We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, efficient service, good value”

Lang Nuong Tre Viet
Ranked #10,888 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$10 - US$43
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: East End / East London
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food, efficient service, good value”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We chose to eat here, on a very hot day in July, as I was craving mango salad and Time Out had given it a good review. We were the only people in there as we arrived quite early. Service was not particularly friendly but was polite and efficient.
We ordered mango salad (absolutely fantastic), crispy pancake with chicken and prawns (delicious and super fresh), flat noodles with chicken (lovely flavours and textures) and tofu and aubergine hot pot with minced pork (slightly spicy and also delicious). All dishes came as they were ready, which meant everything was fresh and delicious. We drank smoothies, which were also freshly prepared.
Our bill came to around £37, which was very reasonable for four dishes and drinks. We will definitely be returning in the future

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, wrong order”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Food was brilliant, but everything was delivered out of order! I was in a group of 6 and had my main and starter delivered at the same time, fully 10 minutes before the rest of the food came for my party! My mate ended up getting his 'starter' 15 minutes after we'd finished, just as we were paying the bill! I was left perplexed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic, tasty and good value for money”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I've been to this restaurant a few times and the food is always tasty. Last time we went we had to ask for our coconut rice three times but apart from that I have no complaints.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank demanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Tre Viet offered some of the best, non-greasy, traditional vietnamese food I've had for a long time. The menu offers great choice for both veggies and non veggies and would highly recommend the stews/clay pot dishes. Food is very reasonably priced and will definitely be going back. Service could have been better but guess you cant necessarily have everything!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPrCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, slow service”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had fantastic food last night - high quality, flavoursome, fresh and authentic. The aubergine main course, char-grilled goat, monkfish in caramalised coconut milk, chicken and prawn pancake and prawn steamed rolls were all incredibly tasty and moreish. My friend had recently been to Vietnam and loved the food.

It was also great value. The bill with all 4 of us drinking (wine goes from £12.50 upwards - we chose a £21 bottle plus a couple of beers) and having starters and main courses came to £86. You could easily have a very satisfying meal here for £10 or less if you weren't drinking.

The service took longer than we expected but the food was definitely worth waiting for!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lang Nuong Tre Viet also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Lang Nuong Tre Viet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing