We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, cocktails, service and food all good”
Review of Elephant Royale - Docklands - CLOSED

Elephant Royale - Docklands
Price range: US$39 - US$51
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food, cocktails, service and food all good”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Nice view of the river, great cocktails, food very tasty and cooked to perfection. Service was spot on. The live music wasn't to our taste but other than that no complaints.

Helpful?
Thank Sunnyside666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    54
    33
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great food and my family always ask to eat here when they visit on a Sunday due to the Sunday buffets they put on. Takeaways aren't cheap but worth it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Thai food ”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with a few friends and quite enjoyed ourselves. The curries are excellent, the serving sizes are good and the location is really nice. The Phad Thai, however, was a little disappointing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shantanu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I wish I could say more positive, but I can't. Interior is interesting, purple themed traditional Thai style. However, everything is a bit old and dirty. Sat us right by a window, which in theory opens up to beautiful views on the Thames, except the window was so dirty I could barely see out of it. But I digress. The service was ok, let's say adequate. The food, however, was average at best. Meat and chicken were overlooked and chewy, curries were not particularly impressive, lacking fragrance. Dare I say, similar to canned sauces (though not saying it was canned). Too salty as well. Drinks were ok - they did have a large selection of Thai cocktails. 50 pounds for two. Not coming back, sorry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High Quality Thai Cuisine”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been visiting this restaurant for several years and the quality of the food is always very high. In addition to the expected menu, they also offer an extensive vegetarian menu that is equally delicious. Service is always prompt and polite and prices are reasonable with the 3-course lunch menu being particularly good value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianStevenson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Royale - Docklands also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing