We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite breakfast place”

Carluccio's - Notting Hill
Ranked #5,795 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Wonderful breakfast menu, friendly service, nice atmosphere. Go for Sat/Sun breakfast and enjoy! Love the deli shop as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tany1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    44
    18
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I went to Carluccio's i Notting Hill with a friend and his daughter. I've only been shopping in the deli earlier. The restaurant is well lit and nicely decorated. Gregory gave us very good service. He told us informatively and knowledgeable about the dishes and its ingedients. I had a ravioli, my friend a beef stew dish and his daughter a lasagne made with lamb. The food was very good. The deli section has lots of Italian specialities, and is highly recommended. The pancetta is the best I've come across in London, and has a reasonable price. The parmesan is also very good. The selection is wide and good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible experience, no effort put into the food whatsoever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I took a few guests from abroad here, as they wanted some good Italian food. I was severely disappointed and embarrassed. I have been to several Carluccio restaurants in London (St Christopher's Place, South Kensington, Islington, Putney) and this is by far the worst. Some of us ordered the pre-set menu, and it looked appalling. My guest hardly touched her food and I can't blame her. It was a large flattened piece of chicken breast crumbed, served with nothing else but a piece of lettuce on a plate that was much much too small. I am still so appalled. In addition, when the waitress took our order, she came back to say they had run out of food, and only one person could order the set menu. Even my pasta from the regular menu was a disappointment. The serving was much much too small. Overall a disappointing and embarrassing experience. My guest told me that she had had a good experience at Bella Italia down the road. Perhaps we should have gone there instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Came across this one by accident. as good if not better than others of the same group that we have visited.
Food was excellent, service very good and the deli was first class.
Very welcoming staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dayton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay Italian food with good deli”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We went here for Sunday lunch for a change from the French place nearby where we normally go. Staff were friendly and service was good. Very high level of noise - mostly created by the staff behind the counter stacking/organising plates on a regular basis! More of an Italian cafe feel than restaurant. My arancini starter was tasty although the dressing was rather flavourless. My main dish 'special' of lamb stew did not live up to expectations - pieces of lamb were small and the dish did not have much depth of flavour. I also thought the portion was a little on the mean side - certainly when compared with the generosity of dishes we had in Italy earlier this year. My companion's chicken was fine but the the rosemary potatoes ordered as a separate side dish didn't have much rosemary flavour. Compared with another well-known chain of Italian restaurants, this one didn't really measure up and we were disappointed. The selection of items in the deli was good and I was able to buy Trofie pasta which I can't get in my local supermarket. With the Carluccio name we had expected more and it all felt rather average.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carluccio's - Notting Hill also viewed

 

Been to Carluccio's - Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing