices are more than fair when considering the location and the fact that you're in London. Well worth a visit if you are there for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Rust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews