We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I'm looking for”

The Old Crown Public House
Ranked #5,708 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: American, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Holborn
Description: A public house re-imagined. A welcoming atmosphere, great food, great drinks. All day and all night in a building that has stood proudly for over 250 years . ​ Whether its good wifi and a place to work, a spot of lunch during a day of sight seeing, a place for after work drinks or some late night revelry we think we have got it covered. ​ Welcome to 33 new oxford st. The Old Crown is a unique building located on the corner of museum street and new oxford street. The building dates back over 200 years and has a character all of its own. The venue is open to the public on 3 floors all of which have a different vibe to them. The old crown is a whimsical escape from the busy streets that surround and once you come in you get the impression it has offered this for quite some time. You can find reference to The Old Crown in Hogarth's famous beer street & gin lane from 1751. The spire of St Gile's church is just on the opposite side of the street - so it is fair to say we have some heritage when it comes to serving a libation or two. The Old Crown is owned and managed by the team behind Hidden Door Events who have been involved with this site for well over 10 years. Ali, Matt & Nick finally took charge in early 2017. We have loved this brilliant old building...as a friend of the family once put it, "all roads eventually lead to the old crown".
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what I'm looking for”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Best time I've had round here having a oint in a long while. This is a great pub. The staff are fantastic, the surroundings are very pleasant, the food was just what I wanted. Not haut cuisine whomever said that, but why would you expect £60 3-course meals in a pub? Get a grip

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgette W, Manager at The Old Crown Public House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Rossidee,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review the OC! Glad you enjoy the food and our atmosphere, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. If you would like to sign up for our Royalty Club (it's totally free and we will just send you gifts and buy you drinks) please email bridgette@theoldcrownpublicouse.com with your details :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    10
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local pub with, fresh food and really friendly bar staff”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went in on a Saturday night for mates event and thought it was a nice little pub, went back the following Tuesday and ending up staying for Food, I loved the hallomi salad and my boyfriend said the budget was amazing. All topped off by the super friendly and really attentive bar staff. Thanks again Andy and Ben, I'll definitely come again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ljac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do not eat the burgers unless you like bone”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I went to a party here on a Saturday night a couple of weeks ago and ordered a burger which was touted as one of the best in London. I ate approx a quarter of it. There were pieces of bone in three separate bites. Not gristle, bone! The third piece broke my retainer which was fixed to the back of my teeth. I had to get this repaired the following Monday. That is pretty disgusting. The burgers are the lowest quality possible. Please do not eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great english pub food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Am really surprised to see the reviews here. I had dinner here one wet Sunday evening - a fantastic roast beef with all the trimmings - was very impressed by the food and the service - an i am usually a pretty tough judge!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussietripper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Dark and dingy and expensive”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Not much to recommend this pub for really. The lighting was too low to be able to see anything, the food range was limited, and it was very expensive even by London standards. Much better pubs and eating places nearby to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1LondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Crown Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Old Crown Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing