We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildly Overpriced and Boring”
Review of Dukes Bar

Dukes Bar
Ranked #902 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: Drinks at DUKES Bar is something of an occasion. The legendary bar is internationally renowned for its famous martinis and personalised cocktails. Frequented by James Bond author Ian Fleming, the bar is said to be the inspiration for the classic line, 'shaken, not stirred'. So whether you're relaxing after a meeting or getting together with friends for special drinks, the intimate and timeless surroundings, coupled with the bartender's knowledge, make it an unforgettable experience.
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wildly Overpriced and Boring”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

£18 - yes - £18 for a Martini. What more to say? Dull decor and atmosphere and £18 - yes - £18 for a Martini. No thanks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank usagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    64
    21
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
guelph
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good story”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We read about this bar before heading to London so it was on our 'must find list'. We were not disappointed. It isn't all that easy to find on foot but is a diagonal line from Buckingham Palace through the adjacent park. Once we arrived, we were surprised by how small the bar is - but that is much of it's appeal: it is intimate. We were provided with excellent service very British stereo type even if the bartenders are not British natives. I will admit I am not a martini drinker, but stayed in step with a Gin and Tonic. My husband enjoys martinis and he loved the cart service and table side martini pour. The martinis are a good size, and deceptive. Very strong! They actually have a 2 martini limit and it is a good thing. They also provide some good nibbles by way of spicy snacks and olives. This was a people watchers (and eavesdroppers) dream and it has given us some very good story telling to share with our friends. Definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guelphgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Martini(s) in London”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After reading many reviews on this site, my curiosity got the better of me. Yes have to agree, the martinis were very well done. Perfectly ice cold and lovely olives and nuts to wash them down with. What was supposed to be one pre-dinner tipple turned into two. The setting and staff made this a great venue and my wife and I will certainly return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Your Martini sir!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Shaken, not stirred.
The best Martini in London, in the very elegant and stylish hotel bar.
And the chef Martinier creates you the experience.
Must go for Martini lovers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shaken, not stirred sophistication”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Award yourself the time to experience this charming, quaint, elegant little bar. Order a classic martini and relax over a beautiful table-side presentation. It feels so indulgent and sophisticated. The service, presentation and drink quality is superb. You'll likely never have another like it. It's the bar where Ian Fleming conceived the "shaken, not stirred" line.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dukes Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dukes Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing