We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid as the service was non existent”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sidi Maarouf

Sidi Maarouf
Ranked #1,807 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Description: Sidi Maarouf is situated a stones throw away from Marble Arch. It is a beautifully designed Moroccan restaurant with a very authentic interior with billowing silk curtains and dark wood furniture. As you set foot into the restaurant you come under the illusion that you are entering a magnificent tent in the desert. Every evening while dining you will be entertained by our live band and a variety of belly dancers, which is the perfect complement to the delicious food. The menu has a vast selection of starters and main courses to choose from with a variety of mouth watering flavors, followed by the delicious baklawa which is ideal while sipping our famous Moroccan tea! Open 7 days a week from 12 noon to 12pm.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Avoid as the service was non existent”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were unfortunate to visit the restaurant on Saturday night, live music was ear shatteringly loud, waiters were more busy in dancing and talking to each other and serving was a visibly painful affair for them.

Food is not bad but when you pay this much for food you expect ambiance and service which they can not offer.

Sad thing is that it used to be one of the best places on edgware road but hey have become a bit too comfortable and numerous competitors on the street have surpassed them.

I suggest go somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    54
    19
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Under Starters Orders”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was looking forward to some good Marrocan food which is one of my favourites. On entering, the restaurant is impressively decorated and the welcome friendly. However, our waiter seemed slightly surly and not very interested. He did, though, remember our entire order without writing anything down. A little disconcerting as we waited to see if what we ordered would actually arrive. The starters were very good, tasty and plentiful and we were warming to the place. When the mains arrived, it seemed like the emphasis was on "filling" rather than flavorful and we wished we had stuck with the starters. Music - great. No Belly Dancer that night. Nice House Wine. Not good enough for a repeat visit considering how many other restaurants of that type in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sl8rate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
410 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I dined at Sidi Maroush on a very recent trip to London. The restaurant is very nice based on first impressions with its decor. We began the meal with some hommus which was excellent. The starters of chicken livers and grilled chicken wings were decent enough. For main, I had grilled lamb while my friend had a lamb tagine. Both were ok without being exceptional.

Overall, decent enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The food (chicken tagine) is always to the highest standard , I would always make sure that I have the time to visit this restaurant when I am in London , very attentive staff , great music and live dance , NICE FAMILY FRIENDLY RESTAURANT

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pahlbod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,282 reviews
927 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
“Genuine Maroccan, Good Food, Service, and Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

In the heart of Arab London on Edgeware Road, part of Maroush chain owned by Lebanese Druze restaurant king Maarouf Abu Zaki. Samira gracious Maroccan hostess. Often a belly dancer in evening, wonderful Maroccan specialties, as well as other Arab delights. My North African friends tell me that the food is quite authentic. To my palate, everything really well-prepared, graciously served - and resonably priced. Always delightful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sidi Maarouf also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Sidi Maarouf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing