We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lunchtime weekday visit”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Benugo - Clerkenwell
Ranked #15,535 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$0 - US$27
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lunchtime weekday visit”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Food very good. Pork belly with apple chutney delicious.

Service less good. Admittedly a very busy lunchtime but rather chaotic service.

Helpful?
Thank peel_acres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    6
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staff are beyond rude..”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

..with the exception of the lovely man who makes sausage and bacon rolls in the morning!

Food is on the better side of average but with 'Clerkenwell' inflated prices, however it's the huffing, mumbling and eye-rolling of staff, coupled with the manner in which they thrust your food/receipt/change back to you like you've ruined their day, that's really put me off Benugo. In fact I don't think I've ever been somewhere that made their customers feel like such an inconvenience. I've persevered as it's so close to work, but after being laughed at when I asked a grumbling member of staff to repeat what he'd said to me (he didn't..!), I won't be going back..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So bad”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Have to review again because every time I go, which is fairly often, it just seems to get worse. New manager tries hard but some staff and service generally really poor. Food average at best. Hot food rarely actually hot. Coffee ranges from average to undrinkable. And please - change the music. You can almost set your watch by some of the songs on the same old loop.
They seem to get away with it somehow but really need to watch out - some decent competition now established locally eg the far superior Workshop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank speckledjim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it is what it is and othing more”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It is a nice place to stop for tea and snack in the a surprisingly quiet setting just off of the main road... It's why I keep going back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced for size/quality”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I work next to Benugo and I felt the need to write about their constantly rocketing prices for really average coffee/food on the small side (the portions).
The coffee is certainly not amazing, yet they price it way above its means, plus often you have to wait rather a long time, specially if you like something like decaf or soya.
Salads and sandwhiches are on the expensive side and again average in quality.
It's a convenient place and the staff are mostly nice (mostly....) but it just doesn't dazzle....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benugo - Clerkenwell also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Benugo - Clerkenwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing