We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant Royale - Docklands - CLOSED

Elephant Royale - Docklands
Price range: US$38 - US$51
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I've visited this place 3 times in the last 9 months, all awful for different reasons

1) Booked a table for 2, walked in the river entrance and sat at the bar with my partner. Watched a barman make drinks and waitresses walk around for 15 mins, they all ignored us so we left

2) Walked in ad hoc and was given a seat, Ordered some beef dish with a pad thai and my partner ordered something else. The beef was tough as boot leather so I called the waitress over and asked her to take it back and give me the same dish but with chicken, a menu option. I also asked her to replace the pad thai as it would be cold when the new dish arrived. She agreed to replace the beef dish with a chicken variant but refused to replace the pad thai as I had eaten a mouthful of it. I told her to take it all away and I would only pay for the wine. The manageress arrived shortly after and replaced both the dish and the pad thai, but no discount was given when the bill was presented.

3) At #2 decided never to eat there again but a nice place to have a drink by the Thames anyway. No one in the restaurant but a few people enjoying drinks. Ordered a couple of cocktails and after 15 mins and several chases simply left and went somewhere else.

I will never go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    54
    33
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfectly pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely lunch at the Elephant Royale.
I have been several times and should go more often , this time I went for lunch and sat outside on the terrace in the sun.
Had a very reasonable lunch , 3 courses £12.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK Quality, but a bit over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A Beautiful place to sit, especially when weather is nice and you can sit just by the river. However quality of the Food is a bit too far from Thai standards and as result of that a little bit over-priced. I was expecting something better from that place, but it turned out that you're paying for being in nice scenery not fro great food.

My advice, if you want to sit down by the river for a cocktail, great place, as all the cocktails are made from fresh fruits etc.

Not the best place for proper Thai cuisine, and over priced

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was nearly put off this restaurant by some of the bad reviews here but I am glad I took them with a pinch of salt. It's not the most amazing place, but the staff were friendly, the cocktails were good and the food was fine. It's worth going for the setting alone though with lovely views out over the river.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank katelilybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One I won't return to”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Following my recent stay in London whilst exhibiting at Grand Designs live we had the pleasure of experiencing a selection of restaurants in the area for our evening meals the elephant royale looked like a professional restaurant up on first inspection and you would expect things to be good with the kitchen being visible through a large clear window.
The seating was uncomfortable to start with. The staff were friendly but the food was awful and the price extortionate for the low quality of food served !
Having visited thailand on 2 holidays don't let this restaurant put you off Thai food ! There were 4 of us eating at the restaurant and it was our worst experience during our stay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leetelford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Royale - Docklands also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing